We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn to your Saves list
Quality Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1274 N. Atherton Street, State College, PA 16803   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in State College
East Brunswick
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Overall very nice place. All personnel are very nice. I have stayed here before and will again while on business.
My only complaint; was given an accessible bathroom. It was very clean, but needs paint attention. It had paint peeling on the ceiling and the one wall.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi P, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear SH, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We appreciate your business. You will be happy to hear that we are currently in the middle of our winter refresh. All of our bathrooms are being repainted. We plan to be finished by the end of January. I am sure that you will notice the improvement. Thank you for staying with us. Happy holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    58
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
55
17
15
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

My husband and I with our dog stopped over night to visit with our granddaughters at Penn State on our way to Boston. Our room was clean and very nice, the staff was friendly and helpful. We will stop again with our little dog, on our next trip.
Thank you

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi P, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Mary Ann, Thank you for your kind words. I am very happy that we were a part of your family visit. We can't wait to see you, and of course that sweet little pup! Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We recently returned from our second visit to the Quality Inn in State College. We were there for two weeks also in January and the hotel and staff did not disappoint. The Manager, Heidi, is extremely personable and even invited us to a gathering at her house one evening. The breakfast room attendant, Nicole, even remembered that my wife liked muffins in the morning and made sure to prepare them for her. Parking is ample and always available. Even though the hotel is quite full for football week-ends, we experienced no inconveniences. Pets are usually booked in on the first floor and if there were any dogs there more than the one we saw one morning, we didn't even hear a bark. We were given a quiet room on the third floor as we had requested. The rooms are large with top cleanliness. All of the staff are friendly and the price is also right.
If you plan your stay at the Quality Inn, you won't have to look further. I might also add that the location is good, off the main drag.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi P, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Gish, What a pleasure it was to see you both! We are so fortunate that your family is so close to the hotel. Thank you again for staying with us. Nicole will have the warm biscuits ready that you like so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The bed was comfortable. The room clean. The breakfast was very good as good as you could get out. They could have had one gluten free cereal but the other choices were sufficient. The staff was also very friendly. Great place to stay.

Room Tip: A room in the back would lessen highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My husband and I took our family back to PSU to visit since we are alums. The hotel isn't too far from campus on Atherton.

Pros:
- close to campus
- very clean and quiet
- attentive staff (our air conditioner was making noises and they resolved it right away)
- everyone from the front desk to housekeeping were very knowledgeable (a housekeeper in the elevator asked me if I was registered for their Rewards program! Says a lot about the commitment of their staff)
- easy parking
- spacious rooms

Cons:
- not a lot of variety with breakfast selections
- no pool
- exercise room somewhat limited - only had 3 machines

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Enjoyed our stay in State College, PA....not too far from Penn State. It's a great little college town, very clean with many places to eat that are reasonably priced. The Quality Inn in State College provided good value and a place for us to hang our hats after visiting Fallingwater, the famous Frank Lloyd house. The hotel was clean and comfortable with several "green" areas to walk your dog. The hotel does charge extra for dogs, but at a reasonable $10 pet fee, especially when compared to other hotels that can charge as much as $50 for a dog. There is a good Italian restaurant that is right down the road from this hotel. I did not eat the free breakfast, but it looked like there was some construction going on to remodel or change that area of the hotel. All in all.....a great place to stay on your way to your next destination.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

There aren't a lot of great options driving east on I-80 late into the night, and after a less than favorable experience at another chain, we were hesitant about trying an unknown motel. The rating here on Trip Advisor were a true guide and exactly on point....Quality Inn delivered of everything we needed: courteous, friendly staff; clean rooms; comfortable beds; and good value. Highly recommend! (Gave 4 stars only because of the distance from I-80.)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi P, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am so pleased that you found our hotel to be a clean, comfortable and friendly place to rest. Hopefully you had enough time to enjoy the complimentary hot breakfast before you got back on the road. Safe travels and thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 1274 N. Atherton Street, State College, PA 16803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in State College
#11 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn welcomes sport enthusiasts, business travelers, families and even pets to State College, with affordable rates and a full range of services and amenities. Just five blocks to Penn State University campus, the Quality Inn consistently provides guest essentials with friendly service in an accommodating environment. The Quality Inn features a free deluxe breakfast, exercise room, free wireless Internet access and a meeting room for up to 75 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel State College

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.