We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smokey” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Conference Center to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   215 Ramada Road, Somerset, PA 15501 (Formerly "Ramada Inn")   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Somerset
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Smokey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The room was nice and clean, but despite being in the non-smoking section, the hallways smelled horribly of cigarette smoke. The bathroom had no ventilation but was otherwise okay. The pool area; mostly the pool, is in much need of attention & repairs. Staff was friendly.

Room Tip: If you're sensitive to smoke, this is not the place to go. Parking was good and vending machines...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    53
    46
    29
    21
See reviews for
76
42
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel was certainly not what we were expecting! This property is located immediately off a toll plaza - not just down the road from it - practically on top of it. There are no painted lines anywhere to guide traffic from the central plaza that opens onto two streets and two hotel parking lots. It's very dangerous trying to navigate traffic when there are several cars or large trucks about and no lines or signs to help people coordinate their efforts onto or off of the beltway. Anyway, we arrived very late, had to park on the back side of the hotel near construction equipment because we were hauling a cargo trailer, and then finally got to the room. To make matters more interesting there were no elevators to our second room floor, so we had to haul several trips worth of family gear into the room via stairs. At first, very exhausted, glance the room seemed okay. It smelled a little musty and old, but we chalked it up to being an obviously dated property. We didn't turn on many lights since we arrived at almost 3 am. At that hour with two kids, a cat and a dog in tow almost anything seems okay. We collapsed for a few hours and woke to a disappointing breakfast. After waking enough to be really aware of our surroundings we pulled back the curtain to let the kids view the indoor color changing fountain that was noted on the website and found a truly disgusting surprise instead - the last guest's smelly, sweaty gym clothes. To avoid our toddler picking them up by accident I grabbed the nearest garbage can liner, picked up and tied off the nasty clothes and had my husband call the front desk since I was dry heaving too violently to call. Of course the front desk clerk was apologetic and stated the housekeeping department would be notified. As a courtesy our pet fee was waived, but that's really little solace considering we now have the knowledge that our room was left "cleaned" with someone else's dirty clothes and underthings from the time it was last occupied until we stayed there...and who knows how long that REALLY was?!?!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Cannot provide an evaluation, as we booked through cheaphotels.com and when we arrived there were no rooms available. Gentleman at desk was very helpful, but could not provide a room for the night. Still hoping to get a refund.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

If you plan on having an even here- don't! I had my reception here a year ago, and decided to write a review because one of my friends was going to have their wedding here and she deserved to know how horrible they are. For one, the room was supposed to be set up the day before by 11am, so we could put the centerpieces and such on the table. We arrived at noon and nothing was done! We had to put the tablecloths on ourselves and arrange the whole thing. The day of the wedding was a disaster. They set us up in the suite, but the suite was not cleaned at all. The bed was still undone with the sheets from the previous person and towels everywhere. Apparently they "forgot" to clean the room. Then they set us up in another room until the suite was finished and it was also disgusting. Our bridal party then went downstairs to wait for the reception to begin in the one meeting room. They lost our platter that I ordered for my party to give them something to munch on before the reception. The reception was supposed to start at 5pm. This time came and went....THEY COULD'T FIND THE KEYS TO THE RECEPTION ROOM. Mind you, it was in the tropical courtyard....I was furious! After we made our entrance after all of this, we cut the cake. The table was tucked in a corner where no one could see. Then we specifically told them that we didn't want homestyle serving at the head table, but the caterer told us that's what the hotel told them to do.....This was the worst experience ever!!! On top of that, we had many out of town guests and many of them complained to the front desk about the filthy rooms; I even saw some of them myself and I was soooo embarassed. For the almost $20,000 wedding, I felt cheated. I was going to take legal action, but after all of this, I couldn't deal with another headache, especially since I came from out of state to get married because all our friends and family lived in PA....I may possibly take action once we move back this summer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purcellville, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We spent a lot of time looking for a quality hotel in Somerset and somehow ended up booking a night in the exact type of hotel we were trying to avoid. It is smelly, damp and disgusting. There isn't a piece of this hotel that is quality. The ancient bathroom is permanently molded. The bed linens are terrible. The air conditioning doesn't remove any humidity, the entire room including the floor is damp. We paid $98 for this awful experience and had we had more time to make it to the wedding we were attending nearby, we would have left this dump.

Room Tip: Do not book at this hotel! Any other hotel would have to be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

yep, we drove 10 hours today, unpack and i'm sitting on the bed looking at tomorrow's ride and i look in the corner next to the bed and see an open beer bottle in the corner next to the bed. i thought gee if i had a curious 8 or 9 year old they would maybe put that in their mouth??? so i'm not sleeping in that bed.... the shower curtain is kind of gross. the room smells like old fried food.... the bed spreads are kind of from the 1970's... so are the drapes and curtains... there is no fridge. 1 bar of soap, no extra towels or wash clothes. oh yeah, good thing i like my husband a lot because the bathroom door doesn't shut.... eeeeeeeeeewwwwwwwwwww
i'm going to be contacting choicehotels tomorrow.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The best way to describe this early 70's hotel remodeled to make it look newer-- paying $60 to $70 a night it is worth it. If you have to pay more, you might want to keep looking elsewhere. We paid $98 and ended up a little disappointed.

We are not the most pickiest people in the world but we left this hotel feeling disappointed and not wanting to come back.

To be honest, as we left, we kept looking at the new hotel being built next door thinking Comfort Inn is going to struggle more once the new place opens.

The staff were very nice, helpful. We only wish the night clerk would have pointed out the Continential breakfast ended at 9AM. We arrived at 9:05AM and everything was totally packed away, nothing available but an, "I'm sorry we're closed."

Our room was not as pristine as another reviewer said his room was. Our room looked somewhat tastefully remodeled but the key ingredients of a hotel room -- the bed and TV were not new. We did not have a flat screen tv like the other reviewer did. It is not that important to us, but the bed is. If it was a newer bed it did not feel like it was of great quality. It actually felt like a well-used bed that was not the most comfortable. We both were very tired and sleeping on this bed did not help. We both tossed and turned all night long and were tired all the next day.

The final disappointment was discovering they only provided two smaller, not the greatest quality towels to dry off with after a shower. Now we understood why, when checking in, someone was at the counter requesting more towels.

We are the kind of people who try and find the best out of ever situation. Staying here was not the worst thing to ever happen in our travels... but the things we report here are the truth. This place is not as pretty as the photos make it look.

We aren't young people anymore and we kind of expect a little bit more for our money when we stay at a hotel. This place was a little disappointing. Not the end of the world, but we would recommend, if you have the time, keep looking for something better and a cheaper price, or at least newer where you feel you got your money's worth.

If you can't find something at Somerset, if heading east, go drive a little further to the next exit at Bedford, PA. There is a nice older Best Western there that at least has a really great sit down real breakfast included with your night stay, and they don't close early either.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Conference Center

Address: 215 Ramada Road, Somerset, PA 15501 (Formerly "Ramada Inn")
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Somerset
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Somerset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Conference Center
Quality Hotel Somerset
Quality Inn Somerset
Somerset Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.