We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Historic Inn with wonderful views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Georgian Inn of Somerset

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Somerset
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Georgian Inn of Somerset
Save
You added The Georgian Inn of Somerset to your Saves list
800 Georgian Place Dr, Somerset, PA 15501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Somerset B&B and Inns
Columbus OH
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Charming Historic Inn with wonderful views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

We stayed for several nights in the Sally Zimmerman room. The Inn is pleasant and large yet warm. It is _old_ as other reviewers and the staff noted more than once. Upkeep seems to be an issue which makes the place seem less than spotless. Our room was very large overlooking the lake (and outlet center). The views in the sunroom at breakfast were amazing. When we arrived back both nights after 10pm all pub and restaurant activitiy had completely ceased. Staff was friendly and non-intrusive. the first morning, we were surprised that our room was cleaned, bed made and towels replaced in the time it took us to eat breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    16
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
6
35
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

My husband and I chose to stay at the inn because we were attending a wedding nearby. So really, if you MUST stay in Somerset, I think this is your only choice other than a motel 6. However, after paying aprx. $175.00 for one night and a crappy breakfast, I would have prefered $29.00 for the Motel 6.

When checking in, we went directly to our room and to the bathroom after a 2h drive from Pittsburgh, where we were greeting by a throng of flies, some dead ,but many buzzing. At least 10+ flies in our sunny bathroom and bedroom. My husband immediately began to swat at them, and we thought we had them all, untill we opened the blind more and there were another 10+ at the top of the window! ewww! When we went to the desk as we were on our way to the wedding, we were informed that "it's a 100 yr old house and they (the flies) just woke up, (as it was spring I guess)"...Well, I too live in a 100 yr old house in Pittsbugh, and I do not have 20 flies in my home...and further my husband and I have been to Central Amercian rainforests, Africa in tents, China and other rural B&Bs, and we had more flies combined in the room at the Inn than in all of those other locations.

But, be that is it may, we returned to the Inn, settled down to a peaceful night's sleep (albeit with our insect companions) only to realize the Inn was more of a local "upscale" restaurant/pub than a B&B. We chose to turn on the TV for some background noise to drown out the pub crowd but the tv reception was wavy. Yes wavy as if the TV signal was being brought in by bunny ears and aluminum foil. Although the room was historic, nothing could overcome our experence thus far.

We then got up for breakfast forgetting about the spring fwd time, and called down to apologize to receive a half-hearted "that's ok," follwed with a sarcastic "I wondered where you were." No mention tho in the room of --"don't forget, spring fwd! "

My husband decided to take a shower, something I simply could not stomach in that bathroom, only to be greeted by a pubic hair on the bottom of his shampoo bottle!! UGH!

Our breakfast consisted of sam's club, frozen fruit with freezer burn, a dead carnation on the table, and tea that would "have to be reheated b/c we were late"--way to make a guest feel welcome. The waffles were slightly better than eggo. But the worst came, when I went to use the guest ladies room off of the breakfast room. Apparently by 8am, no one cleaned up from last night's pub guests. The trash was overflowing, the sink's hot water did not come out, as in no water from that tap, cold only...how can that be santiary? There were paper towlels in the sink stopping it up and the soap was a dirty bar rather than a liquid pump.
Hence, $175 later, we traveled back to our 100 year old home, feeling like we needed a shower and a good night's rest.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights over the Easter weekend and had a thoroughly great time.

We stayed in the Sally Zimmerman room which is huge with grand, high ceilings, a huge king bed, nice decor and a Georgian-style bathroom with period features. It was very clean, comfortable and relaxing.

The staff was very friendly and welcoming and they made you feel like you had been staying with them for weeks. We loved the cosy but grand bar and the great wine and cocktail selection. The food was outstanding - homemade, adventurous dishes with plenty of old favourites too. The clientele was mainly local and very friendly so we had some great conversation of an evening. Tasty, filling breakfasts served in the conservatory again with lovely service.

The drinks are a little pricey but the ambiance and service made up for it. Don't expect lots of facilites in the room like a coffee maker, water, mini bar etc. - it really feels like a homely inn/B&B in that respect and suited us down to the ground.

We would heartily recommend this hotel!

  • Liked — Friendly, professional service, great food and drink
  • Disliked — The views and location in the town is a little less romantic than the hotel deserves.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuBois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2007

Inn at Georgian Place in Somerset, Pennsylania is an excellent location for weekend getaway to ski at Seven Springs and Hidden Valley. The cozy setting and excellent food is awesome, plus the service is fantastic!!

This would be fun for a romantic getaway too!!

Stay here just for fun-- it's a great value!!

  • Liked — service and food
  • Disliked — no elevator
  • Stayed January 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Georgian Inn of Somerset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Inn of Somerset

Address: 800 Georgian Place Dr, Somerset, PA 15501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Somerset
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Georgian Inn of Somerset is listed on the National Registor of Historic Places. Built as a private residence in 1915 by a prosperous coal and cattle baron, the mansion was designed for entertaining. The mansion has been restored to its original grandeur and opened in 2010 as The Georgian Inn of Somerset. We also offer afternoon tea, luncheon tours, fine and casual dining and tapas with wine pairings. Outdoor seating on the terrace is available, weather permitting. A tour of the property discloses the luxury accommodations in a number of rooms and suites. All rooms offer a private bath, cable television, WI-FI and a selected breakfast as part of each overnight stay. In addition, facilities are available for business meetings, weddings, bridal or baby showers, birthday parties, wedding anniversaries or any private party. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Georgian Place Hotel Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Georgian Inn of Somerset, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.