We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New, Clean, Decent Location - a good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1357 East College Avenue, State College, PA 16801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence 2014
West Milford, New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“New, Clean, Decent Location - a good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed here with a large family group for two nights. We chose this hotel based on location and that this was a relatively new hotel. And it felt new! Easy access to downtown State College, meaning you're close to dozens of restaurants, some shopping, and the school.

Pros:
- Full breakfast daily. They seem to favor "southern tastes," (e.g., biscuits and gravy, corn-beef hash, etc.) but I will not complain about a free hot breakfast. They had plenty of options.
- Cookies and coffee in the lobby at all times.
- Indoor pool and hot tub that are both open late! Very nice.
- Great beds and pillows.
- Fridge and microwave in each room!

Cons:
- The coffee was very good, but I got a mouthful of grinds at the bottom of every cup.
- Some service was stellar, but a few folks need some practice. One woman at the front desk was extremely helpful, while another guy at the front desk was less than pleasant.

Overall, this was a good, clean option for a great value. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: There is no view to be had and the elevator always comes quickly, so any floor will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thanks for your review of our hotel. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    93
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
163
55
12
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Everything works: breakfast, wireless, bathrooms, friendly and helpful staff. Very good location. Comfortable beds. Direct TV and a lending library. I will choose this place again. In addition, I was here while superstorm Sandy was battering friends and family. I know the front desk had heard many others express concern, but they did not exhibit an attitude of disinterest, no matter how many times they heard it. The management must have GREAT training and respect for customer service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thanks for your review. Glad you could stay with us. Hope you got to enjoy the lending library. Lots of good books there. I hope to see you back again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with another couple for the PSU vs OSU football weekend in a king suite. The hotel is clean, comfortable and has a great continental breakfast. The staff are friendly and helpful and Dan the shuttle driver was great! The hotel is very close to Beaver Stadium and although we took the shuttle up to the game, we walked home to avoid the chaos/traffic. 5 minutes to downtown PSU.

Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to mention us. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Dan is a great asset to our team here at The Country Inn and Suites. Please consider us in your future plans when staying in the State College area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STURTEVANT
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed here for the first time. It was very nice, clean, and with helpful staff. When I arrived, because I am member of their reward program, they gave a little bag with a bottle of water, chips, etc. Nice touch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thanks for writing a review of our hotel. We appreciate your kind comments. Glad to see you are a Club Carlson member. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Huntingdon, PA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

A friend and I had an overnight stay here while attending a concert at the Bryce Jordan Center. The hotel was very easy to find and was a perfect place to stay after a concert. I couldn't believe it only took us ten minutes from the time we walked out of the venue until we were back at the hotel.

The front desk staff was friendly and the hotel was clean. The breakfast buffet area was large unlike what I find in some Hampton Inns. The food was above average for a hotel breakfast buffet. They had fresh berries out and cheese, salsa, toppings, etc. for eggs in addition to lots of other items. I mention these because I rarely see them at hotels. They also have cookies in a jar in the lobby.

The beds and pillows were very comfortable. I got a good night's sleep which is unusual for me while traveling.

I have a son who will be attending the Penn State main campus next year. I can see us definitely visiting this property again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thanks for your review of our hotel. Glad we will be seeing you again in the future. Welcome to The State College Country Inn and Suites Family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Country Inn & Suites in State College. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The room was spotless. This location has a nice sized pool and hot tub. The breakfast was better than some hotel chains I have stayed at and it definitely met my needs. You can't beat the value of this hotel. This is the first time I have stayed with this chain and I will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thanks for writing a review about a hotel. I will share your comments with the entire staff. (the pool and hot tub are my favorite part) Hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Newer hotel with lots of charm. Accommodations were very nice, well decorated (not your usual sterile hotel boredom) and comfortable beds. The shower had great water pressure and the amenities were brand name. But mainly, the staff were wonderful! We even received a phone call to our room about 15 mins after checking in to make sure that everything was satisfactory. Lots of light, free wireless & a nice floor length mirror to get ready. Very easy 5 minute drive into downtown and PSU. I will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your kind words. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson

Address: 1357 East College Avenue, State College, PA 16801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn and Suites in State College is the area's newest lodging property, that offers 113 clean, comfortable and consistant accommodations with a touch of home! The hotel features a complimentary hot breakfast, indoor pool and spa, fitness room, and meeting room. We're located just minutes from the Penn State Campus, on College Avenue/Route 26 at the US 322 Intersection. Come be our guest at the Country Inn and Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Carlson, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.