We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, old fashioned rooms in convenient location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1040 North Atherton Street, State College, PA 16803   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in State College
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Clean, old fashioned rooms in convenient location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here for Parents' Weekend when all other hotels were booked, so we didn't know what to expect. This hotel is a 15 minute uphill walk to PSU's West Campus. It is a 2 story building. First floor doors open to the outside. Second floor rooms are accessed from a covered hallway. Our room had two double beds, TV with basic cable, free WiFi, a fridge & microwave. (Missed having a coffeemaker.) The bathroom was small with a wall mounted blow dryer, tub, shower & sink. It was well maintained & clean. Provided was bar soap & a small bottle of conditioning shampoo. Room decor was dark blue, navy, burgundy & white. The room has a wall mounted heater/AC unit which was a bit noisy. We had a few pillows of varying softness...1 for Papa Bear, 1 for Mama Bear & 1 that was just right. The mattress was adequate. If you are comfortable in modest settings, I recommend this hotel. It is well maintained & reasonably priced. Mr. Patel is up front with conditions for booking & cancellation policies, so pay attention. Restaurants are a short walk or quick ride. This is a very good 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    11
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
7
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Getting ourgranddaughter settled at Penn State. Last minute plans. This was the only hotel available for Saturday night. Hotel is older & our room was small but clean. Continental breakfast was sparse. Stayed at Days Inn on Sunday & that was 100 times better.

Ellyn M. Booth

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, NC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Spouse and I travelled through State College on our way to drop off and pick up our son from Camp Woodward. We stayed at the Sleep Inn across the street last weekend, and decided to stay here this weekend to save some money, $30. I will say we were a little scared when we pulled up....outside entrances on the 1st floor. We requested a 2nd floor room and were pleasantly accommodated by Mr. Patel. The place probably hasn't had the decor updated in years....wood paneling in the hallways, navy blue carpeting in the rooms....but I will say the place is spotless. Very large room with cathedral ceiling, micro fridge and microwave tv. Free WiFi. Old bathroom, but again very clean. King size bed and pillows are more comfortable than the Sleep Inn we were at across the street last week. Skip the breakfast....muffins and juice or coffee, and go to the Waffle restaurant up the street. will stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd floor room....cathedral ceilings and no car lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

I wish we'd spent the extra money to be right on campus, and skipped the sparse accommodations of this place. I guess everything is relative, so maybe the other folks who wrote reviews are not used to staying in nicer places. Next time, I'll spring for the Nittany Inn, Atherton Inn or Penn Stater. The hotel also mixed up our reservation, but did handle that appropriately and not charge us for their own mistake.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

This motel is very basic lodging. The room and bathroom were small, but I was impressed with the cleanliness. I was there on a weekday and it was also quite peaceful and quiet. I slept very well. It is only minutes from the PSU campus and is very reasonably priced. I do not know if they charge more during football season but I was charged $71 for two double beds. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

This place is perfect for an alumni weekend when you have been partying and need a bed to sleep in (even though the rates are very expensive as with everyone other hotel in State College). Its clean and basic. Don't expect anything special.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

Pluses: Inexpensive, located near campus, A/C and TV work well

Minuses: Don't expect plush carpeting or fancy bathroom.

Other: Get a second floor room so headlights from parkers don' shine in room, and second floor rooms have nice, high ceilings.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 1040 North Atherton Street, State College, PA 16803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn State College
State College Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.