We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Walnut Bottom Road, Shippensburg, PA 17257 (Formerly AmeriHost Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Shippensburg
Lake Montezuma, Arizona
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Clean and Quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Found the motel easily about 1/4 mile off I-81 so it was away from the major interstate and quieter than many others. The woman who checked us in was polite and helpful to find a place to eat. There was also a swimming pool and whirlpool available. The room was clean and well appointed with amenities like a microwave, and free internet (which seems to be a standard now.) Although we did not have a table to use as a dining table (we ordered in), I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    45
    24
    15
    15
See reviews for
68
55
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NH
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Great breakfast because of good folks taking care and managing the place. Prices changed in less than three weeks in every catagory I looked at and we stayed in a lesser room for a few dollars more on this trip. A touch aggravating and how making up two doubles is cheaper for them than one king or queen I will never understand. Second stay had some trash under the bed stand lip and a puddle between the toilet and bath tub, indicating a pretty superficial cleaning, and the first stay had an inoperable alarm/radio. But everything else was good. Cooling/heating unit was quieter than most in both rooms as weree the small fridge. Beds were comfortable, pillows a bit wanting. Off the highway by a mile plus, and this helps this location be a bit quieter. Still easy to find and get in/out. Noticed another guest had a hard time extending for an hour to acccomodate changing time for a wake. The managemnet excuse was lame and this was a mistake on their part, especially on a holiday weekend. Probably wouldn't stay if I needed flexibility.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tillson ny
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed the night of 11/2/12 and was charged 5 times for the room. Almost 3 weeks later still not resolved. Apparently this has happened before, see November and July comments below. Irresponsible manager leaves it to front desk staff to handle irate customers. He does not return calls. I am letting everyone at Shippensburg Univ know not to use this hotel. Luckily, my credit card company is helping me out. No help from these scoundrels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak City, North Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed one night and hotel charged my card for 4 nights. I have called every day to get my money refunded. Manager will not return my calls. Front desk employees told me that I wasn't the only one overcharged. I even called the main customer service line and no one seems to be able to help. Don't let the cheap rates fool you into staying at this hotel. Just multiply that cheap rate by 4 or 5 nights. Ended up being the most expensive hotel I stay at during my travels.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

this botel is used for US Express truck drivers.i am staying with my husband on this trip.the is one of the better hotels i have stayed at since he has been on the road.indoor pool area very clean nice staff.the breakfast is fab. i would stay here for family vacation if i had to.very very very pleased

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here Saturday night for Parents' Weekend at Shippensburg University. We have stayed here before, but the housekeeping this time seemed below par. There was a huge clump of hair in the shower drain and a used washcloth over the shower curtain rod that was left from the previous customer that stayed in the room.

The bed is comfortable, but sleeping was a little difficult as the air conditioning is extremely noisy.

The breakfast buffet is much better than it used to be. It's been moved to a more spacious area and has a bigger selection of breakfast items.

The front desk staff of the hotel is very pleasant and check-in and check-out was quick and efficient.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel

Address: 125 Walnut Bottom Road, Shippensburg, PA 17257 (Formerly AmeriHost Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Shippensburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Shippensburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shippensburg
Shippensburg Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.