We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean, comfortable!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Walnut Bottom Road, Shippensburg, PA 17257 (Formerly AmeriHost Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Shippensburg
Rochester, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quiet, clean, comfortable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

An overnight stay on our way home from the south and we were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Very clean, quiet and such a comfortable bed! Cute little community with a couple of delightful restaurants too. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful at both checkin and checkout. Free breakfast was the typical Best Western fare which is fine for us! Very clean breakfast room and cheeryful and helpful staff. The only downside I could mention is the very tiny bathroom - probably the smallest bathroom I've ever seen in a hotel yet it was spotlessly clean so that was fine too! All in all, I would recommend this hotel to friends and family and would definitely stay here again if we were passing through.

Room Tip: Free upgrade with Best Western rewards card !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    53
    29
    19
    15
See reviews for
80
61
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, WV
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

This was the 2½ star hotel from Hades. We used Priceline. We checked in and went to Room 228 which we quickly discovered was a smoking room. It took us about 10 seconds to decide that the stink was unbearable. In fact, it must have been a smoking floor because the entire hallway at that end reeked of stale tobacco. I went back to the hotel desk and after being told that I am Priceline, I was told that the hotel can do what it wants, but thankfully, we were then assigned to a nonsmoking room. Hallelujah! We moved to that room only to find that the bed was made up but not the bathroom. Opened shampoo, towels on the floor, you get the picture. Our stay was topped off by the most pitiful breakfast I have seen in awhile. Coffee & juice, yes. No meat, no donuts, only stored bought muffins the size of a fingertip and a few crackers and hard-boiled eggs. Yum. This Best Western hurts the brand.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

This hotel is pretty basic. It was clean and the staff was friendly. The beds were not very comfortable. I was going to Gettysburg the next day and stayed in Shippensburg because it was cheaper than staying in Gettysburg and after Gettysburg I was continuing on my trip. The hotel was fine for one night but if I were going to be in Gettysburg for more than one day I'd put up the extra money and stay in Gettysburg.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

This place was a great find after a long ride up from Georgia. It was quiet, clean, comfortable, and everything worked. We traveled with a dog and found plenty of room outside to get her out to move around. Restaurants were available for dinner. I do not know what it might be like during the school year (college town) but I will stay here again if I am heading back up I-81. A very good value in a place with limited choices.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

3 MAJOR ISSUES WITH ROOM #113
1. Room #113 is located right next to an outside entrance/exit door. This door SLAMS SHUT each and every time someone goes in or out. Not only is there a HUGE bang, but the ENTIRE room vibrates including the bed on which you are trying to sleep!!!!!! Last evening I set my alarm for 8:00a.m. as I am on vacation and I hoped to sleep late. Well; I am awakened at least 10-15 times between 5:30-8:00a.m. by this door. Try to imagine a tractor trailer accidentally hitting a brick wall. That is what it SOUNDS and FEELS like. The hotel should do 1 or MORE of the following: 1. Keep guests OUT of room #113. 2. FIX THE DOOR. 3. Lock this door during certain hours to be courteous to ALL guests!!!
2. Even with the heating unit on OFF, the heater turned on and off by itself !!!!!! We had to UNPLUG the unit to get the unit to stop running!!! We had to TURN the unit OFF because 1. It was TOO LOUD 2 .IT BLEW the curtains so that we NO LONGER HAD PRIVACY!!!!!!! There was NO WAY to redirect the air.
3. The bathroom sink handles are impossible to reach. Someone mounted a shelf directly above the sink handles so you have to bend over to find them and them and then feel your way to turn them on!!!

THE owner should be ashamed of themselves for either NOT KNOWING these issues exist or for knowing and not doing anything about them!!!!!! I will ONLY stay again at this hotel IF I CANNOT find anywhere else to stay!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

I moved to this hotel after being bit repeatedly by bugs at the Shippen Place Hotel. The Best Western was CLEAN. The staff members were pleasant, good breakfast and close to campus. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel over the Shippen Place.

Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

Room has two double beds.
A 30 inch (approx)wall mounted tv.
Room is a nice size.
Ten min. after we arrived front desk called to ask if every thing is okay
Vanity located outside the bathroom.
I did not care for that.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel

Address: 125 Walnut Bottom Road, Shippensburg, PA 17257 (Formerly AmeriHost Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Shippensburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Shippensburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shippensburg
Shippensburg Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.