We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Seafood Buffet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nittany Lion Inn

Nittany Lion Inn
200 West Park Avenue, State College, PA 16803-3598
(814) 865-8590
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 213 Restaurants in State College
Price range: $18 - $30
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Buffet
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Buffet
Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Disappointing Seafood Buffet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had been to the Friday evening Seafood Buffet many years ago and were looking forward to a reprise. Unfortunately we were generally disappointed. The scallops were excellent and the bisque, as well, but we found very little in shellfish to recommend the buffet. There were some lackluster fish dishes but in general we found it to be ho-hum.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    21
    11
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wonderful Western Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I enjoyed several wonderful nights at the Nittany Lion Inn during the course of a convention. The rooms were first rate, the meals were excellent, and I got to see the Coach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“The best Lobster Bisque I ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I remember the food as very good, but what stood out in my mind (and still does) is their FAMOUS Lobster Bisque!! (Now I found the recipe since I don't live in SC anymore). I dream of this soup at night....so good. I have tried many locations' lobster bisque, and this one is still tops.

Service was attentive and staff was courteous.

Can you get that my review states you should try the Lobster Bisque?? :-)

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Lack luster lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

My aunt brought me here for a lunch one day in between her classes and mine, and I wasn't too impressed with the food. We ended up doing the buffet, and everything seemed like it was sitting out there for a long time, and they didn't refill the catering tables during the time we were there. I wasn't very impressed, especially with the reputation the Inn has for their quality.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyomissing, PA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Yumm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Reasonable prices, great food, buffets delicious. Service a little slow.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nittany Lion Inn also viewed

 

Been to Nittany Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nittany Lion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.