We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mary Jane is awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   132 Village Dr., State College, PA 16803-2923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in State College
Aurora, Illinois
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Mary Jane is awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We were very pleased with this hotel, mostly because of the staff, whom were for the very most part wonderful.
We could not have been more grateful to Mary Jane who had to work the front desk on a major holiday, and she could not have been kinder.
After a long day traveling from Wisconsin, Illinois and Massachusetts we all met at this Comfort Suites and attempted to create a family Thanksgiving. Mary Jane and staff were so kind, and let us set up our meal and enjoy our family. Really what the holidays are all about.
The rooms are clean and spacious, and the breakfast is very good.
Lots of choices and the waffles cooking in the morning makes the whole hotel smell wonderful.
Were here for a Football game, and there was a shuttle available which we did not use, but seemed very convenient.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuites132, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for writing such a nice comment about our staff. MaryJane and the entire staff work as a team and we are priveleged to have them working here at the Comfort Suites. We like to think that everyone can relax and enjoy while staying here.It is just like being at home and entertaining family and enjoying holiday meals together. It was certainly our pleasure and we look forward to more family visits. Thank you for choosing Comfort Suites for your family gathering.

Sincerely,
Patty Mandell,AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    46
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
63
18
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Have stayed here several times, most recently last weekend. Overall, a fairly good place to stay if you want to be within walking distance of Penn State campus. That was the main reason we picked this place instead of the Country Inn & Suites, which was less expensive but still highly rated on T.A.

If I had reviewed this hotel before one of our earlier stays I probably would have given it a higher rating. But this time, well, some of the shine had worn off.

Never had a problem with the room before, but on the first morning there we found several patches of long black hairs in the shower. This was so easy to see -- hard to believe the housekeeping staff didn't spot it. Happily, the hotel management reacted about as well as they could. Fixed the problem right away. Also when we returned to the room later there was a letter under the door from the manager apologizing for the lapse and offering us a discount off the room price for the first night. Nice touch.

Another reason we have stayed here is the hot buffet breakfast included in the room charge. Missing this time was any meat (e.g., bacon, sausage), which I think they used to include. The scrambled eggs (both mornings) were just okay, and the other offerings (self-cooked waffles, bagels, muffins, drinks, etc.) was pretty typical, nothing to write home about. One major drawback we noticed this time: the breakfast area is WAY too small when the hotel is full or close-to-full. No place to sit on Sunday morning, so we just went back to the room with our coffee and bagels. Also, the kitchen staff had a hard time keeping up with the guests' consumption.

The bed are excellent, the HVAC works well, and overall the rooms are well-appointed. However, something we noticed this time: the doors to hallway do not fit snugly to the frame, so there's lots of space for noise from the hall to leak through into your room. We could hear every room door close and every conversation in the hall. Luckily, the guests were generally not loud, but I wonder what's it's like on a football weekend.

My other issue with this hotel is how it markets its rooms. The room we reserved is described as a "one room suite". Well, what does THAT mean? A "suite" implies multiple rooms (not counting the bathroom.) Our room had two queen beds and a sofa bed in a SINGLE room. Nothing "suite" about it. Calling this a "suite" borders on false advertising -- it's certainly not what I would have expected to get when paying $25 more per night than the highest rated hotel in State College.

The drawbacks I mentioned here are not necessarily deal-killers. We may very well stay here again because of the convenience factor. But next time I'll be tempted to give some of the competition a try, esp. if their rooms are cheaper.

Room Tip: Read the description of the rooms closely. Not every "suite" is really a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuites132, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for posting your recent comments about your stay. It is through our guests that we can see where we are excelling or where there may be room for improvement. First,let me explain why we are called a "Suites hotel",it is the extra ammenities that we offer at no additional costs to our guests, such as sofa beds,iron/ironing boards,coffee makers,wet bar sinks, refrigerators,and hair dryers for your convenience. Breakfast items that we offer are more than the typical hotel offers their guests as well.We do have additional sitting available around the corner from the breakfast area for guest to enjoy. I do apologize that you were not advised of the additional seating area the weekend that you stayed with us. The door clearance issue has been submitted to maintenance to follow up with on behalf of your concerns.I do want to thank you for choosing the State College Comfort Suites and we hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Patty Mandell,AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

First, the internet. For some reason, I've had a terrible time getting a steady wifi signal at a lot of State College hotels, especially the Marriott hotels. I've stayed in them all. This place had a great, clear signal, if that's important to you. The staff was great. The breakfast was good, not extraordinary. The room was large, but a little worn. The plumbing fixtures on the mini-kitchen sink were loose, so we didn't use it. My wife, an engineer, noticed the air conditioning fan was loud and straining. She pulled out the filter and it was ridiculously filthy. Gross. She cleaned it herself and the AC ran beautifully.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuites132, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your recent comments about your stay. It is through our guests comments that we can strive to improve the services that we offer. I was saddened to read that you found your AC unit not working properly due to a simple over sight. Our maintenance department has implemented a schedule to be sure these type of issues are not being over looked. It was great to hear that the WI FI more than accommadating during your stay. Thank you for choosing the State College Comfort Suites.

Sincerely,
Patty Mandell,AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachwood, Ohio, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I had a difficult time finding a room in State College when I needed to drop my son at school. This hotel exceeded my expectations. Though costly for a one night stay, the rooms were large and the staff was kind. The hotel was convenient to campus and to other amenities.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuites132, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your recent review about our hotel.I am always thrilled to hear positive comments about our guests stay. We are only a few blocks from Penn State campus, and it is convenient for parents dropping off or visiting their students. As you know prices for hotel rooms do increase for these event times,we like to believe that you as a guest were comfortable and enjoyed your short stay. I hope that you will choose the Comfort Suites for your lodging needs the next time your in State College.

Sincerely,
Patty Mandell ,AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Comfort Suite state college pa. 

Not sure we would have found the place without a decent GPS. It is tucked back on a dead end street (very quite). Check-in was accomplished very smoothly thanks to very efficient and courteous clerk.  Other than some spots on the rug between the beds (we had two queen size beds), the room was very clean. It was a large room with a sofa, desk with USB connections and a sufficient number of quad outlets to accommodate the most avid techy,
The suite had a coffee pot, microwave, refrigerator, iron and board and hair drier.  About everything you would need. 

Breakfast was available from 6am to 9am. They had scrambled eggs, sausage, muffins, fruit, yogurt, bagels, waffles -- pretty near something that would satisfy most anyone. 

All and all, it was a very pleasant stay and I wouldn't hesitate staying there again. 

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuites132, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
I would like to say thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us. It is through our guests reviews that we applaud our staff and also can look for ways to make their stay even more pleasurable. I know our hotel does set back off the road,but does make for a quiet stay while in the State College area. The breakfast selections we offer to our guests has something for everyone,even those looking to eat light or to simply grab and go. Anything that we can do to make our guest stay better is always a welcomed comment.
Thank you again for your response and we look forward to seeing you the next time your in the State College area.

Sincerely,
Patty Mandell,AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Driving from Chicago to CT we thought we could make it in one shot. After trying 5 hotels w/o rooms, we called Comfort Suites. Even though it was off route, we took a chance. Comfort Suites was the friendliest, cleanest, largest room we have stayed in (including some 4 star hotels). Breakfast was better than expected and a followup call to retrieve a lost bill was handled promptly. This is a place I would definitely stay at again. Thank you for all your attention.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuites132, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for your great review and I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I have often been told by guests,how friendly our staff is. I can honestly tell you that WE all enjoy our jobs and love our guests. We like when a guests feels like they are home and if there is anything we can do for them,we would be pleased to accommodate. We like to think that the State College Comfort Suites is like home away from home. Thank you for your comments and we hope you will stay again when traveling through the area.

Sincerely,
Patty Mandell,AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here for one night, after traveling all over this summer and staying in numerous suite hotels. We arrived at 10 pm, to a quick check in. The pool had just closed, but it was very small so the kids were not too disappointed. The room was fine - nothing exciting. We went right to bed, and I was woken an hour later because our neighbors were getting to their room - and I could hear EVERYTHING. Soon after that, neighbors also arrived in the room on the other side of us, and again I could clearly hear their conversation.
We payed over $100 for the night, so I was pretty unhappy with the noise level. Next time, we'll return to the Country Inn+Suites!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuites132, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
I was sorry to read that your short stay was not pleasant due to the noise around you. We try to monitor the hallways for noise and guests being loud,however when they are entering their rooms and being noisy that is sometimes not heard by our staff. Please except my apologies for this again,but I can reassure you that is not common for our hotel. Our guests like stay here because we do like it quiet for our guests,especially that late in the evening. Thank you for letting us know of the your noise problem,so that we can be more aware of how loud people are when returning to their rooms.

Thank you,
Patty Mandell,AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 132 Village Dr., State College, PA 16803-2923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel State College
Comfort Suites State College
State College Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.