We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in Happy Valley” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Penn Stater Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Penn Stater Conference Center to your Saves list
Penn Stater Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   215 Innovation Blvd, State College, PA 16803   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice stay in Happy Valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Stayed two nights for a conference. Room is OK, but nothing special, although I did like the mini-fridge. The heating unit and fridge were quite noisy, however. The beds are memory foam; I'm glad I was able to "test drive" one, as my husband and I are considering purchasing one. They are quite comfortable, but do reflect quite a bit of body heat. On my first night, I searched the vending areas on 3 floors for a bottle of water, to no avail. On the second night, I had the foresight to purchase one from the hotel restaurant/bar before retiring. By the way, the roasted corn crabcake appetizer in the restaurant was fabulous, and gluten-free! Staff were friendly, and mostly efficient. We encountered several trainees, including one at check-in. She wasn't able to provide directions to the conference center, but another staff jumped in to assist.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Penn Stater Conference Center, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback about your stay. We always appreciate every opportunity to get better at what we do! Please know that our team is always happy to help you locate anything that you may need during your stay. We hope to have an opportunity to see you at another time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    81
    23
    4
    4
See reviews for
56
26
9
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This was our 2nd stay at the Penn Stater Conference Center. My husband and I stayed in a double room and brought our 3 & 5 year old children. The rooms are spacious and clean but getting worn and could use a refurbishing soon. The hotel restaurants are great but crowded on football weekends which slows down service. Check out the Sunday buffet, we love it!

My favorite feature of this hotel is the convenient shuttle service. The shuttle drops you off and picks up during the football games which is great when if have small children that do not last the entire game. The shuttle also takes you downtown, a bonus during busy weekends when it's impossible to find parking or get a cab.

The level of service is fantastic, the hotel is fully staffed and it is very easy to get an answer or assistance in a timely manner. This is true even when the hotel is sold out! We love the staff at the Penn Stater!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I've stayed here several times and it is about as good as it gets in State College. The rooms have a bit of a dorm-like feeling (I imagine purposefully). A bit utilitarian but clean and comfortable. Nice lobby and dining room. Nice bar. Average hotel gym with a small pool. Pleasant views of Mt. Nittany if you are on the right side of the building. As noted however, the pillows were some of the worst hotel pillows ever. I asked for some replacements and those weren't much better. Bring your own pillow!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Penn Stater Conference Center, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. While I am certainly disheartened to know that you may not have been as comfortable as you had expected, I hope that we will have the continued opportunity to improve your experience during future stays. Please let us know if you have a preference for down or foam pillows in your pre-arrival welcome letter, which allows you to select a variety of preferences for your stay through a link sent to your email. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnsboro, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

This was our first trip to the Penn Stater Hotel and Conference center and I would heartily recommend it to anyone whether for business or pleasure.

We found the staff to be very friendly, eager to please, bright and helpful. Check in and out were quick and efficient, shuttle drivers were friendly and informative, and convention staff was well-trained and ready to take care of business.

The rooms were very neat and modern with nice amenities, comfortable beds, free WiFi and mini-fridge in the room. The heat took a long time to change temperatures - but with it being as cold as it was."inertia" is sometimes a factor.

It's too bad that the local airport doesn't have more flights, as we were delayed getting out of State College, but this is hardly the fault of the hotel and not even a factor if you are driving.

There is also a well-equipped health club for the folks who NEED to run a few miles or work out. We didn't use the pool, but it certainly looked inviting.

Nice Pub and restaurant here as well. Local beers, appetizers, finger food, burgers, etc. Something for everybody.

Room Tip: If views are important to you, be sure to ask the desk. We overlooked a roof and HVAC equipment - bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Penn Stater Conference Center, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
We always appreciate when our guests take the time to share their experiences with others. Thank you for giving a glimpse into what it is like to be our guest! I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay...we hope to have more opportunities to develop our relationship with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Our dream was to stay at the historic Nittany Lion Inn for our event weekend but it was booked. Both the Nittany and The Penn Stater Conference Center are handled through the same reservations service, so we got a room at the Penn Stater. The Penn Stater is fresh and new, staffed by happy folks and very many students, some of whom are just learning the ropes. There was free coffee in the lobby in the morning, which was much appreciated. The facility obviously was designed to have a convenient main front entrance, with a circular drive but strangely, it's blocked off. Guests have to drive around to an inconvenient back entrance. It's a long walk to the front...was an even longer walk to our room (at what seemed the farthest room in the place) and to the restaurant and pub. It's also a long haul to campus. Shuttles were available our weekend but we chose to drive in, with no problem parking. So, positives: clean, new, with lots of space. Cons: a huge distance to campus, so large that it's impersonal and you'll likely face a long stroll to and from your room unless you request otherwise.

Room Tip: Ask for one close to elevators, restaurant, pub or parking lot.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Penn Stater Conference Center, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
I apologize for what sounds like a bit more walking than you anticipated during your stay! Certainly know that you are welcome at any time to take advantage of our complimentary valet parking service at our main hotel lobby entrance to minimize any inconvenience during your arrival and departure. We truly value your feedback and hope that we see you again, at either (or both!) of our properties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Every year, I attend a conference that is held at the Penn Stater. I do not mind going back each year because they always do a fantastic job. Whether you are looking for just a place to stay while visiting the college or whether you are actually looking for a place to hold an event, the Penn Stater Conference Center is a great place for both! The rooms are always clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful! They also serve delicious food!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This was our second stay at the Penn Stater. Friendly staff, immaculate room, especially loved the sunday afternoon brunch! After a long day of events, we were too tired to go out so we tried Legends Pub. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of selections on the menu, not just your typical hamburger and fries and the food was beautifully presented and delicious! Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Penn Stater Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penn Stater Conference Center

Address: 215 Innovation Blvd, State College, PA 16803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in State College
#7 Family Hotel in State College
#11 Romantic Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Penn Stater Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Penn Stater Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penn State Hotel State College
Penn State College

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penn Stater Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.