We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad, but price reflects” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nittany Budget Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Nittany Budget Motel to your Saves list
Nittany Budget Motel
2070 Cato Avenue, State College, PA 16801   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in State College
Limerick, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not too bad, but price reflects”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I found this place on here and liked how high it was rated despite its low price. I went up to State College for a non-football one-nighter, and I think this place is perfect for that, but I probably wouldn't stay there for more than one night honestly. The sheets on my bed looked like they were old because there were marks on them from years of use and the bed was very squeaky, making it tough to sleep. The bathroom was clean, but i do think they need to replace their toilet seats, because that had scratches and burn marks all over it. I also heard some squeaks in the walls, so it might mean mice, but I wasn't sure. Other than that, the staff was very friendly, had a complimentary breakfast delivered, and overall was generally clean, despite what I had said above.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMcKee, General Manager at Nittany Budget Motel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear First Time Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your first stay with us.

Interestingly, your review is exactly the type I enjoy replying to most - constructive critique clearly demonstrates the legitimacy of the service provided by trip advisor and provides us with the most effective guidance in improving our product.

In our efforts to be "budget conscious," we sometimes wash a set of sheets one too many times, creating the threadbare appearance you noted. We have been working to cull out these clean but too worn sheets and I do apologize for this.

We replaced all of our box springs and mattresses in the last two years so we will check all of our bed frames for bent or loose fittings that may have caused the squeaking.

We will let our Ehrlich pest control technician know about your suspicion of mice - we do regular monthly preventive maintenance on our property and have not had any previous problems but always best to keep it this way!

Thank you again and we look forward to your next one night stay with us.

Sincerely,

Scott McKee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    8
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
12
10
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee On Delaware
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

A GPS smartphone helps to find the Nittany on the south edge of State College but once you're there you'll congratulate yourself on finding the cheapest-nicest-most unique place to stay in State College. The check in desk is inside a beer case store. The arcane laws of Pennsylvania say you can only sell beer by the case, except if you are an inn or hotel, in which case you can sell individual bottles. So the NIttany Motel serves as a legitimizer for the beer store, as well as being clean, well kept up, and quiet. The best is yet to come in the morning. When you check in you will be asked what time you want breakfast delivered. Yes, delivered at no charge. Each room has a small pass- through built into the wall, protected by a lock latch. Your breakfast (coffee, bagels, danish etc) is placed in the pass-through from the outside at the appointed hour, you open from the inside and grab it. The same pass-through idea originated on Pullman overnight sleeping trains back in the first part of the 20th Century. The car porter took your shoes at night to be polished, and returned them before you woke up all clean and bright. Shoes were nice but breakfast is better. And check out the wifi password. The night we stayed it was the name of the fired and disgraced Penn State coach who was involved in the infamous sex scandal. Very imaginative idea that goes with everything about the Nittany.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMcKee, General Manager at Nittany Budget Motel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear RobertitoL,

Thank you for the complimentary review AND for the historical background on our breakfast service portal - as I so often say, "learn something new every day!"

It sounds like you have found your "home away from home," when visiting the State College area and that is what we try to provide.

We look forward to your next stay with us!

Most Sincerely,

Scott McKee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydon
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great price, employees very nice. Had a late check in and it was no problem. Would definitly stay again. They even have a complimentary breakfast they bring to your room. Very clean and quite motel. Very close to Penn's Cave and University. Easy to find.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMcKee, General Manager at Nittany Budget Motel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Dawnscookie,

We are happy to hear you felt well served during your recent stay with us.

Thank you for taking time to post your review and for pointing out features of greatest significance to you. I think these observations are helpful for others as they make their lodging decisions.

We will do everything to continue providing exceptional service, pleasant rest and at an affordable price.

Sincerely,

Scott McKee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This place is a gem. It is out of the way, quiet and clean, unlike the hotel in the area we had left due to bugs. The kitchen has a refrigerator that had ample space for our groceries, and the bathroom size was more generous in size than average. The breakfast delivered to your room, discreetly delivered through a service cubby, adds a very nice touch.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMcKee, General Manager at Nittany Budget Motel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear SallyBean2,

First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your stay with us. Positive reviews are always pleasant to read but I particularly appreciate yours because I was away on vacation during the last two weeks of July.

I very much believe in the team concept and cannot say how proud I am of my staff and their conduct - so, on their behalf, I will say thank you for your kind comments! What you noted about our guest rooms and breakfast are a direct product of their efforts and it always pleases me to see their work recognized - I will be sure to share your comments with them.


Most Sincerely,

Scott McKee
General Mananger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Older motel, but kept tidy and clean. Bath towels were a little thin, but the staff was generous with giving out as many extra as needed. The staff was always very nice and helpful, too. Quiet at night and we were in the front of the property, next to the office. Close to the Kocher Farm where our horse show was held and close enough to downtown State College. Wish that PennDot had the good sense not to make Whitehall Road one way.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMcKee, General Manager at Nittany Budget Motel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Leedsie,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am happy to hear you found our small property for your lodging needs during the horse show.

I will talk with our staff about the towels and we will work to be a bit more diligent about culling out any towels which are showing signs of being threadbare. We believe in doing our utmost to minimize waste and get the most out of all items used but try to never have this negatively impact our customers.

Thank you again for choosing the Nittany Budget Motel.

Most Sincerely,

Scott McKee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

went to a football camp at penn state. Stayed for 1 night, was on a budget. room was perfect, very clean, very spacious. beds were comfortable, quiet area, less than 2 miles away from campus.Service was great, got a good night sleep breakfast was free, will definitely stay again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMcKee, General Manager at Nittany Budget Motel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Travelman 1012,

Thank you for your kind words and for characterizing us as the "perfect place to stay."
Though I think each traveler may have their own version of perfect, we certainly do our best to surpass guests expectations.

I am glad to hear you were here for one of the sports camps operated by Penn State, truly a wonderful resource for youth and their families.

We wish you a pleasant summer at home and abroad and, when your road brings you back to the State College area, please let us know and we will be happy to assist with your lodging needs.

Most Sincerely,

Scott McKee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

So I am just returning from a 3 day stay at this little off the grid motel... And it was great! Looks are deceiving, and I was pleasantly surprised to find a comfortable, friendly stay in a modest and priced right motel 10 minutes from the center of Penn state. It is convenient to get to, has a liquor store on premises and a nice restaurant next door. Couldnt ask for more.
The rooms are very simple with outdated bedding and the a/c unit makes some noise but it was ok because the fact that it was so quiet at night and I had coffee delivered to the room via a little cubby in the wall, I didn't mind one bit. If you want luxury ad fancy stay then this
May not be for you, but if low key, clean, friendly and a relaxing place where you can tailgate and BBQ out back is your kind of place then you need to
Check this out. Definitley will be staying there next memorial day and bringing friends.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMcKee, General Manager at Nittany Budget Motel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments!

I think you have accurately described what we are and strive to be: a true value and a pleasant surprise for travelers visiting our area.

We look forward to your visit for next Memorial Day! For what it's worth - the events that take place here in our area tend to sell out the town so when you and your friends are ready, consider making reservations early - our cancellation policy is 24 hours prior to date of arrival so changes in plans can be modified up to that point, without penalty.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our establishment.

Best of Travels,

Scott McKee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nittany Budget Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nittany Budget Motel

Address: 2070 Cato Avenue, State College, PA 16801
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nittany Budget Motel just 3 miles from Downtown State College. Complimentary light breakfast daily, free Wi-Fi, and on-site Brewsky's Bottle Shop. We invite all visitors to the State College area to enjoy the friendly atmosphere for which we are known. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Nittany Budget Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nittany Budget Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.