We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Hollow B&B

Big Hollow B&B
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Big Hollow B&B to your Saves list
Big Hollow B&B
288 Big Hollow Road, State College, PA 16801   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

After reading previous reviews, my husband and I decided to spend a get-a-way night at this lovely B&B. It is just a few miles outside of State College and hidden away in a very private setting. The owners are delightful and the rooms and common areas are clean, comfortable and beautiful. We especially liked the big patio and fireplace where we visited with the other guests and even enjoyed complimentary wine. We will definitely return! Oops- don't want to forget to mention the delicious breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

My husband and I are moving to State College and had never been to the area before. Staying at the Big Hollow B&B was the perfect choice. It was an easy drive from the airport which was helpful after coming in on a late night flight. The owners are incredible and made us feel welcomed immediately. They were extremely helpful in suggesting sites to see, restaurants to eat at, and areas of town to visit once we move. The Honeysuckle Suite is a beautiful, clean, and private room and bath that has all of the accommodations anyone would need. The whole house was full of modern charm.

I have a gluten-allergy and Bob and Marge went above and beyond in accommodating my food requirements. Breakfast was always delicious and beautifully presented. One morning we even ate outside on the back patio in the gorgeous garden they maintain.

We would highly recommend this beautiful B&B to anyone looking for a quiet getaway but still within a short distance from campus.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Big Hollow B&B over Memorial Day and it is very nice. We stayed in the Lavender room. Overall the entire B&B was very clean, the breakfast was very good, the proprieters are wonderful, and the grounds are beautiful. This is a 3 room inn shared with the owners, but there is plenty of room for privacy.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester County, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

We had the privilege of staying at the Big Hollow B&B in early November for a Penn State football weekend. Other family members had stayed here previously with rave reviews so our expectations were already at a high-level. Those expectations were surpassed. The accomodations were superb. The home was beautiful and our room had everything we needed for a comfortable weekend. The owners truly made us feel at home and they both enhanced the experience. We look forward to our return next football and hope to make it up for a weekend in early 2011.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

What a wonderful stay! The owners are at once kind and neighborly, and absolutely professional. My wife and I really enjoyed this place - great attention to detail applied to an excellent design and execution. Examples include heated towel bars, petit fours on the pillows, and very well appointed rooms (we had the Hydrangea Suite), sitting room, study (with complimentary wine), and grounds. We look forward to returning, as on this trip friends and the football game kept us almost too busy to appreciate it all.

Compared to a 4-star hotel: half the price, twice the space, and 10x the charm.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

Even if you have no interest in college football and are not at Penn State for a game - try this wonderful B&B. The owners, Bob and Marge have built a beautiful home in the country - you feel you are deep in the woods but you are 10 minutes from Penn State campus.

Their bedrooms are beautiful, in fact the whole house is just lovely. We were welcomed to use their cozy library where we sipped some great wine ( provided by the hosts), relaxed and forgot about how busy the world can be.

The grounds of this place are beautiful - the thickest green grass I have ever stepped on and flower beds galore. We had breakfast out on their huge back patio - and it was peaceful and pretty. The patio has a built-in fire pit, a fountain and lots of comfy seating. Food was delicious and portions were generous. They have a great coffee maker where you can choose gourmet coffees by the cup.

We were the only guests there - aside from a family member who had brought along the sweetest, quietest, little brown poodle I have ever met. If I had a recommendation for the owners, I would say make sure the dog visits often as he was such a wonderful addition.

We are Canadians and not likely to be in town for a football game ( we were visiting an international student/friend of ours) - but believe me you need no excuse at all to visit this wonderful B&B.

  • Liked — everything was great
  • Disliked — nothing to say here
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Hollow B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Hollow B&B

Address: 288 Big Hollow Road, State College, PA 16801
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Big Hollow B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Hollow B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.