We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Totz” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Callao Cafe and Market

Callao Cafe and Market
434 West Aaron Drive, Suite 201, State College, PA 16803
+1 814-237-2494
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 217 Restaurants in State College
Price range: $7 - $11
Cuisines: Creperie, Coffee Shop, Coffee Shop, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Street Food, Takeout
Description: The Place for Crepes...And the world's finest gourmet coffees
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Super Totz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Crepes were excellent. I had both the Muffoletto and the Bananas and Nutella. Mocha was very good, better than Starbucks. Seating is spare but cozy. There are only two crepe pans, and everything is made from scratch, so be prepared to wait, especially if there is a crowd.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    9
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Delicious Crepes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

Went there for lunch as I heard they have great crepes and I am crepe person. Loved the crepe I had. Nutella with some strawberries and bananas, was yummy. Was a little rich after a while but other options to go with it. Will be back.

Only downside is a little small and seating can be trick.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious latte!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

I prefer Callao lattes to Starbucks. I have not tried their crepes but friends say they are very good! It's not a spot I go for a meal -- seating is very limited and decor/layout not suited to eating or for longer visits.

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mostly awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Breakfast for 2 is a little on the high end ($20+). Totally worth it. The crepes are always yummy. Try the strawberry Nutella! Sometimes the coffee can be hit or miss depending on who makes it. Mochas shouldn't taste like chocolate milk...very little seating. Everyone who works there is super friendly! We usually stop in 1 or 2 time a month.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Why this might be my favorite spot in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Because I don't have to take my kids all the way to Quebec for Nutella and fruit crepes. Because they tell you when the Flour Box Bakery cookies are in. Because they have delicious fair trade coffee. But mostly, because they have the best weather forecast in town and report school closings before the 5:15 phone call from the district

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Callao Cafe and Market also viewed

 

Been to Callao Cafe and Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Callao Cafe and Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.