We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was downright lied too.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Walnut Bottom Road, Shippensburg, PA 17257 (Formerly AmeriHost Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Shippensburg
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“I was downright lied too.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I don't see any dates on these reviews listed but I know for a fact what has been said here wasn't the case when I stayed there on 3/30/2014. I deliberately chose this place because they advertised and offered a sauna, a hot tub and a pool. The pictures of this BW look great on the internet. The pool is not near as big as it looks, the whirlpool was broken, and looked like it had been for some time. I was told they didn't know when it would be fixed. When I entered my room, a two-bed room, there was one chair to sit on. I called and asked the girl at the desk why there wasn't another chair in the room. She said each room only had one chair. The chair was not a computer chair but a table chair, not even comfortable. I said where am I supposed to sit? She didn't know that's the way all the rooms were with one chair. I asked if she could get me another one and was told emphatically only one chair per room. The next day as I was walking the hall to go pay my bill, the ladies were cleaning right next to my room....and several other doors were open down the hallway. Every room I looked at had two chairs in the room. The girl at the front desk literally lied to me about the chair. I am not impressed with this place, the rooms aren't nothing fancy. I would have to be hard pressed to go back here. I asked them why they don't tell people on the internet when their pools etc. aren't functioning. I always choose my hotels by the accommodation's that are appealing to me and my needs. Not to let people know the amenities aren't available at the moment is not good for business.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
I am very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We take great pride in our property and our staff. I do hope you will give us another chance in the future. Many of our guests have been pleased with our hotel as noted in the reviews. It is only through feedback such as yours that we can improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests. I appreciate you taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor.

Thank you,
Scott W,
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    53
    29
    19
    15
See reviews for
80
61
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This was one of the best hotel I have stayed in Shippensburg. Great pool with hot tub. Great full hot breakfast with superb breakfast staff. Super guest service. Rooms were clean and comfortable. They even helped me after checkout, which not too many hotel believe in now a days.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post these comments about our hotel. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and thank you for the kind words you've shared about your experience. I will be sure to share these comments with my team. We look forward to seeing you again when you're in the Shippensburg area.

Very Respectfully,
Scott W,
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This BW meets all expectations that BW offers. We choose BW as they welcome 4 legged pals. There is a good clean area to walk the dog on the perimeter of the hotel. The pool and hot tub are always in top shape and located in a wonderful vaulted room with large windows. The BW breakfast offered is tasty, with good ingredients and well presented. The room is kept very tidy by a pleasant staff member. We feel as if we are coming home when we stay at a BW as certain attributes are a common theme.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post these comments about our hotel. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and thank you for the kind words you've shared about your experience. I will be sure to share these comments with my team. We look forward to seeing you again when you're in the Shippensburg area.

Very Respectfully,
Scott W,
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

In recent years, I've stayed at a number of Best Western hotels along the East coast, and the Best Western in Shippensburg was one of the top two. The rooms were clean, the staff was very helpful and polite, both at check-in and check-out, at times going out of their way, for example, to help us find milk for the baby. And the woman who maintained the breakfast room was also helpful to us and we could see that she displayed the same pleasant helpful attitude to all other guests as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post these comments about our hotel. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and thank you for the kind words you've shared about our staff. I will be sure to share these comments with my team. We look forward to seeing you again when you're in the Shippensburg area.

Very Respectfully,
Scott W,
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandon, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

The front desk was very helpful. The breakfast was generous with enough seats to accommodate many people. Close to town and the college. We did not use the pool or fitness center. Several stores nearby if you forgot anything; several restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post these comments about our hotel. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and thank you for the kind words you've shared about our staff. I will be sure to share these comments with my team. We look forward to seeing you again when you're in the Shippensburg area.

Very Respectfully,
Scott W,
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I was in a trip road with my family. I was so tired to continue driving and I stopped in this exit. The worker at the front desk was very helpful. I personally recommend this hotel, very clean. The w staff were courteous. The breakfast was good and the best feature, the indoor pool.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post these comments about our hotel. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and thank you for the kind words you've shared about our staff. I will be sure to share these comments with my team. We look forward to seeing you again when you're in the Shippensburg area.

Very Respectfully,
Scott W,
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We found this hotel very good value for Best Western and it boasts the best indoor pool in the area. We agree, its nice and situated off the lobby of the hotel.

Room was nicely outfitted with wall mounted television, large armoire, fridge and microwave. The bathroom was a little small, but the wash sink was outside the bathroom and more functional.

Breakfast bar is at the rear of the main floor and there are not signs indicating where it is located, you have to inquire at the desk. For this reason, 24 hr coffee not available, (which would be nice after a long drive) In room coffee is just that and can't compare with perked coffee usually provided in the lobby of most places.

The check in staff was one girl who was very helpful on checkin and courteous to all considering, she was alone and had numerous people checking in.

I would recommend this hotel for overnight. Not many outside restaurants in Shippensburg that we could see and the main bar in town was full so we had to opt for pizza take out.

Good place for overnight....honoured coupon for discounted rate

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post these comments about our hotel. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and thank you for the kind words you've shared about our staff. I will be sure to share these comments with my team. We look forward to seeing you again when you're in the Shippensburg area.

Very Respectfully,
Scott W, Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel

Address: 125 Walnut Bottom Road, Shippensburg, PA 17257 (Formerly AmeriHost Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Shippensburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Shippensburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shippensburg
Shippensburg Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.