We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexican” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mad Mex

Mad Mex
240 S Pugh St, State College, PA 16801-4935
814-272-5656
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 202 Restaurants in State College
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
west yorkshire
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

There was a wide choice on the menu and we were pleased with our Burrito. The patio had a nice ambience in the evening and people of all ages were eating/drinking.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    34
    20
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“M is for Mediocre”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I was really looking forward to Mad Mex, we had asked around for a good place for lunch with outside seating. We stood around for a good while waiting to be seated, the bartender ended up seating us and taking our order. He didn't even seem to keen on the appetizers when we asked bout one to get cause we where super hungry. I ordered the fish tacos, they where ok but the rice/ beans where super dry and boring no flavor. There was no salt or pepper on the table or napkins.
As soon as we left we all got sick :(
I sure wont be going back, which is sad cause it looked nice and coulda been.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Matilda, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Favorite outdoor spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I'm a central PA native. This is my wife and mine's favorite outdoor spot locally, with caveats. I've never found the help to be anything but pleasant. If you're in State College and don't understand the pressure on local bars to control underage drinking, you're going to be offended. The folks at the side door to the deck are there to screen, period.

I've eaten inside once and find it unpleasant. Too dark, often cold. Also, we won't come after about 7pm. Fact is the students come to the place to party and aren't old enough to curb their behavior in front of my young children. Annoying, but it is what it is.

So my rating is based on many times eating outside on a nice day. We come late afternoon. As with most local establishments, the table is only as good as the assigned wait staff. When they've been sub par, I head to the bar. Once is usually enough.

I find the food first rate. I agree with reviews on the Monday burrito special being mostly rice, but it's not fine dining, it's an unlimited special for cash-strapped students. Off the regular menu, my wife an I have sampled most everything. In a previous vist, I found the mahi fajita kicks. However, many other more high end proteins have been over priced or skimpy on he meat, so we stick with chicken oe veggie. Particularly fond of the spicy mad mex burrito and the homemade chips and salsa. The veggie enchilada is a good vegan choice. This last trip I had the dance marathon enchilada. Not bad but prefer the former.

Can't speak on the margs. My wife likes them, but isn't looking to get loaded. Beer selection is good with prices on par locally.

Again, my main argument with other reviews is the service. Sounds like folks not used to college towns. I always find them pleasant and helpful. But I wouldn't come here later in the evening when it's more bar than restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Enjoyed dinner at Mad Mex on a Friday evening. They have a large, very nice outdoor dining patio, but we opted to eat indoors as it can sometimes get noisy on the patio. We had a carafe of sangria. Very large menu with detailed descriptions. My partner had a chicken mole burrito which was very good. I had vegetarian quesadillas that were delicious. Unlike the usual quesadilla they had a substantial filling of mushrooms and other veggies. Service was good and prompt.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Service is a joke”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Maybe you have to be a certain age to be acclimated to a walk-in like you receive here. Looks like they took tips from the TSA. We were at no time properly greeted, but we were carded (a couple in their 40's and a thirteen-year-old), photographed, questioned about the parentage of my daughter and shunted off to a dining room attendant. Said attendant was told by the guard that "This one's not 21". I told my family not to order anything until we got some answers on what the deal was with the treatment. After a couple minutes without a waiter or waitress coming to take are order we took the hint and split. Hopefully you'll read this and save your time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mad Mex also viewed

 

Been to Mad Mex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mad Mex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.