We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never had a bad experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Bowl

Green Bowl
131 W Beaver Ave, State College, PA 16801-4816
814-238-0600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 213 Restaurants in State College
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: Mongolian
Dining options: Buffet
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet
Sunbury, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“never had a bad experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

we go to the green bowl when the students are on break. no crowd and quicker service. you have a variety of vegetables to choose from (more than at least 20) a variety of non-meat proteins, a ton of sauces that you can mix and match and your choice of one meat of three, or shrimp, and then they stir fry what you choose. you can make as many trips as you want. you can pile your bowl as high as you want, but to me that is a mistake. I usually make 3 or four trips with a protein with each trip and maybe 2 or 3 veggies that compliment each other, not a 4 foot high bowl of everything! why fill up in one trip? love the place

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    23
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winburne,pa
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Yummmmy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

My friend and I stopped for lunch because someone had recommended it to her. Our server was very helpful explaining what to do, patient and friendly. I loved the vegetables and noodles that you pick out yourself. They are so fresh and then they cook them right there. There is many different sauce options. I had a peanut sauce then a Thai sauce. My friend had a ginger plum sauce. They were all delicious. You can go back up as much as you like and there is meat options as well. I will return, it was great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good but overpriced, lousy atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Just okay. Different in that it is an all you can eat, made to order hibachi dinner but is over priced. Dinner cost me $15 and it was not a nice atmosphere at all (similar to a fast food atmosphere). Unless you are a big eater, not really worth the cost. Food was decent however.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pleasent People - Tastey Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I went in for lunch on 01/25/214. Betsy was my server. She was very attentive and pleasant . All the selections looked fresh and what I had was good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great spot for veggies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

A good choice if you need your veggie fix. You fill your bowl with the veggies you want-lots to choose from-and then pick from among about a dozen sauces. Then you indicate if you want chicken, beef or shrimp in it. They stir fry it up and...you can go back again and again. It was good food and tasty sauces. I liked the thai sauce myself.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Bowl also viewed

 

Been to Green Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Bowl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.