We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quintuple Charge” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Walnut Bottom Road, Shippensburg, PA 17257 (Formerly AmeriHost Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Shippensburg
tillson ny
1 review
“Quintuple Charge”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed the night of 11/2/12 and was charged 5 times for the room. Almost 3 weeks later still not resolved. Apparently this has happened before, see November and July comments below. Irresponsible manager leaves it to front desk staff to handle irate customers. He does not return calls. I am letting everyone at Shippensburg Univ know not to use this hotel. Luckily, my credit card company is helping me out. No help from these scoundrels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    69
    37
    23
    22
See reviews for
104
75
16
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak City, North Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed one night and hotel charged my card for 4 nights. I have called every day to get my money refunded. Manager will not return my calls. Front desk employees told me that I wasn't the only one overcharged. I even called the main customer service line and no one seems to be able to help. Don't let the cheap rates fool you into staying at this hotel. Just multiply that cheap rate by 4 or 5 nights. Ended up being the most expensive hotel I stay at during my travels.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

this botel is used for US Express truck drivers.i am staying with my husband on this trip.the is one of the better hotels i have stayed at since he has been on the road.indoor pool area very clean nice staff.the breakfast is fab. i would stay here for family vacation if i had to.very very very pleased

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here Saturday night for Parents' Weekend at Shippensburg University. We have stayed here before, but the housekeeping this time seemed below par. There was a huge clump of hair in the shower drain and a used washcloth over the shower curtain rod that was left from the previous customer that stayed in the room.

The bed is comfortable, but sleeping was a little difficult as the air conditioning is extremely noisy.

The breakfast buffet is much better than it used to be. It's been moved to a more spacious area and has a bigger selection of breakfast items.

The front desk staff of the hotel is very pleasant and check-in and check-out was quick and efficient.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryson City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
214 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Arrived late evening after 9 hrs on the road. Front desk person had almost no clue of how to greet or assist with check in. (She stated she was filling in for someone who worked there?, Still don't know what that meant). Hopefully, a couple of payment issues will be handled by a knowledgeable person upon our departure. Had a smoke free room. Never can get a "smoke free" room.. It was adequate for a stopover on a budget. Although, I did pay too much. I would suggest traveling a bit further, even if tired, to locate a bbetter spot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We like to stop at the Best Western when traveling on 81. Tried to stop a few weeks ago on our way north and they were booked. We were disappointed but were able to stop on the return trip. They have a great pool and hot tub which we enjoyed. It is a older place but they keep it very clean. Continental breakfast is very good too with lots of choices. Like to eat at the Toll House Restaurant in town too instead of fast food so it makes a great stop.

Room Tip: Its away from the highway so you miss all the traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shippensburg
1.7 mi away
Shippen Place Hotel
Shippen Place Hotel
#1 of 4 in Shippensburg
4.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
8.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
#6 of 16 in Chambersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
11.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chambersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#12 of 16 in Chambersburg
3.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Chambersburg
Hampton Inn Chambersburg
#1 of 16 in Chambersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
11.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chambersburg
Candlewood Suites Chambersburg
#5 of 16 in Chambersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel

Address: 125 Walnut Bottom Road, Shippensburg, PA 17257 (Formerly AmeriHost Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Shippensburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Shippensburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shippensburg
Shippensburg Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.