We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1357 East College Avenue, State College, PA 16801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in State College
Tyrone
1 review
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I just stayed at this hotel and was really comfortable. The hotel is extremely clean and up-to-date. The staff was helpful and friendly, couldn't ask for a better hotel in State College. Will be coming back! Thanks for the great service!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    72
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
120
43
9
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were mostly satisfied with our stay at the Country Inn and Suites in State College Pennsylvania. When we returned to our room after spending the entire day at PSU, we were surprised to find that our room had not yet been cleaned by5:00 PM. When I inquired with the cleaning staff who were still on our floor, they indicated that our room would be next. So we left for dinner at Damon's just down the street. Upon our return 2 hours later, we were shocked to discover that the staff still had not touched our rooms. I immediately went down to the front desk and they were receptive to my complaints but were not anxious to correct the matter. I instructed them to have someone take care of the situation as soon as possible while I went to the pool to de-stress.......

The room was cleaned by 8:30 PM. Things should not have gone this far.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are constantly trying to improve our guest experience. We apologize if you didn't enjoy an excellent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Township, Michigan
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

A nice Country Suites Hotel. This chain generally has nice properties; most are very similar. This one is above average in terms of friendly, helpful service and condition. It is located on the main street of State College about a mile from downtown and quite near the athletic facilities - football and baseball stadiums, etc. There are many places to eat nearby and it is just off the major highway. The rates are a bit high for this chain, but most of the others in town also are a bit high. I'd certainly recommend this as a good place to stay in State College and would stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a King Suite, which consisted of a separate bedroom and a living area with sofa bed. There w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We appreciate your kind words. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My brother and I shared a room on a genealogy trip to State College. It was the cleanest hotel I've stayed at in quite a while. Plenty of parking, nice rooms, although a little on the small side. Breakfast area was large and kept constantly clean and stocked by the staff. Reasonably priced. Overall an excellent stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I hope you will come stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Just stayed at the Country Inn in State College, PA for the annual arts fest. What a wonderful experience. The hotel was priced right, the rooms big and VERY clean and the people working the front desk were wonderful. The offer a free breakfast and wifi. I am already seeking dates for nest years trip and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else. Have stayed at most of the hotels in State College, this is far and away the best experience we ever had.

Room Tip: Every room is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are thrilled to see you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again next year for The Arts Festival, Maybe before!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed here with our kids for a couple nights and found the positive reviews to be accurate. From the moment of check-in it was clear the staff is trained to be friendly and welcoming! The girl at check-in was also upfront about the fact that they had several youth teams staying at the hotel during our visit and that staff patrols the hall every 15 minutes but we should also not hesitate to let them know should there be a concern about noise. We did not have any problems. All the staff we encountered from cleaning staff, kitchen staff, to the desk staff was always very courteous and friendly. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast is what you would expect from any hotel of this caliber and staff was always on stand-by.

My only complaints during our visit is that the pool was a bit small. We have a family of five and felt we were crowding the other two who were at the pool at the time. Water was chilly too. Also the TV did not work well. It was very slow to respond to the remote, and the interactive channel guide was not properly set up making it impossible find specific channels and difficult even to just channel surf.

Otherwise, we had a very pleasant stay and would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for telling us about the television in your room. I will look into the issue. Hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The hotel itself is very clean as it is new. The breakfast was very good and the staff were very friendly.
The location is not ideal as we had to drive to find a restaurant to eat at. It was a few miles up the road.
Also, I stayed in a suite. though the room was nice the internet would not work in the bedroom. This proved to be quite annoying with my family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I apologize for your problems with the internet. We will look into the problem. When you stay with us again, please ask for a walking map of The Millbrook Marsh Nature Center. It is a great place to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson

Address: 1357 East College Avenue, State College, PA 16801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn and Suites in State College is the area's newest lodging property, that offers 113 clean, comfortable and consistant accommodations with a touch of home! The hotel features a complimentary hot breakfast, indoor pool and spa, fitness room, and meeting room. We're located just minutes from the Penn State Campus, on College Avenue/Route 26 at the US 322 Intersection. Come be our guest at the Country Inn and Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.