We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have to improve to be disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Walnut Bottom Road, Shippensburg, PA 17257 (Formerly AmeriHost Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Shippensburg
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Would have to improve to be disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel was, in a word, unpleasant. Our room was dirty. There was hair and dust on the giant Jacuzzi that occupied a large portion of the room's floor space. The carpet had numerous cigarette burns, as did the bathtub. The bathroom was minuscule -- I'd guess no more than 16 square feet of space. Because of the small floor area, the sink had to be located outside the bathroom, in the room's sleeping area, but this meant that someone washing their hands in the middle of the night was guaranteed to disturb the sleep of other occupants.

The furniture looked like something purchased at a yard sale. Overall, the room, and the hotel itself, had a tired, worn, spirit-crushing atmosphere.

Our room, which was described as a "suite" on the hotel's website, had a "sitting area" consisting of a small wooden table with rickety legs and two wooden straight chairs. The balcony, another of the room's touted features, opened onto the hotel's indoor pool, meaning the echoing sound of children playing was clearly audible.

There were a couple of things I did like about the hotel. First, the bed was quite comfortable. Second, the hotel is located close to I-81, an advantage if you happen to be travelling on that highway.

Breakfast is included in the room's price. If you have the misfortune of staying in the hotel, I recommend that during breakfast you stick to the pre-packaged breakfast items, such as cereal or yogurt in containers. Anything cooked, such as the eggs, will be unpalatable.

Unless you have a good reason to stay in Shippensburg specifically, I would recommend that you stay instead in Chambersburg, only 15 minutes away on I-81. Chambersburg, being a larger town, has a much better selection of hotels.

I've never stayed at a Best Western hotel before. I have no idea if they are all like this one, but if I have any choice at all, I won't be staying at another anytime soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty W, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We were sorry to hear that your stay with us was an unpleasant one. We take every review and criticism very seriously. We will be working through the issues that you experienced during your stay and correcting them as best we can. We would like to invite you back to our hotel if you are ever in the area again. The staff and I would greatly appreciate a second shot at your satisfaction. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    72
    37
    25
    22
See reviews for
107
77
16
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We've stayed here several times now, and each visit has been consistently great. We have stayed in mostly the King rooms. Some were very recently updated, all had flat screen tvs and newer bedding. Very clean, quiet. The best part has been the price. We've just recently paid (1/13 and 2/13) only $65 (this was a AAA rate and included tax) for a Friday and Saturday night stay. Where can you stay anywhere for that price in a clean, safe hotel. There's a beautiful and well-kept pool and spa. Breakfast in the morning includes eggs, sausage, waffles, etcetera and is actually quite good. If you're in this area, stay at this hotel. It's at least $20 to $30 cheaper than the BW in nearby Chambersburg or Carlisle.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty W, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We always appreciate hearing that we did a good job. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our many amenities at our hotel. We can't wait to see you again. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardners, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stayed at the Best western last night and it was wonserful. Great service and beautiful clean and fresh smelling rooms. I enjoyed my stay very much for it only being one night. I will be comeing back to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty W, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that your next visit is as pleasant as your last. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shippensburg
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Easy to get to and nice place to stay at. Would definitely go back.The woman who checked us in was polite and helpful to find a place to eat. he room was clean and well appointed with amenities like a microwave, and free internet

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty W, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay as well as the many amenities that our hotel offers. Please come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Front desk was slow at check in. Rooms were adequate. Walls are thin so you can hear everything from the other rooms and hallways. Breakfast was nice, eggs, fruit, waffles, cereal and coffee and starts at 6 a.m.
Noticed mouse/rat poison traps outside of doors. Didn't see anything inside.
They have smoking rooms on the 2nd floor and the hallways smell. First floor was fine no smell.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty W, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel as this is the best souce for guest feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our deluxe continental breakfast. However, we apologize that your stay was disrupted by certain issues. I will be sharing your feedback with my staff so that together we can work to correct these problems. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The good - they have a small indoor pool and a nice hot tub - very relaxing after a hard day. The bad - the room was dirty: hair in the tub, lots of dust bunnies along the walls, stained coverlet on the bed, and a ripped curtain. The hotel could use some major cleaning. Also, at every turn there is a huge tip jar or a tip envelope which I found annoying. There was no way I was going to tip the cleaning crew! The desk staff was verty nice and admitted they were having problems with employees that don't want to clean - so why not let them go and get folks that can do their job?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I will be sharing your comments with the staff immediately. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our indoor pool and that the front desk staff was courteous to you. We apologize for our room's cleanliness not being up to standard at the time of your stay. We will work hard to ensure that we improve in these areas. Please do not hesistate to give us another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shippensburg
1.7 mi away
Shippen Place Hotel
Shippen Place Hotel
#1 of 6 in Shippensburg
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
8.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
#6 of 16 in Chambersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
11.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chambersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#12 of 16 in Chambersburg
3.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
13.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chambersburg
13.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Chambersburg
Hampton Inn Chambersburg
#1 of 16 in Chambersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel

Address: 125 Walnut Bottom Road, Shippensburg, PA 17257 (Formerly AmeriHost Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Shippensburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Shippensburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shippensburg
Shippensburg Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.