We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended, a very good place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Smethport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
905 West Main Street, Smethport, PA 16749   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Smethport B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended, a very good place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I usually approach B & Bs with some apprehension, but the Mansion Inn at Smethport PA is very good.

Jovanna and Ross are gracious hosts, who made me feel very much at ease as a guest, as you did with my fellow guests. The Mansion District Inn is an historically significant property and they have restored it sensitively. I would have no hesitation in recommending it to any friends.

I learned a lot, slept well and appreciated the hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
108
8
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lodi, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

If you are venturing to Smethport, PA, I would highly recommend this beautiful home as a great place to stay while visiting. Not only is this home wonderfully decorated from the 1800's but the hosts are most gracious and make you feel as if you at home. The presentation of our breakfast was better than most fine restaurants plus while we ate our host gave us a very nice overview of what it was like to live in that era. Even tho we only stayed one night, it was a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: I doubt there are any 'bad' rooms in this home --it depends on whether you want a 'singl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volant, PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We had never stayed at any bed & breakfast before, so my husband and I were not sure what to expect. We found an absolutely beautifully restored and cared for home where the accomodations couldn't have been nicer. Ross and Jovanna were tremendous hosts and ambassadors for the city of Smethport. The breakfast was better than anything you would find in a 5 star hotel. I can't imagine anyone being disappointed here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast. The Inn is so beautiful. We loved the many antique furnishings and decor. Jovanna and Ross made us feel right at home and were so interesting to listen to. Smethport is a must visit for anyone travelling along Route 6. It is a quaint village with such amazing old homes.
Very comfortable, delicious food and great company!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garfield Heights, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I try to make it to Smethport and Ross & Jovanna's Mansion District Bed & Breakfast every fall. Smethport is a very lovely little town and the hiking in the beautiful surrounding hills & mountains is fantastic! Staying at Ross & Jovanna's B&B is the perfect relaxing evening afterwards, they are both friendly, welcoming and make us feel at home. The rooms are large with antiques decorating every table and wall. The mansion is so beautifully decorated, it is like walking through a museum. The atmosphere is quite and the breakfasts every morning are a culinary delight. Highly recommended! Thanks, Jovanna and Ross.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

After a long grueling day we arrived at 8:45pm at the inn. Got settled quickly and walked down the street to a lovely Italian Bistro recommended by Jovanna. She and Ross couldn't have been more accommodating. The hose was immaculate. The rooms fabulous and bedding, furniture-- magnificent beyond description. The bathrooms some modern facilitate--walk in stone tile showers with massaging jets; the sinks modern colored glass bowls with state of the arts fixtures. Modern flat screen TVA. Gorgeous different woods in every room accompanied by fabulous Persian-type area rugs and beautiful decor in every room. The next morning Ross and Jovanna met us in the dining room in white chef jackets and introduced to every course and presented us with five amazing home made servings. Afterwards we were treated to a lovely tour of the unoccupied suites. Wonderful!! We were thrilled to tour the Kinzua viaduct--what a story there; the Allegheny Forest and Eldred World Warll War Museum. Don't miss it!! Cthis little town and museum rivals any we've seen as far as content. The director, Steve gave us a fabulous tour. Believe me, we will return to The Mansion District Inn again! Thank you Jovanna and Ross!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Jovanna and Ros are the most gracious and hospitable hosts we have ever encountered on our many B&B experiences. Throughout our two night stay their personalized care and service was outstanding as were the incredible breakfasts they prepared. The Mansion Inn is a very impressive B&B, unique in furnishings and history. The very pleasant and active canary cage is so typical of this aspect of the Inn. The Porters also went above and beyond in providing assistance and suggestions on our day trip stops and dining choices in the "Wilds". The only negative we encountered was the noise from local traffic which affected our sleep in the corner room.

Room Tip: Room on the Rt 6 side gets traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 905 West Main Street, Smethport, PA 16749
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Smethport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Smethport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion District Inn Suites Bed & Breakfast is situated in the heart of historic Smethport, PA's Mansion District; deep in the Pennsylvania Wilds. Experience exquisite Victorian opulence in the magnificent 1891 Hamlin-McCandless mansion. Enjoy your gourmet breakfast beside the fireplace in the spectacular Golden Oak dining room. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.