We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very close to Penn State” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn State College

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn State College to your Saves list
Residence Inn State College
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1555 University Drive, State College, PA 16801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in State College
East Coast of the U.S.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“very close to Penn State”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

clean and modern. Breakfast was decent. Would stay here again..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    27
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
29
13
1
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Longboat Key, Florida
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed in a room that had a separate bedroom suite with a sleeper sofa in the living room. Room was clean and comfortable. I wished the bathroom had access from the living room, but you have to walk into the bedroom. Also, the bathroom sink area is open to the bedroom so it makes it a bit inconvenient if you have someone needing to use it when you want to sleep. Full kitchen if needed. Free breakfast and free evening appetizers (and beer tap). Very convenient to restaurants which you can walk to. About 2-3 miles away from PSU.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn State College, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Hi marydonato,

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel! It was our pleasure to have you and your family stay with us. I’m so glad you had the opportunity to take advantage of our deluxe breakfast buffet and our Evening Social Reception. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back the next time your travels have you back in Happy Valley!

Take Care,

Shane Niman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Very outdated and dirty hotel. Mirrors had hand prints, bedside tables were sticky, and bathroom floor was sticky. Refrigerator was very laud, and made knocking sounds.
Bathroom had bugs; toilet leaked onto floor, and ran all night. Room smelled musty, pictures missing from walls, as well as decoration missing.

Pet friendly - means there is a dog barking down the hall while owners are away. Carpet is very dark to hide the pet stains as well. Water was cut off two days earlier, sink water ran milky white for awhile. Didn't try the ice.

Staff had 5 (five) employees taking up all breakfast items exactly at 9:00 AM as guests tried to eat, rushing everyone. Worst Marriott property I've ever stayed! Not even close.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn State College, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Thanks Wayne53449 for your review. We appreciate hearing from you and taking the time to share your comments. All feedback is valuable to us so that we can perfect our guests’ experiences. Thank you for bringing your concerns to my attention. I will be looking into this further. Your business is important to us and we look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,
Shane Niman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Cleanliness is the most important reason for us to stay at the Residence Inn. The hotel is the only one we found that has an outside cleaning/sanitation service for rooms that have had a pet guest. (Other hotels use their regular housekeeping staff.) We want to be in a room that has eliminated all possible signs of a previous pet. As well, we want the next guests to stay in the room we occupied with our dog to be clean.
Many hotels designate certain rooms specifically for guests with pets. We found that these hotel rooms have signs that pets have been there.
The Residence Inn has a slightly higher pet fee than other hotels but we will pay to be in a room as clean as those without pet guests.
This cleanliness is an asset to the high quality of this hotel. - Wonderful, efficient employees. Spacious, nicely designed and decorated rooms. Great breakfast buffet.
We have stayed here twice this past year and will do so on our next visit to State College.
MBL, KL & HL

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Very friendly hotel in an excellent location. Check in and room were fine breakfast was good.Hotel was slightly outdated.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, PA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

As a Marriott Gold Rewards member I have staying in quite a number of Marriotts. However, I have never stayed at a Residence Inn. Well, it certainly was different. I have to say the room was clean and neat but it appeared old. The rooms are suites with kitchenettes. The pull out bed was not made up. The sheets are paper thin. But all was bearable until we tried to go to sleep.
Apparently, you are allowed to have small pets. Well, the small dog in the room next to us was apparently VERY upset that its owners decided to leave him there while they went out. So the dog barked and cried constantly for hours!! We called down to the front desk a half a dozen times to see what they could do and everytime it was the same response, "There is nothing we can do". Its seems a bit ridiculous that they couldn't do anything to get the dog to be quiet. This went on until about midnight when the owners finally returned.
So let me just say this about that, I will NEVER stay at a Residence Inn again. They are just not for me. And God knows how many animals went to the bathroom on the floor or sofa in that place.
Stay at your own will:-)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barto, PA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel twice. My daughter is a Penn State student so we stayed here during her moving in. The hotel rooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable. Very spacious and would certainly accomodate someone for an extended stay. There is a full kitchen, a small living room area and the bedroom area. The first time we stayed the bedroom was separated from the living area by a wall, but the second time, there was no separation. The bathroom is quite small, however there is a separate vanity area outside that is a good size. Only problem is you can not get ready without waking everyon else up beacuse the light will shine into the bedroom area. The complimentary breakfast is fine for a quick bite. It offers the usual fare for hotel free breakfast, and does have some healthier options, like fresh fruit and yogurt. I would not hesitate to stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn State College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn State College

Address: 1555 University Drive, State College, PA 16801
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn State College 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated! Residence Inn State College all-suite hotel combines all the comforts of home with the conveniences of a hotel. Our State College hotel near Penn State University (PSU) and Downtown State College (1.5 Miles) will keep you close to all of the action, your own students and to the exciting Penn State University sports teams. Residence Inn State College hotel is in the heart of Happy Valley and close to many area businesses making your commute to work an easy one. As the only extended stay all-suite hotel in State College, what we have to offer is second to none! All of our spacious suites offer fully equipped kitchens, separate living area and FREE High Speed Internet. Start your day every morning with our complimentary deluxe breakfast buffet. Socialize with us Tues - Thurs at our free dinner buffet. Unwind in our Billiards Lounge, Indoor Pool, Whirlpool, Sport Court or Fitness Center. Among State College hotels, Residence Inn surpasses the rest, whether you're staying one night or thirty! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Residence Inn State College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
State College Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn State College, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.