We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected surprise-Will be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Georgian Inn of Somerset

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Somerset
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Georgian Inn of Somerset
Save
You added The Georgian Inn of Somerset to your Saves list
800 Georgian Place Dr, Somerset, PA 15501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Somerset B&B and Inns
Toledo, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unexpected surprise-Will be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Returning to Ohio from the Outer Banks, we often pass the beautiful building on top of the hill wondering what it was. We stopped and were pleasantly surprised to find a 16 bedroom inn, formerly a private mansion built in 1915 currently listed on the National Register of Historic Places. We stayed in the D B Zimmerman suite ($175) which was well appointed and nice. Everything has been restored to it's original state. We watched the Kentucky Derby in the full service lounge with complementary mint juleps followed by a wonderful dinner. I had Filet Mignon ($31) and my wife had Cod ($20), both were well prepared. The owner Chuck and his staff were very attentive with excellent service. Complimentary breakfast of a vegetable omelet or french toast was served the next morning in the white tablecloth solarium. A wonderful stop-we will be back.

Room Tip: Less stairs to climb if you are on the second floor as elevators were not in most 1915 mansions. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgianInnSomerset, Public Relations Manager at The Georgian Inn of Somerset, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We are glad that you decided to stop by on your way back to Ohio! Our D.B. Zimmerman Suite is one of our most popular rooms. It is important to us that our guests have a relaxing experience. We are pleased that you took advantage of this by spending time in our 1915 Lounge. Many people enjoy the atmosphere of this room. We try our best to go above and beyond and we are glad that you have noticed. Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We are looking forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    16
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
6
35
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Georgian Inn was recommended to me by a colleague who lives in the area. Overall we were very happy and would recommend in kind with a few details pointed out. The house is a spectacular old home from the early 1900's, so with that in mind expect a few flaws, creaky floors and hard to adjust shower heads... BUT, I strongly suggest the owners invest in new mattresses and please, please use cotton percale sheets not the jersey fleece, I expect that in a dorm room not an elegant Inn. Very disappointing.
The once isolated home is now surrounded by busy commercial real estate with beyond ugly billboards from the nearby turnpike motels.The zoning department needs a kick in the pants for allowing such a mess to exist. Don't get me wrong, the Inn is very safe, just ignore the nearby surroundings and concentrate on the inside of the Inn.
Now for the food, no fault there. Excellent quality and very varied selections, even our vegetarian was well satisfied. Our servers at dinner and the beyond fabulous breakfast were both wonderful and attentive. The good parts definitely outweigh any minuses.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgianInnSomerset, Public Relations Manager at The Georgian Inn of Somerset, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are glad that you took your colleague's advice and gave us a try. Our goal is to provide our guests with a very comfortable and relaxing experience. From our gourmet breakfast down to the bed sheets, we make detail our number one priority. I can assure you that no bedding, including our mattresses, is older than 3 years old. We purposely replace our bedding more often than usual instead of over laundering. We are very excited that you had a great dining experience with us as well. We do our best to accommodate our guests including vegetarians, gluten free, etc. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Everything on the menu is good, my davorite is the sea bass! The in. Has an old english atmosphere which is very cozy. The staff is excellent and they are very polite! This is a great place to stay if you want to go skiing, only 20 minutes to seven springs! The food is pricey but worth every penny and the portions are good sizes

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgianInnSomerset, Public Relations Manager at The Georgian Inn of Somerset, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for considering us a gem of Somerset. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. Our Sea Bass is one of our popular dishes. I will be sure to tell our chef that it continues to be among the favorites! We always do our best to make our guests feel welcome and relaxed when they are with us. I am glad we reached that goal with you. Thank you for all of your compliments. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Went tubing at Seven Springs and wanted somewhere different to stay. Found Georgian Inn which is a pleasant 30 min drive from the resort but well worth it! High class service, clean rooms, friendly staff. We rented the Ralph Zimmerman suite and it was such a nice room! The whole place was very clean and smelled fresh. Complimentary breakfast was delicious! Dont spend a ton of money at Seven Springs to stay, come here and stay somewhere unique. Believe me, I am VERY picky as to where I stay and this place was awesome. Will plan on coming back and bringing family & friends.
Just an aside, we wanted somewhere to eat dinner and just wanted good comfort food. Went to Summit Diner and had a great meal!! All homemade food and VERY clean as well!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgianInnSomerset, Public Relations Manager at The Georgian Inn of Somerset, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We take pride in our attention to detail and providing great service and are very please that you noticed. The Ralph Zimmerman room is a great accommodation. We look forward to seeing you again! Thank you for all of your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We had the opportunity to stay at the Inn on a business trip and the company there uses the Georgian as their preferred vendor for their incoming business associates. I had the opportunity to go with my husband on this trip. I was delighted. The staff, the rooms, the food the ambiance... wow... just a delightful experiance all round. Such attentive people taking care of you there is even a greeting when you enter your room welcoming you by name. When we went to dinner our menu was personalized as well. Talk about makeing you feel so special. The food was fabulous and well worth it. Just a delight to the palet. We stayed for 3 nights and had an amazing breakfast each morning. All round it was a lovely quaint experiance that makes me want to return. Though there really is not to much to do in Somerset it was so much fun keeping my husband company in the evenings and exploring the contry side.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgianInnSomerset, Public Relations Manager at The Georgian Inn of Somerset, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments! We enjoyed having you and your husband as guests. It is our job as well as our pleasure to make our guests feel special and we are glad you noticed. Please come back and see us again! There are probably some roads still left unexplored!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

stayed for an overnight.
After a wonderful tea we visited the flight 93 memorial which was a very moving experience, came back did some shopping then enjoyed a lovely dinner.
The rooms have so much charm and are very comfortable the overnight stay was fab. I would reccomend if you are in the Somerset area or need a nice place for your anniversary or birthday or whatever, you should definitely consider the Georgian Inn

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgianInnSomerset, Public Relations Manager at The Georgian Inn of Somerset, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Its nice to hear warm words from our guests! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for recommending us and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Olmsted, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We were traveling and saw the billboard for the inn. We called and were thrilled to see they had a room available. From the moment you walk in, the experience was wonderful. The mansion feeling, the incredible dinner, the awesome rooms, loved the pillows and blankets, and the delicious breakfast. The owners happened to be there and their story of restoration was heartwarming. I would highly suggest this as a destination, f you are looking for a quick getaway.
Dana

Room Tip: Make sure you eat dinner onsite. Both our meals were exceptional!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgianInnSomerset, Public Relations Manager at The Georgian Inn of Somerset, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
We are so glad that you saw our bilboard and decided to stay with us! Its wonderful that you noticed our eye for detial in trying to make our guests feel welcome and relaxed. Now that you know where we are, please come back to visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Georgian Inn of Somerset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Inn of Somerset

Address: 800 Georgian Place Dr, Somerset, PA 15501
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Somerset
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Georgian Inn of Somerset is listed on the National Registor of Historic Places. Built as a private residence in 1915 by a prosperous coal and cattle baron, the mansion was designed for entertaining. The mansion has been restored to its original grandeur and opened in 2010 as The Georgian Inn of Somerset. We also offer afternoon tea, luncheon tours, fine and casual dining and tapas with wine pairings. Outdoor seating on the terrace is available, weather permitting. A tour of the property discloses the luxury accommodations in a number of rooms and suites. All rooms offer a private bath, cable television, WI-FI and a selected breakfast as part of each overnight stay. In addition, facilities are available for business meetings, weddings, bridal or baby showers, birthday parties, wedding anniversaries or any private party. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Georgian Place Hotel Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Georgian Inn of Somerset, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.