We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a Grand Old Lady” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Shawnee Inn Drive, P.O. Box 67, Shawnee on Delaware, PA 18356   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Still a Grand Old Lady”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Shawnee is a beautiful place to spend an autumn get-away. Through the huge floor to ceiling windows, we looked out over the wide and spacious veranda toward the Delaware River and mountains. A herd of deer waded across the river while I rocked on a comfy chair legs covered by a blanket brought to me by a kind doorman. The only sound was that of golf carts zipping by on their way to a 27 hole course that meanders next to the river and across a wooden bridge to Shawna Island. My husband played golf and I went to the Shawnee Spa - a lovely experience! We stayed in a King Riverview room which was spacious, contained a great bed, was quite clean, but needed updating. The breakfast buffet was generous in choice. Our waitresses for both lunch and dinner were disinterested but the food was good. Shawnee brews its own beer on the grounds and it is terrific! Within walking distance is The Gem and Keystone, a pub owned by Shawnee. The food there is fun! The public areas of the hotel are spectacular and the staff friendly and helpful. She truly is a Grand Old Lady and worth a visit!

Room Tip: Ask for a riverview room and stay in the main inn. I would ask for a room that has been remodeled...
See more room tips
Green Features: Shawnee is a green Inn and committed to being environment-friendly. I particularly liked their use of locally sourced meats and produce at both restaurants and locally made toiletries.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    131
    56
    37
    44
See reviews for
152
163
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Piscataway, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The Golf resort is elegantly styled. It has activities for kids as well as adults and the continental breakfast is out of the world. The location is close to activities like white water rafting and other trails if you are an outdoor person. Loved it.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Falls, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We just returned home and miss Shawnee already. The staff was professional, cordial & made us feel like family. The room was very comfortable and clean. The food & wait service was impeccable. And you can't help but sense the history of the Inn as walk though its corridors, public spaces and grounds, or play a round of golf on a challenging 27 hole course that once hosted the likes of Jackie Gleason, Arnold Palmer, Sam Snead and a US President. We already miss the tranquility of sitting on the veranda. And even though the Inn was booked solid, with a golf outing, wedding, and various conferences going on, we never felt crowded or overlooked by the staff. We're making plans already to return next year. We've traveled the country and vacationed at some of the finest places on earth, but few can hold a candle to Shawnee Inn. Thanks for a most memorable experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmsford, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Gorgeous golf course and grounds make up for the gently aging timeshares at this resort. The restaurant at the main house is very good, though service was too slow. The golf pro shop was friendly and welcoming and rounsds were very reasonable. A really good place to get away for a week.

Room Tip: WE stayed in the Depuy Village, the oldest of the time share units, but also the largest of those un...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Had a wonderful time. Brewery on premises was interesting and fun . Plenty to do in the area. Loved photos of old times all around the halls. Very accommodating. Good coffee in the shop. Spa was ok. Big indoor pool that was pleasant to loll about

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Historic Shawnee is a nice, comfortable place to play golf, get a massage, eat some good food and watch the river go by. The staff is cheerful and accomodating. The hotel rooms and bathrooms are a bit on the small side but in excellent condition. Please don't let my four star rating infer that we had any problems. We totally enjoyed this lovely, unpretentious resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Went on a Stay and Play Golf package over the weekend. The place is very unique. It's a step into the past. Large wooden structure with giant deck with rocking chairs overlooking the river and hills beyond. 27 holes of golf winding around an island in the Delaware River. It was very enjoyable. Rooms were dated, but served us well. The breakfasts were excellent. The service from the hotel and golf staff was terrific. We would come back again without exception.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort

Address: 100 Shawnee Inn Drive, P.O. Box 67, Shawnee on Delaware, PA 18356
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Shawnee on Delaware
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Shawnee on Delaware
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort in the Pocono Mountains - Discover the historic Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, a unique destination for golf, skiing, vacations and meetings. Located only 75 miles from New York City in the Pocono Mountains of Pennsylvania, the resort is set amidst the splendor of the Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area. Championship golf, breathtaking views, and some of the finest dining in the Pocono Mountains are only a small part of the Shawnee experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shawnee Inn & Golf Hotel Shawnee On Delaware
Shawnee Hotel On Delaware

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.