We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ruined by Smoke” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   202 Harmon Street, PO Box 191, Somerset, PA 15501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Somerset
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charlottesville, VA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Ruined by Smoke”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Somehow we were put into a smoking room against our will. The room, as one would expect, smelled strongly of cigarette smoke. The comforters on the bed were dotted with nasty cigarette burns, creating an overall sense of the place being gross. The lobby had looked nice enough but the room was very unpleasant for being over $100 a night.

Maybe the non-smoking rooms are fantastic?

Good things going for the place are a fridge and microwave in the room, decent wifi speed, a gas station and a few fast food restaurants very close by. The staff at the front desk was nice.

Room Tip: For the love of all that is holy, don't let them assign you a smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britney M, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
We're so sorry to hear that your stay with us was ruined by smoke. As a guest you should never feel like you've been put in a room against your will. We're very sorry we did not have a non smoking room available to switch you too. We sincerely apologize for falling short of not only your standards but the standards we set for ourselves. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    59
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
62
34
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I had called ahead and made reservations for a room, very nice gal took my reservations, sure she was the one that checked us in also. Very nice room, clean, beds were comfortable, had a refrigerator and microwave. From our room we could see that big beautiful B & B up on that high hill. Only draw back was road construction coming in, although it was right off the Turnpike so didn't have to go very far. We ate down at the lounge for supper as we were tired from a long drive and didn't feel like driving around looking for a place to eat. The lounge was so so, kind of dark, ordered a glass of beer, and never have I had beer served in a wine glass!! The food was microwaved food, but that was fine with us, better than nothing.
Continental breakfast was good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britney M, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Comfort Inn. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed our rooms and our staff. Unfortunately, construction does complicate things a bit. Luckily we are only a short distance away from the exit and usually easy to find. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

A value for travelers. The staff was incredibly accommodating with our requests for our wedding, including storing flowers in their coolers, opening their bar on a Sunday night, etc. In general, they were very helpful and kind. Definitely went above and beyond. Comfortable, spacious rooms, too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britney M, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel! Guest service is our top priority and your kind words about our team truly inspire us. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Great clean room with microwave and fridge, nice staff and good location right off turnpike. Plenty of places to eat. Be sure to check out the Summit Diner. Had a delicious breakfast, good coffee and reasonable prices.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britney M, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We agree with you that we are a good place to stay in Somerset! As you pointed out we have great rooms, a great staff, and a great location. We're glad you enjoyed the Summit Diner, as it is a staff favorite, you can't go wrong with good family style cooking. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laramie, Wyoming
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

No complaints..easy to get to, nice staff, clean....stayed one night would stay again. Room was spacious, had a refrigerator and microwave. The only downside we had to have 2 doubles instead of a king since they don't allow pets in those rooms. But overall just fine! If you are leavingcearly in the morning like we did...there is a starbucks down the

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britney M, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share you experience at our Comfort Inn. Thank you for noticing our clean rooms and nice staff. Those things are very important to us here. And of course, you can't go wrong with Starbucks in the morning! If you travels ever bring you back to Somerset, we'd love to have you stay with us again! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkirk, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed two nights here while visiting Pittsburgh, white water rafting on the Ohiopyle, and going to the Flight 93 memorial. Perfectly situated for all three. Our room was clean and quiet. The breakfast area is unusually large compared to other hotels, and offered a decent selection. A very good value for your money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britney M, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on our hotel. We are conveniently located close to many area attractions and we are thrilled you got to explore and visit some of them. If your travels ever bring you back to Somerset, we'd love to have you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Very pleased with this Comfort Inn. Our room was comfortable, clean and included a microwave & refrigerator. We were traveling with our dog, and sometimes the rooms that are designated for pets are not as nice as non-pet rooms. This room was perfect. Even our dog seemed to notice how nice it was.
This hotel is close to the PA Turnpike and surrounded by plenty of places to eat. A great place for overnight stays or a sight-seeing visit.
My only complaint is the $35 daily pet fee. We have a well-behaved, 5 pound, non-shedding, hypo-allergenic toy poodle. The fee was a bit extreme.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britney M, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for your review of our property. We are glad to hear you found your pet friendly room perfect. We strive to meet all of our guests expectations, even our guests with fur and four legs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 202 Harmon Street, PO Box 191, Somerset, PA 15501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Somerset
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Somerset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to many area attractions such as the Seven Springs Ski Reort, Hidden Valley Resort, Great Allegheny Passage, Flight 93 Memorial, and Frank Lloyd Wright's Falling Water. All of our guest rooms are equipped with flat panel televisions, microwaves, and refrigerators. You will also find a relaxing lounge, a seasonal outdoor pool and a well equipped fitness center on our property. As a guest of our hotel you can enjoy amenities like a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, free WIFI internet access, and 24 hour coffee and tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Somerset
Holiday Inn Somerset
Somerset Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.