We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price, value, service and cleanliness all made it an excellent choice. Location just was an added plus.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites State College

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites State College to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites State College
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2215 North Atherton Street, State College, PA 16803   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Clifton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Price, value, service and cleanliness all made it an excellent choice. Location just was an added plus.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Can't say enough about this motel. It is the only place I stay in State College. Free breakfast on site is always a plus. Service by the staff is always excellent and you can't beat the price. Always neat and clean rooms

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam J, Assistant General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites State College, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you Mr. Joe A for the great 5 star review, I am glad to hear that we have again been able to offer you a very enjoyable stay here at our property. We do our best to offer 5 star service to every guest and look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    76
    23
    7
    3
See reviews for
75
36
15
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamstown, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here the weekend of December 7-9, 2013 for my daughter's swim meet.
The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The indoor pool and hot tub were great for the kids. We had a large group as we were traveling with my daughter's swim team. When a parent informed the staff that the pool area was out of towels the staff replaced the towels quickly. The staff was very patient as the kids ran around the hotel. The maids were helpful if the kids had a question and I observed the staff cleaning the hotel constantly. There is a wonderful restaurant adjacent to the hotel that we were able to visit. My only complaint was the breakfast. They definitely need two waffle makers. The staff was very good about filling up the breakfast items as needed.

Room Tip: There are three floors. Pool/exercise room is on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielleDaSilva, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites State College, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Hi Kimi1019,

Thank you for the great review. We are glad to hear that our staff was able to provide you and your daughter's swim team with fantastic service. I'll be sure to pass along your compliments. We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to State College!

Thanks again for taking the time to review our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

OK, so we've stayed here before and had a good experience. This time around, it didn't quite start out that way. We arrived later in the evening around 10:00pm. I presented my Gold Rewards card and there were no problems locating our reservation. I inquired about availability of a complementary upgrade (a perk for Gold Rewards Marriott members when available) and was immediately informed by the front desk clerk that none were available (without checking the computer or anything). We had a single king-size room and were given an accessible room on the first floor (although we didn't request or need one). The room itself was nice, but the bathroom while it appeared clean had a very strong mildew smell. My wife was willing to let it pass given we were only staying for one night, but it kind of irked me given I've come to expect a certain level of quality when it comes to Marriott properties.

We went out for a late night bite at a local sports bar and returned later in the evening. There was a new person on the desk, so I sent my wife to the room while I engaged the new front desk person in conversation. I explained to her that I was not happy with our room and noted the mildew smell. She offered to immediately move us and I again presently my rewards card. Upon seeing it's gold status she says "well, not only can I move you, but I should be able to upgrade you". This time she checked the computer -- and what do you know -- there''s a single king suite available -- a larger room with a sitting area. Took her a bit to get things switched around, but her effort was very much appreciated and very in line with my expectations for how Marriott treats it's regular customers. She even took time to explain all the hotel features and breakfast times and locations, etc. to insure nothing was missed the first time around.

The new room was clean (although we noted one or two housekeeping items such as a plastic fork left laying in the corner near the TV that would seem to indicate that housekeeping isn't regularly moving the "movable" items in the room to clean vacuum along the wall, etc.), the bathroom was clean with no signs of mildew or mold, and the bed comfortable.

I have several reservations here over the next few months as I'm in the area regularly, and I'll keep them all here for now since the price is right and the location convenient -- in large part due to the excellent service I received from the second desk clerk. But, the property manager should take note of some festering service and cleanliness issues and address them before they become a larger problem -- and motivate people to pick from the ample other locations in the area which have plenty of availability during non-event weekends. If the property manager would like details on the rooms and dates of stay so they can address the specific problem areas, I'll be glad to send them privately.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielleDaSilva, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites State College, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hello Lasagna329,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this highly valued feedback. I am disappointing to hear that your recent stay was not up to par. We strive to provide service of the highest standard, and would like to apologize for falling short of your expectations.
I have posted your review so that all departments may address the issues that you experienced during your stay. We would be happy to further investigate these problems, so any additional comments may be sent to me, Danielle DaSilva, at ddasilva@shanercorp.com or our General Manager, Jeff Pugh at jpugh@shanercorp.com.

You can be assured that we will rectify your addressed issues by the time of your future stays.
Thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is an older Fairfield Inn that has not been renovated. It is starting to show its age. Our room has mold in the shower and the wall paper was starting to peel. We stayed two nights and on the second day (after first night) we did not get maid service. We thought about staying another night but after talking to the desk clerk it seemed to be a big problem and we needed to talk to the manager the next day. It was not worth the hassle so we checked out as planned. The breakfast is OK as with all Fairfield Inns. The pork sausage is like some kind of cooked cardboard and the eggs are some type of instant with no flavor at all. There are other choices like fresh fruit, waffles and yogurt, I stay here because it is convenient for visiting family. Next door is a great brew pub with great food and several local brewed beers.

Room Tip: visit Otto's next door for good beer and food
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielleDaSilva, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites State College, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hello Jaxx K!

Thank you for taking the time to provide this valued feed back. I would first like to apologize for any problems you had during your recent stay. I have passed your review along to our housekeeping staff in order to insure that the issues you experienced will not happen again. Our breakfast is a standard Fairfield Inn & Suites breakfast, and the eggs we serve are in fact real eggs. We are glad that some of our other selections were to your liking.

Thank you again for your review! If there is anything we can do to make your future visits extra special please do not hesitate to let us know.
We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I was in the area for business, and was impressed with this little hotel. Everything was clean and in good condition, including the gym and the lobby lounge. The fireplace was roaring on a cold evening, which was very welcome after a long trip. The rooms are neat and clean, and everything was in good shape. It's a nice place to stay when you're in the area.

Room Tip: A higher floor will reduce any noise from the parking lot or lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielleDaSilva, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites State College, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Hello CaptainSteveG,

Thank you for this great review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our fireplace is a great feature in our lobby, especially at this time of year! We hope to have you back soon.

Thank you again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

It is a typical no-frills Fairfield by Marriott property that fortunately sits right next to the best attraction in State College. Very convenient if you're planning a night out for dinner and drinks at the Brewery and want to walk back.

The rest of the hotel is very typical of a Marriott budget hotel with nothing that really stands out. We got a great deal bidding for this on Priceline and thought it well worth the price. Would have given it half this rating if I was paying the rack rate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielleDaSilva, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites State College, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hello the_0ne!

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of our close proximity to Otto's!

If there is anything that we can do to make your future visits extra special please do not hesitate to ask.

We hope to have you stay with us during your next visit to State College!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Nice clean property with very friendly staff. Full breakfast was included. Very nice large room and comfortable bed.

Many restaurants within walking distance with 1 steakhouse right next to the hotel. There are also many shopping places right across the road.

Will stay here again on my next business trip to Penn State.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielleDaSilva, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites State College, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Hello EnriqueC92114!

Thank you for taking the time to write this fantastic review. We are extremely glad to hear that you found our hotel clean, and our staff friendly. Otto's next door is a great local restaurant; it comes highly recommended by both staff and other guests.

We look forward to having you stay with us during your next visit to State College!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites State College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites State College

Address: 2215 North Atherton Street, State College, PA 16803
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in State College
#11 Family Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites State College 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting State College, choosing the Fairfield Inn & Suites State College for your business or leisure travel is a great choice. Our hotel is just minutes from all the attractions State College has to offer including the Pennsylvania State University campus, Bryce Jordan Center, Beaver Stadium and Medlar Field at Lubrano Park. All the wonderful shopping and dining options the area has to offer are minutes away from the State College Fairfield Inn & Suites. Our refreshing guest rooms feature luxury bedding, coffeemakers and high-speed Internet access so your stay will be comfortable and relaxing. Our hotel also offers a delicious complimentary breakfast each morning ensuring that you will start the day off right. Other features include our fitness center, indoor pool, and full service business center. Our Fairfield Inn & Suites offers all the quality services and amenities you have come to know from the name Marriott, so start planning your trip to State College today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites State College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites State College Hotel State College
Fairfield Inn And Suites State College
Fairfield Inn State College
Fairfield State College
State College Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites State College, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.