We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn to your Saves list
Quality Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1274 N. Atherton Street, State College, PA 16803   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in State College
Sue909
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed here one night. Great place.....breakfast was really good. The lady (didn't get her name) who takes care of breakfast was so nice and helpful. Aaron who checked us in was "The Best!". Friendly staff goes a long way in making a stay enjoyable. Hotel was clean and beds were comfortable. Price was great too. About a mile away from the college but I preferred that instead of being right in with the college scene.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    57
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
54
17
15
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elizabeth, PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Arrived early, but checking in was no problem. Room was very clean and comfortable. The only "complaint" (if you want to call it a complaint) was that there was no available outlet near the nightstand next to the bed, which was a minor inconvenience. Staff was very helpful and accomodating, especially when I thought I would have to extend my stay due to the changing weather conditions. I will most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just needed a spot to stop and snooze the night before a flight out of the College Park airport. This fit the bill. It is convenient and Aaron accommodated with hardly a hesitation, when I asked to be switched to a main floor room. In the morning, I was greeted by several members of the staff, and found a spacious and well arranged breakfast room. The food is placed all around the perimeter and is spaced so as to provide ample room for access and to accommodate a large crowd (although it was empty when I arrived). There was a waffle maker, along with both cheese and veg omelets, bacon, yogurt,fruit, bagels and of course cereal, juice, and coffee. Tasty! Nicole took pride in her work as the server in the room, chatting with guests and getting empty plates and keeping things cleaned up.

The room was also pleasant and had all the needed amenities. Although there was a sign at the front of the property that told you it was being worked on, there was little to cause interruption or inconvenience.

Over all, there is much to like about the Quality Inn, and little in the area of needed correction.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi P, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Puffinfan, I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Aaron and Nicole are both wonderful members of our very friendly and accommodating staff. When you fly out of University Airport next time feel free to leave you car here and catch the Nittany Airport Shuttle. They are very inexpensive and super reliable. I hope to see you again when we have finished the rebuilding of our permanent breakfast area. It will a larger and very inviting area to start the day. Thank you for staying with us! Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Glen, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

As someone with pet allergies, I didn't realize pets were welcome at this hotel. I had to ride elevators with them, which caused an allergic flare. With that said, the hotel is clean, the shower large and the staff is great. The friendly, helpful woman at breakfast had the best attitude and customer focus of any hotel employee I've observed in a long time. The breakfast was great and WiFi speed sufficient.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi P, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I am sorry that the pets we welcome caused you discomfort. I hope that it was only in the elevator! We do take additional steps to clean rooms that pets stayed in to ensure that our non-pet lovers rest comfortably in their rooms. I am very glad that, otherwise you found the hotel to be clean and comfortable. I shared your comments about breakfast with Nicole. That made her day! Thank you for staying with us. I hope we see you again soon! Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

In town Feb 9/10 for NITTANY invitational volleyball tournament at Penn State. The group rate offered was outstanding.
Room spacious and clean. Mini fridge much needed for a tournament when you bring nutritious food for athletes.
Hot breakfast had terrific variety plus good coffee.
Staff very friendly.
A shout put to Aaron at front desk last who was particularly witty and helpful.
Location perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi P, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. Yes, Aaron has a creat sense of humor. I am so happy that your team finally made it through the terrible storm and got some much needed rest. We really enjoyed having all of the Volleyball teams here with us. It was a pleasure having such a great group of kids at breakfast. Wow, can they eat! Looking forward to seeing yor team next year at the tournament. Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Quality Inn for two weeks this past January. We found the staff to be extremely polite, helpful, and courteous and the rooms relatively large and clean. We found the hotel to be very quiet and the beds comfortable. The dining room staff was very accomodating and kept saying that if you don't see want you want, ask for it. My wife stated a preference for hot biscuits and the woman working that breakfast brought her out a plate of hot bisquits the following morning. Even though this was off season, the rates were very good compared to other hotel chains. The heater worked well with an effective themostat on the wall to control the desired temperature. Plenty of hot water for delightful winter showers.
We will definitely stay here on our next visit to State College and fully recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room not near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi P, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. I will let Nicole know that your wife enjoyed the warm biscuits in the morning. I am so pleased that your stay was comfortable and that our staff was helpful and courteous. We strive for that kind of service everyday. Hopefully the next time you come to visit your family in State College, the weather will be a little warmer! It was such a pleasure to have you stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S. Walpole
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Every once in a while you find a treat on a trip that takes an unexpected turn. We had to get out of the storm that hit PA over Christmas holiday and this hotel came up as the closest haven from the storm. What a pleasant surprise. the people could not have been more welcoming. They treated us and our pet like family. Their welcoming attitude made our trip interruption a not very painful side trip.

The room was very high value. Clean, nicely appointed and very comfortable. But the best part was their welcome and the personable treatment.

It was such a nice experience that we changed our route on the way home to take advantage of this hotel on the return if the weather got bad again.

Room Tip: Rooms near teh front on the back side of the hotel should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi P, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Mike, Thank you for your kind comments. Snow storms always bring the nicest guests our way. I am a little bit surprised that a Michigan native wouldn’t have just plowed thru. We are glad you didn’t! We all really enjoyed visiting with you, your wife and especially, your sweet dog (who looks just like mine). It almost seemed as if you were actually visiting us over the holidays not just passing thru. We hope we see you again soon. If you need a snow storm, we will be happy to send our next one your way. Thank you for staying with us! Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 1274 N. Atherton Street, State College, PA 16803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in State College
#11 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn welcomes sport enthusiasts, business travelers, families and even pets to State College, with affordable rates and a full range of services and amenities. Just five blocks to Penn State University campus, the Quality Inn consistently provides guest essentials with friendly service in an accommodating environment. The Quality Inn features a free deluxe breakfast, exercise room, free wireless Internet access and a meeting room for up to 75 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel State College

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.