We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard with Potential” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Justin's Carriage House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Justin's Carriage House
3911 Skippack Pike, Skippack, PA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 27 Restaurants in Skippack
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Standard with Potential”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Justin's has a great bar and wine selection. The menu changes periodically but never anything drastic. They do staple menu items well but it feels like they could do more with a little bit of creativity wiht new items.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    5
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norristown
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Don't order fish”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

My husband had salmon, I had tilapia. Both were disappointing, especially the tilapia. It was bland and tasteless, like someone had done nothing but just throw it plain into the oven. It was supposed to be "crab encrusted," but I think the chef hasn't got a clue of what "encrusted means. It had some (plain and tasteless) morsel so crab meat (it may have been canned) plopped on top. The quinoa side dish as equally bland. Caesar side salads were acceptable.

Also, the carpets were filthy and the main dining room in need of a face lift, as it is old, dusty, and faded.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Live Entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

You can tell it's going to be fun-before you even get to the lush beautiful outside patio- the music is hopping and the crowd enthusiastic and fun!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Best food I've had in a long time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Tonight was our first visit to Justin's Carriage house and it will not be our last. Our entrees were very tasty; Steamer pot and the Black and Blue steak are the two entrees we ordered. I think they were very generous portions and very reasonably priced. Service was very pleasant and prompt and we told our server to send our praises to the kitchen. We will return sooner than later.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skippack, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Bad and worse”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I have been here three times. Once with friends for appetizers, once with the family and once just myself and the wife. The first was not too bad as we just had apps and drinks. The second was pretty bad to the point that we went back once more thinking it may have just been a bad experience.
The whole place still looks and smells like the old smoke filled bar it used to be. The decor, floors, walls, tables and all are very outdated. The food was not good at all.
If you are going out for a few cocktails or beers with some buddies then this is not too bad. For a meal skip it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Justin's Carriage House also viewed

 

Been to Justin's Carriage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Justin's Carriage House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.