We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unusual touch of elegance.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carnegie House

Carnegie House
100 Cricklewood Drive, State College, PA 16803
814-234-2424
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Carnegie House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 213 Restaurants in State College
Price range: $20 - $48
Cuisines: American, European, French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: CATA HP Route
Description: The Carnegie Inn & Spa is a 20 Room, AAA 4 Diamond Hotel operatiOnce I get placed I'll say something nice too.ng a magnificant restaurant within it premise. The restaurant has been selected 7 years in a row as the Best Fine Dining and Most Romantic Dining in the area.We are currently open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Please call, or go to our website to make reservations as we use OpenTable.Where Every Occasion is a Special Occasion!
Florida
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“An unusual touch of elegance.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have dinned here several times over the last ten years and we have always enjoyed it. They have an unusual and elegant formal touch--seating you in a gorgeous library with a gas fireplace for a cocktail or glass of wine before seating you in the dinning room. The dining room has a wall of windows overlooking the golf course and is comfortably appointed. The staff were very attentive and skilled in the art of service. The food was quite good.

RGinTally

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete W, General Manager at Carnegie House, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Greetings RG,
Thank you for the kind words on your dining experience at the Inn. The ambiance is the unique quality just not found in the other restaurants in the area. We are delighted you were able to enjoy it.
If you find yourself back in the area, please do come see us again.
Regards,
Pete Weaver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    10
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The Best Place To Stay in State College”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Best rooms in town...Very intimate and cozy. Dinners are elegant and the food is excellent. Can be combined with golf packages to Toftrees. If you want to stay on a busy weekend (PSU football games, Artsfest, etc) you'll need to make reservations almost a year in advance.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete W, General Manager at Carnegie House, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
On behalf of the team, I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. As this was prior to my arrival, the fact remains that the Inn continues to receive praises in its lodging as well as dining components.
We hope to see you again soon and please do ask for me.
Regards,
Pete Weaver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“very disappointing food w/ a high price tag”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We live in the area, so we are familiar w/ the Carnegie House. The library is fun for drinks and the atmosphere is pleasant. The staff we had was very nice. The truly disappointing part of the evening was the mediocre to just plain bad food. The lobster dish was tasteless, overcooked and in general was bits of indistinguishable meat and congealed sauce served in dried out lobster shell. The side was white rice w/ no seasoning whatsoever and crisp grains around the edges--for almost $50. The rack of lamb was a beautiful cut of meat w/ no flavor and the Caesar salad was tasteless w/ olives in it, a touch (not good) we have never seen in a fine restaurant. If you want the atmosphere of CH, we recommend you choose carefully from the menu.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete W, General Manager at Carnegie House, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Hello,
I want to thank you for taking the time to comment on your dining experience. As your experience was prior to my arrival, I would like to invite you back to give us another try.
I invite you to contact me directly so we might discuss the opportunity.
Regards,
Pete Weaver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewistown, PA
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Pretentious and Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

You go to the Carnegie House and they show you into the library, where they bring you drinks and hors-d'oeuvres and show you the menu and you order and so forth. Then you wait a long time. Then the elegant lady comes to show you to your table and you sit down at a table set with lots of wine glasses and all that. When the food arrives, it is just average, and when you get the bill, you think, "As much as that?"

  • Visited March 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete W, General Manager at Carnegie House, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We want to thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. As your dining experience was prior to my arrival, I would like to invite you back to enjoy a dining experience again.
I invite you to contact me directly so we can discuss opportunities.
Regards,
Pete Weaver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mars
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

The experience we had dining at this place was like spa for your taste buds. The food was wonderful. No one rushed us and it was such a relaxing dinner experience.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete W, General Manager at Carnegie House, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our restaurant and your dining experience. With so many places to choose from in the area, we fully appreciate it when guests come and find us. And we do agree we are a hidden gem.
If there is anything we can do, please do let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carnegie House also viewed

 

Been to Carnegie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carnegie House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.