We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gypped” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ni Hao

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ni Hao
289 Northland Center, State College, PA
(814) 238-8838
Improve this listing
Ranked #133 of 213 Restaurants in State College
Restaurant details
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Gypped”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

On a recent trip to the area, we decided to try this Asian Fusion buffet. Being the day after a long weekend, the place was not busy at all. The sushi was freshly made for the dinner hour. I was looking forward to the rest of the buffet and was grossly disappointed. There were fried calamari, shrimp and crab Rangoon. All were obviously prepackaged. My friend decided to go hibachi, making a selection from the fresh veggies and meats on the bar. Sharing a bit of the beef (NY strip) proved to be so tough, I couldn't chew it. The lack of selection, the obviously prepackaged and inedible foods, did not justify the price. I feel as if I was gypped by not visiting on the weekend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    7
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a joy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This spacious, relatively new restaurant is very clean and serves a wide variety of fresh, tasty food. You can choose between finished dishes and assemble-your-own using raw veggies and/or meats/fish. We have dined there several times in the last month and have been happy each time.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Asian buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

All of the ingredients were very fresh, the sushi was good as was the dim sum. I had meat and fish grilled on the hibachi with a good marinade. Everything was very clean and the food handling practices appeared to be excellent. There were so many choices that we did not have an opportunity to try everything.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“My Favorite Asian Restaurant in State College”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Ni Hao is relatively new to State College. The food at this buffet is delicious and varied. There are Japanese, Chinese, Korean, and Viet Namese options. You are able to pick out fresh food from the buffet and have it cooked on the grill as you watch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osceola Mills, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

I loved this Asian buffet! First of all, it was clean and the decor made the atmosphere exceptional. The choices there were wonderful--including a variety of freshly steamed dim sum. I enjoyed trying some of the varieties I had never seen before. I liked how the soups were prepared fresh to order with your choice of noodle/dumpling, type of broth, and other toppings. Their walnut chicken was SO good. My husband tried the hibachi and felt it wasn't as good as a regular hibachi place, but was OK. The lack of standard hibachi dipping sauces is definitely a problem that should be remedied to make it better. The sushi and sashimi were fresh and the sashimi I had were delicious! Overall a great experience! Can't wait to go back and try more from their awesome variety!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ni Hao also viewed

 

Been to Ni Hao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ni Hao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.