We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprise! surprise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cozy Thai

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cozy Thai
454 E College Ave, State College, PA 16801
(814) 237-0521
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 202 Restaurants in State College
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Nyack, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“surprise! surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

First surprise, bring your own! Good thing our hotel was near by and we happened to have a bottle of wine standing by. Truth be told the hostess volunteered a near by bottle shop. Second surprise. A very knowledgeable waiter, named Nicholas. The menu was a little overwhelming supplemented by an additional menu. Nicholas gave us suggestions in a very comfortable, knowing way. We took many of his suggestions. We enjoyed the food and it was plentiful. Third surprise, the check. Very affordable. Great value. Clientele was a mix of College students, dates, and big groups. Decor is simple. Give it a go!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    24
    14
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Martinsburg, PA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Decent thai food, service just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We ate there a few months ago. The food was good. Portion size was okay. It seems to be run by college students and patronized by college students. While it may be okay to tell someone that small items, such as a sauce, is an additional charge, it does somewhat annoy me as it makes me feel like you are trying to nickel and dime me.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Thai food and fast service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Not only do we enjoy this place, it is a favorite with our kids too. One daughter always gets the Laad Na, though she also grazes off our plates. Potions are big- we usually end up taking some home for lunch the next day.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My favorite Thai restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I come here every time I visit State College. It is hands down my favorite Thai restaurant. I love Thai food and have been to many Thai restaurants, but Cozy Thai is still my favorite! The staff has always been friendly and the food always comes out in a timely manner. And it is ALWAYS delicious. I went for lunch for the first time the other day, and was blown away by their wonderful lunch specials! Hope I can come back again for lunch as my visits are usually for weekend dinners! Any time though, it is a great experience!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Still the best Thai in Central PA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I have been to Cozy Thai many times since it opened. At my two recent visits, the food has been particularly good. Everything seemed fresh and the flavors were pleasantly strong. The red curry is one of my favorites. Drunken noodles is always a good dish, a bit spicier than other noodle dishes, but not over the top.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cozy Thai also viewed

State College, PA
State College, PA
 

Been to Cozy Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cozy Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.