We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favoirte stop overs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shippen Place Hotel

Save Saved
You added Shippen Place Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shippen Place Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   32 E. King Street, Shippensburg, PA 17257   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Shippensburg
woodstock
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of our favoirte stop overs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We were looking for a place to stay that wasn't a chain. We came across the Shippen Place, by seeing the sign on Rt. 81 south. We have returned at least half a dozen times. We like the pub that is attached to the hotel. Very convenient if you arrive late and are thirsty and hungry. It is a little hard to find, on your first visit, but well worth the search.

Room Tip: most rooms have street noise- at night- it is in the middle of an active city. You could ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    26
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
16
12
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
BARRIE
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Had a bit of a problem finding this hotel~it's on the main street, but not too well signed. The driveway I swear is about 6 ft wide, so don't attempt this one in your SUV! The surface parking lot is a bit cramped but doable.
The hotel, though, is very nice. My friend made the arrangements for us, and raved about the folks she talked to on the phone.
The front desk clerk when we checked in was very pleasant but not knowledgeable about the area.
The room was lovely, and included a fridge, which was great. The hotel looks to have been renovated recently, and hallways etc are plush and clean.
The room also smelled clean; I've been to SO many non-smoking hotels which reek of smoke. This one does not in any way.
The restaurant was full and unable to accomodate us, but suggested other options down the street (which we did not use).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I selected this place for a one night stay while driving through the area, based on Trip Advisor reviews. I was not disappointed but a few small problems came up. The pros: it has the feel of a boutique hotel in a large city, with a welcoming, modern lobby, right on the main street of the town. There is ample free parking out back. The rooms were large and exceptionally clean with nice decor. The price was right. The bar and restaurant were excellent, but it is not open for breakfast. A few steps down the street is a good diner, though. On a Sunday night, with few if any other patrons dining, my sister and I enjoyed the sight of Amish horsecarts (not the black boxes, these were "convertibles" for stepping out) flying switftly by the restaurant windows, which overlook the main street.
The cons: At check-in, I asked the desk clerk if the rooms stocked lotion (my face and head were peeling from a week-long stay on the Outer Banks) and she assured me they were. However, only the barest of toiletries were found: a skinny bar of soap and a small vial of shampoo. I checked with my sister in another room and she was similarly under-supplied. The next morning, on checking out, I asked the other desk clerk if I could have some lotion, and was told that they do not have any. Admittedly, a venial sin, but more significant was the constant noise from the ventilation/heating/cooling system vent in the bathroom. It sounded like the engine on a diesel submarine and I had to close the door all night to avoid it. Thirdly, my room had a connecting door to another room, one inhabited by strangers. I heard their voices and the TV despite my piling extra pillows against it to mitigate the noise. Also, my room (403) overlooked the street and this being US Route 11, the truck noise started early.

Overall, this was a good alternative to the econobox chain motels found around all Interstate exits. It had a lot of charm and showed pride of ownership you won't find elsewhere. Just be careful to select your room and bring your own lotion!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the street could be noisy in the AM. Avoid a connecting door to another room unles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We arrived in Shippensburg late in the evening, so when we called into Shippen Place downtown last minute, we were expecting it to be much more expensive than it was.
And when we'd paid the nice lady at the desk and gone to our room, we were pleased to find it was clean, comfy and correct. Even the bar downstairs is lively, reasonably priced and has great beer.
Can't fault it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danvers, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We were on our way to the skyline drive/blue ridge pkwy, needed a place ot stay for a night. I read the reviews on tripadvisor and I'm glad i did. The room was very clean, Bobby at the front desk was great and we had sandwiches at the lounge in the hotel. The breakfast was adequate and the area was very clean. Our bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was clean and well maintained!! If we were ever back in that area, we would definately stay again!!!

Room Tip: Parking is behind the hotel in their own lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Our room was clean and spacious. The bed was extremely comfortable. We had 2 TVs and a kitchenette in our suite with a pull out couch. The bar was fun late night and the breakfast was adequate....typical continental. The location is convenient to the university and the downtown area. For the price, it can not be beat!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tannersville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed here for one night---very clean and very friendly staff. Restaurant was a little pricey--but food was very good. Very quaint, not much to do in walking distance. Very nice that there was a continental breakfast available free. Would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shippen Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shippen Place Hotel

Address: 32 E. King Street, Shippensburg, PA 17257
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Shippensburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Shippensburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shippen Place Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Shippen Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shippen Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.