We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Haven!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santosha on the Ridge Bed and Breakfast Sanctuary

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shawnee on Delaware
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Santosha on the Ridge Bed and Breakfast Sanctuary
Save
You added Santosha on the Ridge Bed and Breakfast Sanctuary to your Saves list
121 Santosha Lane, East Stroudsburg Pa 18301, Shawnee on Delaware, PA 18356   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Haven!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband and I just got back from a 3 night stay at Santosha, and it was amazing in every way!! We are big outdoors people and this was the perfect place for us to enjoy all the wonders of winter that are so close to Santosha! We went skiing at Shawnee Mountain and Leslie got us discounted lift tickets for us. She also told us about a "secret entrance" to the mountain where we. Could ski down the mountain instead of battling the crowded parking lot at the bottom! We also hiked multiple trails that Amy suggested in the Water Gap and they were all so beautiful despite the cold!! And as everyone else has noted, the breakfasts are delicious and very unique too, the breakfast fajitas were our favorite as well as the fresh fruit smoothies that Leslie made the last morning we were there! And Amy's date and crasin scones rocked! Everything about Santosha is perfect, as is the surrounding area, especially for Nature lovers! Oh and there is also a great Brewery / Restaurant about 5 minutes away and both a Peruvian and Thai restaurant less than 10 minutes from the B&B; these were suggested by Leslie and Amy and were fantastic! We can't wait to go back next year if not sooner!! Thank you so much Leslie and Amy!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sant0sha, Owner at Santosha on the Ridge Bed and Breakfast Sanctuary, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We are glad we could make your time here as comfortable and relaxing as possible. We will look to see you back when time permits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
93
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

This is my third trip to santosha and it never disappoints. My boyfriend and I stayed for three nights in the sunrise room. This is my favorite room as it has large semi circle windows to see all the nature outside, the stars while laying in bed, and awakening to a beautiful sunrise. Leslie and Amy make you feel at home. Leslie had a fire going for us one night and because there was supposed to be a lot of snow, even offered soup she had made in case we all got snowed in. The breakfasts are to die for. They are organic, creative, and always leave you feeling full and satisfied. You feel at peace here where you can sit on the back deck and watch the birds and admire the surrounding beauty or relax in the hot tub and gaze at the stars. This has spoiled us for any other bed and breakfast we have been to since. Thank you Leslie and Amy for yet again a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was our second time to Santosha. Last time we stayed in the idyllic setting of fall (for one night) and this time, in January (for three nights), with snow on the ground. We imagine the setting is breathtaking in any season, but what makes Santosha exceptional is both the actual place and the people who run it. We felt at home, with total privacy - we stayed in the Naturscape Room this time. After a delicious breakfast, we were able to relax in our room and didn't feel the need or desire to leave our first day. It's just so peaceful. But we eventually enjoyed the hot tub and a walk along the Delaware River and dinner at the Deerhead Inn. We also enjoyed our visits with Amy and Gene, who ensured we had everything we needed during our stay. We didn't want to leave and very much look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My husband and I decided we wanted to get away from the city so I did some research and stumbled upon Santosha on the Ridge. We visited the B&B for the weekend of August 24th to August 26th and stayed in the Sunrise Room. Great room...great breakfasts...great host....great surrounding area. It was wonderful feeling as if we were a part of nature and enjoying the solitude of being a part of the greenery. Leslie was very helpful in making suggestions on activities and restaurants. It is really difficult to describe our experience in words, therefore I would suggest that anyone reading this review check out Santosha on the Ridge for themselves. I'm sure that you will not be disappointed. Also, the pictures on the website are 100% accurate.

Room Tip: The sunrise room was excellent..you can see the tree tops from the bed. We also viewed the Naturesc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is our second time to Santosha. I can honestly say that I think that there is a special quality to Santosha that no other B&B has that I have ever stayed inn. If you are after peace and tranquality and a place that is absolutely beautiful that you can go to for space to reflect of all the great qualities of you everyday life but are just too busy to realize this is the place for you. Leslie is so warm and caring . She is an amazing cook that has unique attention to detail. I am a person that stresses cleanliness. Santosha is beautiful and so well kept that you feel that you want to care for it as your own when you are visiting. The property sits on the ridge of the pocono mountains makes it so beautiful to just sit on thel deck. Once again I thank Leslie and Gene for allowing my husband and I to escape to their beautiful home to take a break from busy lives. Thank you :)

Room Tip: beautiful rooms throughout ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a quiet, restful getaway for the Columbus Day weekend. We wanted a pretty mountain setting where we could enjoy the fall foliage and have access to plenty of hiking and biking. We certainly found it at Santosha on the Ridge and it was only a short drive from New York City! The house was warm and welcoming. We could not get enough of the spectacular views from the many decks and gorgeous windows. The owner, Leslie, made us feel as this was our home away from home. She was very attentive to her guests; including rekindling the fire on one rainy evening at home. Amy's breakfasts were hearty and healthful. Overall we could not have chosen a more comfortable relaxing country home to enjoy a beautiful Fall weekend. We look forward to seeing our new friends, Leslie and Amy again next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Riverview room which was cozy, comfortable and had a quaint seated nook within it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at Santosha on the Ridge for three nights and really enjoyed it. The house is open, full of original artwork, has a very relaxed atmosphere, and it is VERY nice. The owner, Leslie, is super helpful if you're looking for things to do and fixes a great breakfast! We'd like to return when the fall leaves are at peak.

Room Tip: Book early to get one of the large rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santosha on the Ridge Bed and Breakfast Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santosha on the Ridge Bed and Breakfast Sanctuary

Address: 121 Santosha Lane, East Stroudsburg Pa 18301, Shawnee on Delaware, PA 18356
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Shawnee on Delaware
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Shawnee on Delaware
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 72 miles west of Manhattan, nestled in the heart of the Pocono Mountains, Santosha on the Ridge Bed and Breakfast is a secluded sanctuary overlooking the Delaware River valley. With 4 rooms available for accommodation, exclusivity and privacy are key elements of your relaxing getaway. Wake up to start your day with an amazing home cooked breakfast, then explore the beauty of the region or just relax on the front porch with your favorite book. However you define your retreat, we will make you feel welcome. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santosha on the Ridge Bed and Breakfast Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.