We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok, but convenient” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express @ Williamsburg Square, State College

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express @ Williamsburg Square, State College to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express @ Williamsburg Square, State College
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1925 Waddle Rd, State College, PA 16803   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 26 hotels in State College
Boulder, CO
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just ok, but convenient”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stay here on a regular basis when we visit relatives. It is convenient by car to Penn state but away from downtown. It is average at best. The rooms look clean but don't look too closely at the bathroom floors. This last stay our room didn't get made up until 4:30 pm, and we had to push them. Our air conditioner whined and wheezed. We complained. We were told it would be checked. Maybe it was but it wasn't fixed. The price fluctuates wildly if there is "an event." We've had rates as low as $103 and as high ad $269. Annoying. But convenient so we keep going back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express @ Williamsburg Square, State College, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear BlueSky32022,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our property. We are more than happy to have you back again at our hotel. It is always our goal to provide convenient and world class service to our guest. We apologize we were not able to exceed your expectations during your stay. Please be assured that these will be looked into and that your comments will be used to monitor future improvements needed.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    60
    17
    8
    2
See reviews for
50
27
13
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

The facility is new, the foyer and rooms were well decorated. My room was comfortable and quiet. My only complaint was the cleanliness of the bathroom. The splatter marks and mildew on the bathroom tile did not instill confidence in the housekeeping. I was able to wipe up the stain with damp toilet paper, so it was not a permanent stain. The next morning I asked the front desk to request housekeeping take a closer look at the soiled tile floor. Unfortunately the floor was no different that evening. Also, the breakfast was slim pickings all week. I would have killed for a fresh piece of fruit, but that hope went the way of the clean bathroom too.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenJellison, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express @ Williamsburg Square, State College, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Shibumi365,

First of all my apologies for such a late response to your review. I normally try to respond asap but unfortunatly missed this one. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay for the most part and am sorry to hear about the cleanliness issue you had in the bathroom. I can assure you I will be taking a look into this and sharing your comments with my housekeeping team. Thank you for bringing this to my attention, and again my apologies on not responding to your post in a timely manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

A bunch of us were dropping the kids off at Woodward for cheer camp and stayed here again. Andrew on the desk is awesome, good job. The rooms are clean and the breakfast met our needs. We'll be back again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenJellison, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express @ Williamsburg Square, State College, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Devilgirl08,

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I hope your kids enjoyed cheer camp at Woodward. Hope to see you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonthill, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

What a treasure of a hotel! The Hotel decor what lovely, clean,spacious and newly renovated. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They do not have a pool but were kind enough to call the hotel beside them and ask if our children could swim there-we did. They have a relaxing garden patio,we order take out and ate as a family.The hot breakfast was well stocked and a great start to our day. Our room was large,2 single bed plus a pull out couch(all of the bedding was provided,no extra call was required.) The linen were soft and luxury.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenJellison, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express @ Williamsburg Square, State College, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Jocelyn k,

I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we were able to provide a positive experience. I hope you will stay with us again if the opportunity arrises, and thank you for posting a review about us, Have a good week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My sister and I stayed here on Saturday, August 3rd on our way to drop off our girls at Woodward camp. This hotel is right off the highway. The rooms are clean, beds are ultra comfortable and the free breakfast in the morning is very good.
This hotel is also located right next to the Outback Steakhouse (wasn't impressed with the food though for the prices we paid) but it allowed us to have a drink without worrying about driving anywhere afterwards. (walk back to our room)

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor so didn't need to use the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenJellison, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express @ Williamsburg Square, State College, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Ms. Young,

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and really appreciate your feedback. It's always nice to hear from folks that have stayed with us, and i hope you'll stay with us again if /when you return to our area. Hope your girls enjoyed there visit to Woodward, it's an excellent camp and great fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwood, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel to go to a State College Spikes baseball game. The hotel was very nice. Breakfast was the regular Holiday Inn Express breakfast. The only thing that was disappointing was that there was no pool. The baseball stadium and Penn State campus wasn't very far away. Just down the street was a Wegmans and a bunch of other shopping and hotels. We would stay here again if in the area, but wish it had a pool.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenJellison, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express @ Williamsburg Square, State College, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Ohnostergazer,

I really appreciate your comments on Tripadvisor and thank you for taking the time to post a review. Unfortyunatly when they built us they didn't include apool and I'm sorry you were disappointed about that. I'm glad to know that when/if you travel back to State College you'll consider staying with us. Hope you enjoyed the Spikes game, its always fun to see them play. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Everything about this hotel is top notch. Very well maintained and clean. Room was perfect. Free breakfast was great. This little Williamsburg Square area is adorable. Texas Roadhouse, Outback Steakhouse and Olive Garden all right within very close walking distance. Lots also around by short drive. Close to campus and downtown State College. Courtney at front desk was very welcoming and helpful. Wonderful place to stay in State College!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenJellison, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express @ Williamsburg Square, State College, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear DLS567,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel, your feedback is appreciated. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and will pass your comments on to Courtney. She will be thrilled she was mentioned in the review. Have a good week and we 'll look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express @ Williamsburg Square, State College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express @ Williamsburg Square, State College

Address: 1925 Waddle Rd, State College, PA 16803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in State College
#5 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express @ Williamsburg Square, State College 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express Hotel at Williamsburg Square. This friendly, award winning hotel is located just off Interstate 99/ U.S. 220 (322 bypass) minutes from downtown State College and in the heart of Centre County, PA. Visiting Penn State? Situated only 5 minutes from the Main Campus of Penn State, Beaver Stadium and the Bryce Jordan Center. The hotel is also located near South Hills Business School in State College and Juniata College in Huntington. Visiting a customer or other local business? The Colonnade Shopping Center, located close to the hotel, includes such stores as Target, Michael's, Kohl's, Dick's Sporting Goods and Wegman's Grocery store. Hungry? We are a 2-5 minute stroll from Outback, Olive Garden, Cracker Barrel and Texas Roadhouse restaurants. We are also a short drive from Accu-Weather, Raytheon, Chemcut, ARRIS, Schoolwires and PMG. Our hotel offers all the services a business traveler needs for a productive visit including free high-speed Internet! Visiting for leisure? Nestled in the heart of Lion Country, it would be our pleasure to have you as our guest while you are attending the Central Pennsylvania Festival of the Arts, Peoples Choice Festival, Centre County Grange Fair or Bellefonte Art and Crafts Fair. Visiting for an Athletic Event? We are closely located to all the main sporting venues at Penn State University, the McCoy Natatorium, Recreation Hall and the Indoor Track. We are also minutes away from the State College Area High School, Bellefonte Area High School and Hess Field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express @ Williamsburg Square, State College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express @ Williamsburg Square, State College Hotel State College
Holiday Inn State College
State College Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express @ Williamsburg Square, State College, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.