We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few small changes would make a big difference” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   132 Village Dr., State College, PA 16803-2923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in State College
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A few small changes would make a big difference”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The good - free breakfast, wi fi, parking.....a pool, jacuzzi, fitness room....excellent staff from front desk to cleaning staff....TGIF Fridays within a short walk...

The not so good - breakfast is limited (no meat options, few fruits)....elevator slow and was out of order on my visit....pool is very small - feels crowded with 3 peeps in it....fitness room has only one outdated treadmill....

Room Tip: Stay on ground floor..elevator not reliable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuites132, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback regarding your stay with us here at the Comfort Suites. Your feedback is very important and has been passed along to the appropriate department leaders to ensure that we continue to improve in those areas you mentioned. It is because of our guests feedback that we are able to improve in areas where we fall short and build on our strengths to offer an excellent stay for all of our guests. On behalf of myself and the rest of our team here at the Comfort Suites we appreciate your business and hope for the chance to serve your future hospitality needs while visiting Happy Valley!

Warmest Regards,

Nicki Wertz
Assistant General Manager
Comfort Suites
State College, PA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    55
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
77
19
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed in room 133 on Monday in June.
Booked King Single on Internet but was told when I arrived that the room I had booked was in fact PET FRIENDLY - I did not read the pop up on the web site. Receptionist was delightful lady who quickly sorted out my request not to be in a pet friendly room and we were given a suite with 2 Queen beds and sofabed/lounge.
Beautiful spacious, immaculately clean room with comfortable pillow top beds and we had a great sleep. High ceilings 10' throughout suite gave feeling of class.
Internet Wi-Fi was excellent.
the only things I could fault in the room were the taps on the kitchenette sink needed extra force to turn them off and were loose fitting to the cabinet-ware and also the bath/shower spigot changeover would not shut of the water to the bath completely resulting in reduced water to the shower head. The shower control valve was loose in the wall also. Still managed to shower ok.
Breakfast was more than adequate in the nice breakfast area.
The hotel is nicely located and we really enjoyed the stay. I have no hesitation in recommending this establishment to other travellers.

Room Tip: Make sure you check you are not selecting Pet Friendly room as it is not in your face on the website...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuites132, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear John,

Thank you for your kind review of your stay with us at the State College Comfort Suites. I am glad our evening clerk was able to accommodate your needs by changing your room type. On behalf of our entire team we appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you during any future stays in Happy Valley.


Nicki Wertz
Assistant General Manager
Comfort Suites
State College, PA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahti, Finland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed here one night. The kids loved this place. All places were very clean, the breakfast was great. only minus was that the wi-fi was a bit slow. The personnel wad friendly. Great value for the money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ComfortSuites132, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire staff here at Comfort Suites we appreciate your feedback and look forward to serving your future hospitality needs when visiting Happy Valley.

Sincerely,

Management and Team
Comfort Suites
State College, PA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Arrived around 1 and was able to go ahead and check in. Got up to the room & it had plenty of room. The lady at the front desk was able to suggest some local restaurants that offered discounts to hotel guests. Our only negative would be when we pulled our bed down the sheets had not been cleaned!! We could see hair and dead skin on the sheets. We did call the front desk and the gentleman came right up & changed them. The breakfast was a typical continental breakfast.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuites132, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience with us at Comfort Suites. I have shared your feedback with our team and assure you we are working very diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the hopes to exceed your expectations as well as all our guests expectations. We appreciate your business and look forward to the opportunity of seeing you again in your future travels to Happy Valley!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverside
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We spent 4 days at this hotel for my son's orientation at Penn State. The hotel served it's purpose. Clean rooms,comfortable beds and good breakfast. No complaints. Nonetheless, it is about 1.1 miles to the Robeson Center (hub). It is about a 15 min walk through a lovely residential street. I believed the hotel was much closer to campus and near the action. The hotel is not in town but on the other side of the campus.It took us about 25 minutes cutting through campus to get to the main part of the town. We did not mind the walk,lovely weather. However, on summer days or winter, take a taxi....about 8 dollars. Finally, there is a TGIF Friday restaurant about 75 yards from the hotel.

Room Tip: Third floor in the corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuites132, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Comfort Suites during your son's orientation at Penn State. We appreciate you taking the time to comment about your recent stay with us. Our staff takes great pride in the service they offer our guests and are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us We are located conveniently to the Penn State Campus, Bryce Jordan Center and Downtown State College. We value your business and hope to see you again soon! Safe Travels!

Yours In Service,

Lisa Ripka
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
189 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

You don't need a parking Lot, I could park my car in my suite. Very very very comfortable bed. Interesting bath arrangement, no full wall.....can hear everything, somewhat awkward if not intimate with roomie. Breakfast is way above average. Proteins, waffles, juices, coffee, yogurts, eggs, toast. Fitness center, pool. Well located. Happy volley tournament, happy to be here, would return

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuites132, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
On the behalf of the hotel staff, I am writing to Thank You for staying at the Comfort Suites in State College. We appreciate you taking time to share your comments on your recent stay with us. We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our pleasant staff could accommodate you with higher expectations then you anticipated.

We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their night’s stay a satisfying one. The principle goal of our hotel is to provide dependable services to all of our guests at a reasonable price. But, it’s only through their eyes that we can accurately assess the quality of the accommodations and services we provide.

Our Jacuzzi rooms are very large and are geared more for the business traveler or as a couple’s room. I do agree that this style of room is not for everyone.Those who frequent this type of room generally love it!!

It was nice to read that you also, enjoyed our “Savory Start” morning choices that we make readily available each morning for our guest to start their day off right!

Again, let me thank you for staying with us during your weekend for Happy Volley. We’re committed to total guest satisfaction, and we look forward to your next visit.

Regards,
Patty Mandell
Assistant General Manager
Comfort Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, Pa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Want to let everyone considering this location,to look NO FURTHER!!! Stayed the weekend with my wife and grand kids. What a superb staff,extremely clean facility, nice location as well as a fair price. We couldnt have asked for a more quality stay anywhere... As a frequent traveler (200+ hotel stays per year) I consider myself a fair judge of accomodations and this hotel is equal to any costing twice as much. Hope this helps any traveler considering staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuites132, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your experience with us at the Comfort Suites. I always enjoy reading what our guests are saying about our customer service. We like to think that we go above and beyond what our guests would expect in customer service.
With our newly renovated suites with new bedding,carpeting and sofa beds,we feel that you are definitely getting your money's worth when you stay here. Even with all the new amenities, we like to keep our rates competitive with all the hotels that are in the area and still make you feel like you are getting a bargain. We truly appreciate your comments and your business. Thank you for choosing the State College Comfort Suites for your overnight stay..

Regards,
Patty Mandell,AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#8 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 stars 563 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#20 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#2 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
1.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites State College
SpringHill Suites State College
#6 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 132 Village Dr., State College, PA 16803-2923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in State College
#16 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel State College
Comfort Suites State College
State College Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.