We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Done with Them” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Springfield Diner

Springfield Diner
720 Baltimore Pike, Springfield - Springfield Township, PA
(610) 338-0404
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Diner
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
West Berlin, New Jersey
1 review
“Done with Them”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

If you see a menu like a thick book having every kind of food you can think of, they do not make it fresh. It’s impossible to have that large of a selection, so we went to this diner for the last time. Sometimes you can have an off day, but three strikes and you’re out.

I ordered a Caesar salad for $8 and a small cup of soup for $4. I guess I should have gotten a “Special” for $12, but would have received a larger, more awful meal. The dressing was pink and vinegary with the cheese out of a shaker instead of freshly grated. I asked if they had anchovies and the waitress said it would be $3 extra.

My dad ordered beef stroganoff and the chunks of beef were rock hard forcing him to eat just the noodles. His wife’s $13 baked Virginia ham with pineapple was three see-through slices with that nasty neon sauce you get with sweet and sour pork at a Chinese restaurant.

When my son ordered a steak, he tried to substitute the onion rings it came with for fries. She said they couldn’t do that, but he could order a side of fries with it. We have always had an awkward time trying to order a meal there. I could continue with how we got burned with over pricing and their lousy attitude, but I hope you get the point. We’ve finally learned an expensive lesson: quantity does not equal quality.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    11
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Not good”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

I ate here after having a killer hang over. Me and my young girlfriend went here and the food was old and it totally blew. It's not worth the wait and I wanted to throw up from the food not the captain I drank last night

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“No good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Every Sunday me my brother go to breakfast after a good night out and we are trying to find a good dinner and this one was the worst. There is Long waits, the food sucks , drinks are horrible. Made my hang over worse.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Decent food - amazingly fast service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Offering standard dining fare on the side of Baltimore Pike just shy of I-476, the diner represents a good option when traversing that thoroughfare. Breakfasts of 3-egg omelettes were uninspiring but satisfying as were pancakes, sausage and home fries. Like most diners, unfortunately, a standard-sized concentrated orange juice goes for $3 and no water is offered. Tea consisted of the usual Lipton and one presumes the coffee was similarly unremarkable. The big standout was service - breakfast appeared shortly after it was ordered. Perhaps getting quick turnover on a busy Saturday morning was the inspiration. In short, an uncreative but not bad family meal option.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia PA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“3rd time is not a charm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I have eaten here 3 times and the food is OK. I've only tried a few things on the menu and never really had a problem with the food. It's just ok. I do, however, think that the people there are rude. You can just about get a smile from someone that seats you and I have had a miserable waitress every time that I have gone there. A hello would be nice from the person that seats you, geez! I feel that people who go here and talk about it and how much they love it just love that they give "big portions" there is more to a meal than just how much they pile on your plate. I would rather have a smaller portion of better food!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Springfield Diner also viewed

Springfield - Springfield Township, PA
Springfield - Springfield Township, PA
 
Springfield - Springfield Township, PA
 

Been to Springfield Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Springfield Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.