We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Mexican Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rey Azteca

Rey Azteca
485 Benner Pike, State College, PA 16801-7307
(866) 421-1290
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 203 Restaurants in State College
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Yeagertown PA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

If we don't have time to visit El Rodeo in Harrisburg, it's no problem, Rey Azteca is right there with delicious food at a great price!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    29
    14
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Dried Rice and canned beans.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

While the chips and salsa are very appetizing, the food is not so much. The entrees are usually dried out but sometimes tasty. All are served with rice that is very dry and beans which seem to be right out of the can.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great food, Affordable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Tasty, fresh tortilla chips on the table when you sit along with plenty of good salsa. I went with six other people, and everyone was satisfied with the taste and amount of the food. My dish had some fried shell items which were not over or under-done, the beef was tender and flavorful, the guacamole was flavorful, the bean mixture was excellent--really, nothing at all to complain about. And, for seven people, the bill came to less than sixty five dollars.

It's fun to watch--one guy carries as many as six sizzling plates stacked across his arm. Watch for it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Mexican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I really like this restaurant. Great Mexican food and prices (especially for lunch). It's worth the visit and close the the Nittany Mall.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Desert, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good for central-PA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stopped for lunch at Rey Azteca. The facility is constructed inside a cavernous space in a strip mall in a way that achieves a surprising degree of intimacy, at least in some sections. Other sections are huge open spaces that might not be so comfortable. It was not crowded when we were there.
The menu is extensive, as befits a typical Mexican restaurant. We tried the chili relleno which came with rice and beans, a tamale, and a Grillo special, a sort-of burrito with sauce and chicken, and a side of guacamole. We judged the dishes to be of mixed quality - the relleno and rice were spicey, the tamale had a somewhat odd flavor, the Grillo nice but a little bland. The guacamole was good and the salsa (served gratis when we were seated) was rather bland. The wait staff are friendly; some have limited facility in English, but others are nearby to help when needed.
Rating ethnic restaurants in central PA is often a little awkward, and Rey Azteca is no exception. This restaurant simply would not survive in Santa Fe or Denver, but State College is a different world. This is the best Mexican restaurant we have tried in the region, but don't come with expectations developed in the southwest (or even in the major cities of the east coast). The rating for this review is set to central-PA expectations.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rey Azteca also viewed

 

Been to Rey Azteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rey Azteca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.