We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice visit to State College” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1357 East College Avenue, State College, PA 16801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in State College
York, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice visit to State College”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

I recently moved to State College, and stayed at the Country Inn and Suites for a few days until my furniture arrived. Clean, pleasant, and quiet rooms. Great breakfast. Outstanding staff and customer service. Excellent value for the money. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Thank you for your comments! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and the service the staff offered, and hope that you think of us if you have guests visiting you in the future! We'd love to be your extra bedroom for your out of town guests! Once again, thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    72
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
121
43
9
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pompton Plains, New Jersey
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

This is a very nice hotel on East College Avenue. It is a new hotel and I have stayed at other hotels in and around state college. This hotel was a little bit cheaper than other hotels in the area. For the price, I was extremely satisfied. The hotel does not have a lot of dining options within walking distance of the htel but it is a great location for the Bryce Jordan and the football stadium. Downtown State college is just down the road from the hotel so it is not that much of a problem. The staff was great and they let me check out late after Thon weekend and did not charge me, even though it was several hours after check out time. It was truly appreciated. The rooms are a little small. We were in the regular room with 2 queen beds. It is just my husband and I so it was fine, but if you were with a family it may pay to reverse a suite. The shower pressure is not great, but it had a good shower head. The sink is in the bathroom - I personally like when it is outside the shower area. And not other mirror except in the bathroom which is commom problem with hotels. In the room safe which was also a bonus I did not expect! You could here when other rooms were entering or exiting their room but not much other noise. Because we were there for Thon weekend, we did not take advantage of the free breakfast. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klmrace, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We're glad you enjoyed our new hotel, and hopefully in the future we'll find a restaurant for the property in front of our building. I'm sure that will be appreciated by most of our overnight guests! We look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddon Heights, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Attending our first THON weekend as parents of a PSU student, so a nice place and "comfortable" bed after standing each day was the wish. This new facility (new as of Oct. 2011) granted the wish. Quick check in and friendly folks at the front counter. The room itself was very nice. Just a traditional room (2 King beds) Worked well for 4 of us (wife & myself & 2 kids under 14). Microwave in the room and small fridge. Very comfortable beds and clean all around.
We had to run out to get seats at THON (which we couldn't sit in! The irony) so we did not take advantage of the FREE breakfast. It was a hit & run stay but I highly recommend due to it's newness and friendly staff. There are doors on each end you can access with room key which was helpful for a bit less walking with hands full at the end of the evening.
The thermostat was accurate which is not always the case in a hotel.

Room Tip: Honestly, the place is doing so well with keeping up with their newness that all the rooms I'm s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klmrace, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
It's great you were able to enjoy the big weekend in State College and particpate with THON. We're proud of the Students of PSU, and I'm glad you enjoyed the hotel and it was comfortable for you! We hope you come visit us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Hotel is brand new, opening in October 2011. Upon arrival check-in was quick, staff was attentive. Given little gift bag with bottle of water and snack chips. There is always coffee, fruit and cookies in lobby for guests.

Room was very nice. There is a thermostat on the wall so you can actually set the temp. you want and not just have heat or A/C on. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom was nice, with a huge walk-in shower. Flat screen TV and free internet in room as well. After being in our room for a few minutes the front desk called to see if everything was acceptable, which I thought was nice.

They have a nice dining room, which offered free nachos that evening. The breakfast was THE BEST complimentary breakfast I've ever had. There were your standard muffins, cereal, waffle maker but there were also eggs, bacon, hash browns with containers of cheese, peppers, onions, etc. to make it your own. There was also oatmeal, with nuts, berries and other things to add to that and my favorite, greek yogurt with granola and berries you could add. There was an assortment of drinks and fresh fruit as well. Also, you were using real dishes, glasses and silverware, not plastic trying to cut a waffle. There were 2 staff people in the dining room taking dishes or helping you out if needed.

The pool and hot tub area was nice. The workout center looked nice with up-to-date equipment, there were 2 treadmills, and elliptical and a couple of bikes. We didn't use the workout center but did use the pool area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klmrace, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments! We're glad you enjoyed our propety and look forward to you visiting again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson

Address: 1357 East College Avenue, State College, PA 16801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn and Suites in State College is the area's newest lodging property, that offers 113 clean, comfortable and consistant accommodations with a touch of home! The hotel features a complimentary hot breakfast, indoor pool and spa, fitness room, and meeting room. We're located just minutes from the Penn State Campus, on College Avenue/Route 26 at the US 322 Intersection. Come be our guest at the Country Inn and Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.