We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Walnut Bottom Road, Shippensburg, PA 17257 (Formerly AmeriHost Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Shippensburg
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    38
    21
    12
    9
See reviews for
55
48
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oak City, North Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed one night and hotel charged my card for 4 nights. I have called every day to get my money refunded. Manager will not return my calls. Front desk employees told me that I wasn't the only one overcharged. I even called the main customer service line and no one seems to be able to help. Don't let the cheap rates fool you into staying at this hotel. Just multiply that cheap rate by 4 or 5 nights. Ended up being the most expensive hotel I stay at during my travels.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

this botel is used for US Express truck drivers.i am staying with my husband on this trip.the is one of the better hotels i have stayed at since he has been on the road.indoor pool area very clean nice staff.the breakfast is fab. i would stay here for family vacation if i had to.very very very pleased

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here Saturday night for Parents' Weekend at Shippensburg University. We have stayed here before, but the housekeeping this time seemed below par. There was a huge clump of hair in the shower drain and a used washcloth over the shower curtain rod that was left from the previous customer that stayed in the room.

The bed is comfortable, but sleeping was a little difficult as the air conditioning is extremely noisy.

The breakfast buffet is much better than it used to be. It's been moved to a more spacious area and has a bigger selection of breakfast items.

The front desk staff of the hotel is very pleasant and check-in and check-out was quick and efficient.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryson City, North Carolina
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Arrived late evening after 9 hrs on the road. Front desk person had almost no clue of how to greet or assist with check in. (She stated she was filling in for someone who worked there?, Still don't know what that meant). Hopefully, a couple of payment issues will be handled by a knowledgeable person upon our departure. Had a smoke free room. Never can get a "smoke free" room.. It was adequate for a stopover on a budget. Although, I did pay too much. I would suggest traveling a bit further, even if tired, to locate a bbetter spot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We like to stop at the Best Western when traveling on 81. Tried to stop a few weeks ago on our way north and they were booked. We were disappointed but were able to stop on the return trip. They have a great pool and hot tub which we enjoyed. It is a older place but they keep it very clean. Continental breakfast is very good too with lots of choices. Like to eat at the Toll House Restaurant in town too instead of fast food so it makes a great stop.

Room Tip: Its away from the highway so you miss all the traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We arrived very late on a Monday night and were greeted by a very nice man at the front desk. He made sure we got the best price possible and even helped us out with a coupon someone had brought but wasn't able to use. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was nice. We woke early to finish our journey cross country but we did eat the complimentary breakfast. It was delicious we were very pleased! I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel

Address: 125 Walnut Bottom Road, Shippensburg, PA 17257 (Formerly AmeriHost Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Shippensburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Shippensburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shippensburg
Shippensburg Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.