We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skytop Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Skytop Lodge to your Saves list
Skytop Lodge
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   One Skytop, Skytop, PA 18357-1099   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skytop
Morristown, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

It's A great place for families. The staff is amazing and attentive. The activities are plentiful, Skiing,sleding,ice skating,ect. they even have a nice game room with mini golf to keep kids occupied if the weather turns on you. This is definitely a family place and that brings me to my only con. Although its not directly the hotels fault ,even though I had my own kids age (16) and (6), some parents just let there kids cry and scream and run in the hallways at all hours. Other than that the place is awsome,the wait staff get to know you and have your drink waiting for you as you walk into the dinning room. The rest of the staff goes above and beyond. You wont regret your trip to this outstanding Lodge.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    215
    74
    63
    59
See reviews for
334
237
2
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
malverne, ny
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

Just had a great 2 day escape from hectic life with 2 young kids at Skytop Lodge. My wife and I had never gone on a getaway for skiing and other snow sports until now, Skytop Lodge has everything to offer... Skiing, snowshoeing, skating, sledding, and even tobogganing( when it is running)...
The rooms were beautiful, meals were great, and the views amazing!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

Our yacht club group spent the weekend at Skytop enjoying many winter activities including cross country skiing, ice skating, tobaggan shoot (across the lake) dog sledding and wintery walks. The staff is extremely professional, check in & out was a breeze, the restaurant buffets were very varied and delicious. Restaurant staff were attentive without being overbearing. Their band had everyone dancing until 11pm with a fun processional conga type line around the hotel! Our group ranged in age from 8 to 70 years old. The indoor ice rink has plenty of skates to rent. Many in our group went dog sledding and had a wonderful time. This is the only activity that had a small charge. Most people who skiied brought their own equipment. The large indoor pool is clean and the gift shop sold bathing suits for those who needed them. There are two pool tables, ping pong table, mini golf and video games in the recreation area. The rooms were clean and beds were very comfortable. We had a king bed, two night tables, armoire with tv, desk & chair and comfortable seating chair. Our bathroom was a bit small but clean and lots of towels available. Iron,ironing board and hair dryer were provided. We would definately go again next year.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

I feel badly saying negative things about this resort as it does seem to have much going for it and so many others rave about it. But I rely on TripAdvisor reviews and hope my experience helps others. We spent three post-Christmas nights here with extended family for my mom's birthday.

First the positives:
1. Excellent dining - well prepared food, innovative choices, pleasant service
2. Lovely rooms - spacious and comfortable
3. Pretty public spaces - the lobby is cavernous with several comfortable seating areas for families and friends to gather
4. Helpful and pleasant staff

Now the negatives:
1. "All-inclusive" is not an accurate way to describe this resort. Most activities cost extra, and are quite expensive. Example - dog sledding $60 per person, skeet shooting - $50 p.p. etc. etc. Even a tour of the sled dog kennels or skate rentals cost money.
2. Winter activities are highly weather dependent so no dog sledding (not enough snow), no tobagganing (first too much snow, then too warm), no skeet shooting (too windy) leaving little else to do during the day.
3. Too few planned indoor activities in the winter. Since so many activities were canceled while we were there, it would have been nice to have had a few impromptu indoor activities such as a board game tournament, scrabble, a talk by the on-staff naturalist, extra exercise classesetc. etc. Instead, there was very little to do between meals.
4. "Extras" were overpriced. Rollaway cot - $45 nightly (not even highend hotels charge that), newspapers were available over the cover price, wine at $9-10 a glass with meals, Wi-fi -$10 daily. Some simple things I felt should be available all the time - like hot cocoa, coffee, tea in the lobby when it is 20 degrees outdoors - were offered only from 4-5 p.m. daily so there were enormous lines.

Given the prices charged, I really felt that more should be included at this "all-inclusive" resort.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phila pa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

we have been at skytop the past five presidents weekends young son has tons of fun pool is great ice rink is great food is very good sevice is great wine list is nice and get friendly with them and tip and you can byo toboggan is fun sled area to be changed next year hope it is a little better and open more hours the saturday night dance could not be more 'corny' and tons of fun son likes the 'milkshake of the day' in the downstairs 'deli' area ski slope is not for jean claude killey (sp?) it is fine for the beginner and my son dollar value is very high the people working there are very nice paddle tennis is fun they do need to refresh the spa area all in all a fun great beautiful and cost effective vacation

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountainside, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

Could not have asked for a more perfect environment to catch up with Family and relax. Every need we had was answered by the staff. Golf was excellent, hiking trails were terrific and the colors unbelievable. The food was outstanding and the service was very attentive and in a family atmosphere. There was an activity for every age that kept everyone occupied. Fabulous time was had by all. This will be a definite repeat for all of us.
Thank you Skytop.

Jim M.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

The Skytop experience is beyond compare!! The physical setting in breathtaking in any season and the amenities and activities provide something for everyone! We have made many trips to Skytop over the years. Our kids were young when we first starting visiting and they have wonderful fond memories of the activities staff helping them to learn to ski and ice skate. My husband and I often come to Skytop for a welcome retreat from our hectic lives. We always know that the food, accommodations and service will be consistently excellent. The atmosphere is relaxed and unpretentious and we can chose to hike, golf, swim, boat, fish, skate, ski, climb a rock wall...or cozy up on the back porch with a good book and enjoy the idyllic mountain scenery and beautifully kept grounds. My husband says that as soon as we cross the bridge over Skytop Lake, he can feel his stress floating away.
Therefore, it was never any question that we would host a recent family reunion at Skytop. We loved the chance to introduce the next generation to the Skytop experience. Our reunion was large and the planning and execution of all aspects of the reunion weekend were seamless thanks to the wonderfully capable and caring staff. All of our needs (rooms, meals, celebrations etc) were met beyond our expectations and a great time was had by one and all.
If you haven't experienced all that is Skytop....you need to ....TODAY!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Skytop Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skytop Lodge

Address: One Skytop, Skytop, PA 18357-1099
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Skytop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skytop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Skytop Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naturally InspiredExperience the ultimate retreat by visiting one of the most esteemed lodges in the country—Skytop. This grand historic estate features the very best in accommodations, fine dining and limitless recreation including the new Adventure Center at Skytop.You and your family can explore 5,500 pristine acres of inspiring natural beauty while enjoying a range of seasonal activities. Choose from the adventurous—like clay shooting and downhill skiing—to the serene—like nature hikes and full spa services. No matter your age, personality or desire, Skytop Lodge can make your next trip an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Skytop Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skytop Hotel Skytop
Skytop Resort All Inclusive
Resort Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge Skytop

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skytop Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.