We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Easter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn State College

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn State College to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn State College
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1221 E College Ave, State College, PA 16801   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now & Save upto 25%
Ranked #11 of 26 hotels in State College
United States
1 review
“Happy Easter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed for a second time at this property. Close to Family we visited. Nice Restaurant/Bar staff. Made recommendation on wine. will go back again. GREAT beds very comfy. Like the fitness center, need to add free weights not just the machine.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
growell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn State College, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for being a loyal customer and your feedback regarding your most recent stay. I will also share your nice comments to our restaurant staff and will look forward to welcoming you back to State College.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    62
    19
    7
    1
See reviews for
56
23
11
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Very clean, nice room, good staff - close to College. Staff was friendly and welcoming. Good location for Penn State events. Room was large - large enough for 3 adults and it was nice that it had a microwave and fridge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
growell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn State College, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
I was pleased to hear you had a good experience at our hotel. A clean room, freindly staff and accomodations that meet your needs is the goal of all our staff. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullman, Alabama, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Great Beds, Clean Rooms, Food, Business Center, Fitness Center, and an EXTREMELY helpful staff . . . what more could you ask for???
I met my son in State College for a weekend (business and pleasure); he flew in on a red-eye, so arrived WAAAAY earlier than I did. The hotel staff went out of their way to get a room ready for him much earlier than check-in time, allowing him to catch some much-needed sleep before my arrival much later that evening. I will MOST definitely stay here again when I return to State College.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
growell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn State College, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Happy to hear you felt our staff went out of their way and you enjoyed your stay with us.The greatest compliment is that you will stay with us again! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This hotel is located within 1.24 miles of the Bryce Jordan Center and the football stadium... Easy access to 'downtown', lots of area restaurants. Room was clean and a nice size. Good size parking lot and lit well. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
growell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn State College, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We have received many positive comments on our location and sevices and appreciate you staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flourtown, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were up for Thon and ended up unable to get into the BJC ! The manager allowed us to extend our checkout time and I was able to thaw out in the hot tub after standing in 13 degree temperatures trying to get into THON. The staff couldn't have been nicer. The restaurant was good , the room was clean and comfortable and the pool was an added bonus.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
growell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn State College, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
I was pleased to hear that our staff went the extra mile to make your stay exceed your expections. Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you at the THON events next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on Feb 10th, 2013. I found the staff to be friendly, and the room clean, comfortable and spacious. My room had a fridge, microwave and coffemaker, I only took advantage of the fridge but it was nice to know the other options were there as well.There is a restaurant/bar on the premises and the service was excellent but I found the food options to be minimal, and expensive. It's location was perfect, close to many different types of restaurants and stores. If I'm ever in the area again I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
growell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn State College, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Happy to hear you enjoyed your recent visit at our hotel. Thanks for taking the time to let us know you appreciated a clean and comfortable stay! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was a fantastic hotel! So clean and staff very nice. It also had many little touches the hotels in similar price bracket did not have. For example, every room has coffee maker, fridge and microwave. The shower curtain is the rounded curtain that gives extra space. The mattresses are the special 'garden sleep' beds, so that you can choose your preference of pressure (I personally chose the soft setting and loved it! My sister chose the firm setting on her bed and had similar satisfaction). The soap and shampoo are bath and body works brand, definitely didn't dry my skin like most cheap hotel room products and smelled amazing! The hotel staff tells you upfront that the clean the bedspreads between every guest, huge plus! Didn't have to worry about my inner germaphobe coming out when I sat down on the bed. The tv is a flat screen hd, with complimentary hbo!! All hotel guests get free wifi! As if all that isn't enough, on to the rest of the hotel........
Free 24 hour coffee in the lobby if you don't feel like brewing your own, and it is delicious! 24 hour pantry with snacks and toiletries. Awesome gym on first floor. Pool and hot tub on first floor I didn't use but looked great. Also, restaurant and room service also available although I did not use these either.
From now on, I will always stay at Hilton garden inns. I was previously a Hampton inn loyalist, but this hotel has five me many reasons to change my loyalties. Thanks Hilton!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
growell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn State College, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments on our hotel services and facilities. We appreciate your business and will look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn State College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn State College

Address: 1221 E College Ave, State College, PA 16801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in State College
#8 Romantic Hotel in State College
#10 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn State College 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn State College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn State College Hotel State College
Hilton State College

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn State College, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.