We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Body Spirit Nature Portal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santosha on the Ridge Bed and Breakfast Sanctuary

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shawnee on Delaware
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Santosha on the Ridge Bed and Breakfast Sanctuary
Save
You added Santosha on the Ridge Bed and Breakfast Sanctuary to your Saves list
121 Santosha Lane, East Stroudsburg Pa 18301, Shawnee on Delaware, PA 18356   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Philadelphia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Body Spirit Nature Portal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2009

Their web site describes the place very well. Also, there are only a couple other houses within a quarter mile. The house is set back from the road about 400 feet, down about 15 feet, which creates feelings of visual and aural privacy, as the road noise from the occasional car goes overhead. Spacious yet intimate architecture: a one-of-a kind Frank Lloyd Wright built-on-the land type of structure that fits into the ridge-line. Copious wrap-around multilevel decks downslope fitted to hillside. Lots of outdoor sitting space, hammock, ponds, birds, wildlife. I have severe allergies to dust, mold, pollens, etc, and found this maple wood-floored house to be immaculately clean. I breathed and slept very well. It's a "shoes-off" policy once inside, so bring slippers or clean-soled indoor footwear. Coffee ready at 7:00 a.m. Breakfast at 9:00 is huge. Both the owner and innkeeper I found to be pleasant, welcoming and very industrious. Owner is expert yoga practitioner and it shows in more ways than one. Of the two dogs, one barks some in the morning, but they are quiet sundown to sunup, as they're getting older. The setting encourages contemplation. Good place to consider the days of your life, alone or with friends. Summer can be crowded in the Delaware Water Gap. Off-season quietude of this place I found restorative. Good place to unplug the mind and return to earth-body realities.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
93
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2008

We had an AMAZING time at this bed and breakfast. The site is stunning, overlooking the ridge with Delaware river below. The house is very spacious with all the amenities and our room was quite big and airy. There's a lot of attention to detail here from the beautiful prints on the walls to the delectable, multi-course breakfast. Also, the owner and manager were incredibly helpful when we needed advice about the surrounding area. This was truly the nicest B&B I've ever stayed in!!!

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, NJ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

I have been to Santosha three times and if you are searching for somewhere to get away from it all, look no further. This B&B has three rooms and while it is filled with all the comforts of home, it gives the ultimate peacefulness and quiet that is often so hard to find. The views from the establishment are beautiful- you'll feel one with nature. The innkeeper, Leslie, is most hospitable and gracious (and her dogs are great too!). The breakfast are healthy and satisfying. You will leave Santosha with a renewed sense of self and you will be making plans for another visit. Tip: Take advantage of Leslie's yoga classes or relax in the whirlpool for an additional zen rush.

  • Liked — The peace and quiet of its location and its great mountain views.
  • Disliked — Wish there were choices for breakfast.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

What a perfect weekend getaway. From the beautiful grounds with muses all around, to the yoga studio with huge windows to see the mountains surrounding, to the hot tub to the wonderful staff who cooked us an incredible breakfast each morning. The house is in perfect gorgeous condition. I just booked a stay there beginning one day after our wedding (obviously looking for perfect serenity if possible!)

  • Liked — The house and decor and general energy in the space
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

We stayed her for a long weekend and loved every second of it! Food was great - Leslie & Amy are the nicest, most accomodating people ever - I can't wait to go back.. We were relaxed and had a great time - the Room was spottless and huge, we loved it! Best B & B we have stayed in to date!

  • Liked — Large room, good food, very very clean
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metuchen, NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2008

If you enjoy the outdoors and a beautiful vista, and the sound of nature, and beautiful sunrises, and a great healthy wholesome breakfast, go for a hike, soak in an outdoor hot tub, or do absolutely nothing; then this is the place for you. We stayed in the Sunrise room. The room and home were spotless, the dogs friendly. I am now going to get a Jack Russell. Leslie is a great host and great yoga instructor. She has totally turned me on to yoga. I had just met Amy and she too seemed terrific.
THIS IS THE PLACE FOR GOOD OLD R&R. By the way the other two bedrooms are smaller and are priced accordingly, but the Sunrise is just terrific. I really did not want to write this reveiw because I don't want any one to know about this treasure, but that would not be fair to Leslie. So shhh this place is really great.

  • Liked — Everything, really everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2007

We came to Santosha to have a couple of days of R&R. Santosha is located down a long driveway in a wooded area with a view of the Delaware River. It is a beautiful home in a very serene environment. We were the only couple staying there at the time, so it felt like we had the house to ourselves. The owner was away for the holidays, but the caretaker, Amy, was extremely kind and made our stay very pleasant.
We had the sunrise room which was very spacious and have a wonderful jacuzzi in the bathroom. Just a note that there are no window coverings, so you do wake up with the sun. They have DVD player tvs so we watched movies both nights. There is no regular television to use.
There is a nice living room area with comfortable seating for reading. It was very snowy and cold when we stayed, so we weren't able to enjoy the outdoor porches and seating.
The breakfast both mornings was great. Fruit and yogurt to start with on the first morning, with also cranberry bread and a wonderful savory pastry with eggs, cheese and broccoli. The next morning we had yogurt with baked apple, then pancakes and eggs. Amy had asked us if we had any preferences the evening before.
We also received a 30% discount for both nights, which was fantastic! i would highly recommend this B&B if you don't mind the feeling like you are in someone else's home. The noise tends to travel since the doors to the bedrooms are regular residential style doors and the kitchen/living area is a double-height space that goes up to the sleeping area.
It really was a wonderful getaway, thought, and i would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Liked — amazing location
  • Disliked — noise travelled throughout house
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santosha on the Ridge Bed and Breakfast Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santosha on the Ridge Bed and Breakfast Sanctuary

Address: 121 Santosha Lane, East Stroudsburg Pa 18301, Shawnee on Delaware, PA 18356
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Shawnee on Delaware
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Shawnee on Delaware
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 72 miles west of Manhattan, nestled in the heart of the Pocono Mountains, Santosha on the Ridge Bed and Breakfast is a secluded sanctuary overlooking the Delaware River valley. With 4 rooms available for accommodation, exclusivity and privacy are key elements of your relaxing getaway. Wake up to start your day with an amazing home cooked breakfast, then explore the beauty of the region or just relax on the front porch with your favorite book. However you define your retreat, we will make you feel welcome. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santosha on the Ridge Bed and Breakfast Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.