We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slept very well” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott State College

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott State College to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott State College
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1730 University Drive, State College, PA 16801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in State College
Nanticoke, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Slept very well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I was at this hotel a few years ago. Since then they upgraded the lobby. Upon arrival we were immediately greeted and checked-in very quickly. We were informed about the Bistro & how to get to our room. The lobby was quite comfortable and looked inviting. The room was a good size with lots of space and included to our surprise a refrigerator & microwave. WiFi worked without any problems. Pros and cons about having the shower/toilet in one room and the sink separate from the toilet. I really wish hotels could include a small sink in that little room/but that's my preference. Nice toiletries. Hair dryer worked great. The beds were very comfortable and we got a great night of sleep---actually slept quite late even though the hotel was quite full/but it was not at all noisy. Nice flat screen TV but some channels were snowy. There was a nice workspace as well. It was a bit cold so we did not get to enjoy the balcony but it did look inviting. Pool looked nice, hot tub enjoyable. Workout area adequate.

We were pressed for time so we decided to just go to the Bistro in the hotel. This was really the only downside of the hotel. I asked about the monthly special "Harvest Chopped Salad" which was on their menu. The fellow looked totally dumbfounded and did not know anything about it. He asked if we would like him to recommend something. I said well that salad is on the card in our room and it is on your menu right there behind you. "Oh" he said, "no one ever ordered it before." So he proceeded to pull the recipe up off the computer and told me what was in it--apples, romaine, cranberries, tomatoes, bacon, walnuts and a horseradish ranch dressing. Sounded good and he said he had all the ingredients/told him to skip the tomatoes. My son ordered a chicken quesadilla. Then we waited, and waited, and waited (and there were no other customers). Finally, he came out and said if it was okay he would bring out the quesadilla first which we said was fine. Fortunately I had a slice of the quesadilla which came with salsa & sour cream and it was ok, nothing spectacular, but being very hungry at this point it was quite welcome. We continued to wait but the salad was not forthcoming. We had to leave for the event for which we had gone to State College and indeed we were already late but still no salad and no sign of the chef either. Finally he came out bringing the salad but I explained we had to leave and would he keep it in the refrigerator until I got back and he said he would but advised me that the bacon would get cold. When I did return he had it ready for me and it was ok, nothing really special, (needed more horseradish in the dressing in my opinion) and there was not a single walnut to be found. At that point the Bistro was closed so I could not ask about that and I was starting to think that perhaps I misunderstood. But upon arrival at home I checked online and indeed there should have been walnuts. So the Bistro part of the hotel needs more fine tuning. The meals we ordered were somewhat expensive and we were obviously disappointed about the long wait for very average yet fairly expensive meals. We were ok with the cost because we thought it would save us time looking for someplace to eat quickly but that was not the case. Given that situation we did not even attempt the breakfast the following morning.

Room Tip: The rooms on the third floor on the Ruby Tuesday side of the building were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott State College, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Helen L,
Thank you for taking a moment and writing a review about your experience with us at Courtyard State College. I'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay, and found our hotel clean and comfortable. I apologize for your experience at the Bistro during your stay. I read your comments and became very disappointed in the service you received. Please be assured that this was not typical of our Bistro staff or service. We will be reviewing your comments in our next staff meeting and make sure all personnel are well trained, especially for the monthly specials. We hope your future travels will bring you back to our area and you'll stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    37
    17
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
12
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
385 helpful votes 385 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed for a night while passing through State College on business. While there is nothing really worng with the hotel (other than two false fire alarms in the middle of the night), I didn't find anything that would rank it higher than average.

The outside of the property is well kept and neat, although I do question if there is enough parking if the hotel were to be full. There is a Ruby Tuesday's sharing the hotel parking lot, which is nice if you don't want to drive to dinner. The lobby was clean and looked updated; the pool also looked clean, but quite small.

The room itself again was clean, average in size, and a little dated. Bed was good, wifi worked well, and there was a flat screen tv, but many channels were quite "snowy". The bathroom had the toilet and shower separate from the sink area; the sink vanity was quite small however, and the lighting no so great.

All in all, there is nothing bad about this place, but nothing great either; and at $ 160 / night, I would have expected more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott State College, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
ToSquareBob1,
Thank you for your review. We value your business and appreciate you choosing Courtyard. I'm glad you liked our hotel. I apologize for the false fire alarms disrupting your sleep. We truly hope you'll join us again the next time your business brings you to State College.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Courtyard Marriott in State College overnight for a family wedding. The hotel looks like it has been recently renovated with a sleek clean looking lobby and comfortable rooms. The lobby has a big screen TV and lounge chairs and a quick service deli type "restaurant/bar". The pool is a good size and has a hot tub (my nephews loved this). The rooms were nicely appointed with flat screen TV's and comfy beds. The only negative is the lack of HDTV on the big screen in the lobby. We sat in the lobby and watched football after the wedding. Customer service was fantastic. We would definitely stay here again.

As a bonus, the local Applebee's sits right in front of this hotel and has great service and food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott State College, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
irin997,
Thank you for taking a moment and writing a review about your stay with us at Courtyard State College. We're pleased you chose to stay with us while attending your family wedding, and we hope we were able to add a little more enjoyment to your family get togethers. We invite you to come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend in a wedding block. We booked the hotel for two nights at the wedding block rate but needed an additional night. Hotel employee gave us the third night for the wedding block rate which was a pleasant surprise. Hotel is updated and clean. Rooms are small (king bed and pull out couch however, there is not any room to move around when couch is pulled out!). Sink area outside bathroom was tiny. The hotel did not have a fridge, which we needed. The clerk at the front desk was very helpful and hunted down a fridge for us, which we were not even charged for. Parking is free but seemed to be at a premium during check-in times! We also asked for late check-out and had no problems.

There is currently lots of road construction on both streets surrounding the hotel which is nothing against the hotel but makes coming and going a bit difficult.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott State College, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
LTS220,

Thank you for writing a review on TripAdvisor. It’s great to know we were able to accommodate your needs and provide a pleasant stay. Please come and stay with us again the next time you’re in Happy Valley.

Kind regards,
Patty Treaster, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed here for a conference and it was actually the perfect hotel for me. The hotel is modern, and the room I had held a king bed comfortably with a nice little area for the desk and a small couch. It had a really small balcony, but it was nice that it even had a balcony. The bathroom was good sized with decent water pressure. The best part is that when I needed a shuttle ride to the airport, management staff gave me a ride to the airport because their shuttle was tied up dealing with the conference I was attending. Now that's what I call service! If you are staying at the hotel, but need to visit the Penn State campus, the walk was not bad at all. It takes about 25 to 30 minutes to reach the campus and it's a nice walk with good sidewalks. All in all, a good way to get a little exercise and see the residential areas surrounding the campus.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott State College, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Rheesa,

Thank you for letting us know you had a pleasant stay with us at Courtyard. We’re happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel and experienced our friendly and accommodating staff. We hope you will come and stay with us again the next time you are visiting Penn State campus.

Best regards,
Patty Treaster, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear, Delaware
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I travel a lot for business and usually stay 5-6 nights a months in the Marriott chain hotels. Unfortunately I am only in the State College area once every 3 months. Just recently I stayed at this location and from past experience, I will choose no other location when in State College. The lobby is "state of the art" and very spectacular to look at as opposed to other Marriott locations. The staff is VERY courteous (Jackie and David were the best), the pool and workout rooms are enormous (as compared to other Marriott locations) and the rooms are very well kept. If you are staying in State College anytime in the near future, PLEASE choose this hotel and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott State College, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Frank R,

It’s great to hear from you on TripAdvisor and receive such a rave review about our hotel. I also appreciate your wonderful compliments about our staff and pointing out Jackie and David's exceptional service. I’ll make sure they receive a special commendation for their outstanding work. We hope other TripAdvisor readers will take your advice and choose our hotel when visiting State College. Please come and visit us again soon.

Best regards,
Patty Treaster, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed here during the arts festival so rates where high. The hotel was very nice, clean and seems to have been recently renovated. The lobby cafe looked nice but is pricey so we opted to eat else where. The location was very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott State College, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
MSRLK,

We are pleased to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant one. We are also glad to hear that you and your family attended our local arts festival and hope that all of you had a good time. Thank you for your thoughtful comments. We hope to have you stay with us again.

Have a great summer,

Patty Treaster, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott State College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott State College

Address: 1730 University Drive, State College, PA 16801
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott State College 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among State College hotels, Courtyard by Marriott State College is the ideal oasis on the road for all travelers. Featuring many modern touches, the Courtyard lobby and Bistro offers spaces to connect, unwind, and eat. Start your morning right at this State College hotel with breakfast and Starbucks, then stop back again at the end of the day for dinner and a cocktail. Stay connected in our lobby or Business Center featuring free Wi-Fi. Unwind in our indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center. Perfectly situated in Happy Valley, this State College hotel near Penn State University, Bryce Jordan Center and Beaver Stadium is close to many area businesses and attractions. Relax in our spacious guest rooms, featuring FREE High Speed Internet and Wi-Fi, a large well-lit work area and 32" LCD flat screen TV. Sleep comfortably in our custom bedding with thick mattresses and fluffy pillows. When choosing State College hotels, come see why Courtyard by Marriott State College hotel is a step above the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott State College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott State College Hotel State College
Courtyard State College
State College Marriott
State College Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott State College, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.