We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at the Shawnee Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort to your Saves list
The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Shawnee Inn Drive, P.O. Box 67, Shawnee on Delaware, PA 18356   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersBronze level
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Another great stay at the Shawnee Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My wife and daughter and I spent a recent Saturday night(February 2013) at the Shawnee Inn and had a wonderful time. We arrived early in order to ski at the nearby mountain and we were allowed to check in several hours in advance. After a day of skiing we returned to the hotel and were pleasantly surprised to find a piano player in the lobby for most of the evening. We enjoyed some cocktails in the lobby sitting area listening to the wonderful music before getting ready to head for dinner. I requested a river view room and was ecsatic to wake up , open the curtains and see not one, but two bald eagles perched in a nearby tree. It was a rare treat for me and my daughter and a great way to start another great day of skiing.
The room was great and the bed and pillows very comfortable. The staff were all very friendly and courteous, especially the front desk staff and bellhop(did not get his name). We love this great old Inn and will be back.

Room Tip: Second or third floor rooms with a river view and in some cases, hardwood floors, are worth the extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am so glad that you were able to see the bald eagles. The outdoors are such a wonderful part of the Shawnee experience. Located on the edge of the Delaware River and surrounded by the Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area, the Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort prides itself on possessing one of the most breathtaking locations. Come on the Summer and Fall and experience a tour of our Farm, campfire with Smores, hayride and many other great activities. I will pass along your accolades to the staff and hope to see you here in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    161
    75
    44
    47
See reviews for
202
194
21
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Went for a long weekend with husband and two kids. Hotel and surroundings are very pretty. Great place to get away for a few days with a short drive from NYC. indoor pool was big and kids loved it. Gem and keystone pub was excellent. It is about a 15 min drive to camelback snow tubing. Kids made snowmen outside hotel. They really make you feel at home. Will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your review, One of our greatest assets is our location, Not only our short drive from from New York and Northern New Jersey, but our proximity to activities like skiing, tubing, and shopping and our breathtaking location on the banks of the Delaware River. Our staff is dedicated to exceptional service. The amenities and dining offered at the historic Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort are tailored to provide a unique, enjoyable expreience. We hope that you will return to experience our resort in the Summer or Fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New jersey
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Good stuff
1. Breakfast
2. Bed
3. Staff
4. Brew pub

Not so good stuff
1. Spa was too cold
2. Bathroom and room were tiny
3. Jacuzzi wasn't hot due too brewing beer on site huh....
4. Needs to be updated
5. Walls are paper thin
6 . Pillows

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for writing about your experience a at our resort.
Good stuff
1. Breakfast Always yummy and the attended omlette station is a hit.
2. Bed So comfortable.
3. Staff Our number one asset.
4. Brew pub Beer from here, food from near.

Not so good stuff
1. Spa was too cold Sorry. It was a relly cold day and the floors are tile.
2. Bathroom and room were tiny Rooms are all various sizes and we hope that you
will spend a majority of time enjoting all the great
activites the resort offers.
3. Jacuzzi wasn't hot due too brewing beer on site huh.... Sorry...I am stumped.
4. Needs to be updated A work in progress.
5. Walls are paper thin The rooms that have connecting doors are less
sound proof then others. We are working on
solutions. Sorry for the inconvenience.
6 . Pillows Our pillows normally get good reviews, but in case
you don't like the ones on the bed - we offer pillow
menu. I am sorry that we were not clear in making
sure you were comfortable.

We hope that you will choose to return to Shawnee to continue to see the improvements we are making.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobyhanna, PA, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

When the world was different, Shawnee was THE place to go for a long weekend, for a week, or even for a summer retreat! As a local (if one could call Tobyhanna a local), I appreciate and enjoy the Inn for everything that it has to offer -- from it's stately and historic appearance to the Emma's Friends soaps and toiletries (more on that later) to the incredibly delicious meals prepared using organic foods grown on property. Oh yeah, I also have to mention the brews and brewery! This place is a gem.

The toiletries provided by the Inn are important, since they are purchased from Emma's Friends. Emma and her friends are developmentally disabled, and the company was started to provide them work. See their story on http://www.emmasfriends.com/index.php?main_page=page&id=2. The products are all natural and healthy.

The general manager, Rob, is totally awesome and goes out of his way to make every guest's stay memorable. Thank you, Rob. I have seen you take nature's lemons and make lemonade to the delight of guests, me among them. I'm thinking of the Gatsby Gala that got snowed in with power loss. I never had such a great time, in spite of the lack of electricity, and that was thanks to you!

As a local, I am proud of the history -- and EVERYTHING -- about the Inn at Shawnee. If spas are your thing, check this one out -- you will love it. If you love golf, you will enjoy the course. If micro brews are your passion, you will be thrilled. If you just want to relax on a long weekend, this is your place to do it. I go there for many events throughout the year, and I stay there when I need a place to "get away" that is also close to home.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you Lori - I appreciate that you took time out to write about the Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort. It is especially pleasing to have someone right in our own backyard talk about how much they enjoy our resort. You have pointed out one of the very things that we are proud of as a staff and a resort, our use of Emma’s Friends products. Not only does this company have a great story, but they have an impressive product as well. We are very fortunate to have them as our partners. I would like to thank you personally for the shout out. It is really the staff here that work tremendously hard to make every guest's stay memorable. Next time you are here, please stop by and say hello!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 10th Anniversary at the Shawnee Inn in the Worthington Suites. We enjoyed our trip immensely and want to give the Shawnee a full and fair review in hopes that others might have the same wonderful experience we did.

First, a bit about the Shawnee Inn. The Shawnee Inn is best understood as a campus. The center of the campus is the century old Shawnee Inn. There are the two golf courses. There are private condos, the smaller Delaware Inn property, the Gem and Keystone Pub, a group of small cottages that are Wyndham timeshares, and the Shawnee Inn's 'Legacy Collection' nestled in among the Wyndham timeshares.

The Shawnee Inn is not a late model, corporate run hotel. It is clearly an aging facility that celebrates its history. It is also a family run operation. The staff is generally local folks who truly care that your needs are served. Our waitress at dinner on Friday ran the front desk at the spa on Saturday. The people are undeniably a strength. We did not stay in a room in the Shawnee Inn. We cannot speak to the accommodations in the main building. However, we can say that the Shawnee is committed to providing value that belies the age of the facility. The brew pub, the Legacy Collection, the growing brewery, the natural products, the spa, the pool, all are clear commitments to stay relevant against new facilities.

My wife and I stayed in the Worthington Suites. For those of you considering it and struggling to get a full description, here's our best effort. The Worthington is a building nestled in the Wyndham timeshare cottages that houses four, luxury, one bedroom apartments. It sits about a quarter mile from the main Shawnee building. It is served by the main building via room service. We drove back and forth because it was quite cold, but in better weather, the walk would be refreshing.

The Worthington Suites are amazing; nicer than any apartment I had as a younger person. A kitchen, a gas fireplace, flat screen TVs, a shower stall, a jacuzzi tub, gorgeous hardwood floors and custom furniture, and a sumptuous king-sized bed. It was utterly luxurious. If you like to stay in mini-suites when you travel, particularly when you and your spouse will be spending several days in a smaller space, I cannot recommend the Worthington strongly enough.

I hope this review gives you a full picture of the Shawnee. Yes, it is older, but it is run by folks committed to making sure you are satisfied with your stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. There is not often a review that paints an honest picture of what is trying to be accomplished at the Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort. We just celebrated our 100th consecutive year in business. We are not a new corporate hotel. Our greatest strength is our people. They are dedicated to making each guest stay memorable. It would not be right for me to leave out the breathtaking location and scenery provided by Mother Nature. To stay relevant, it is true; we are committed to providing value that belies the age of the facility. Luxury Suites at Worthington, we brew our own beer, we have a 30,000 square foot farm, we tap our own maple trees, we have beehives, we rely heavily on natural products, and our spa is organic. These are all efforts stay relevant against new facilities. We have our challenges, meet them head on, and look forward to wowing you and other guests in the future. Thank you and please let me know when you are arriving for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JACKSON
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

This is the perfect place!! We have stayed many times. Staff is very personable and welcoming. Rooms are CLEAN and the beds are are heaven !! Close to all the ski resorts. We ski Shawnee. It has a romantic feel if your with the loved one or fun feel with the family. We've done both. If you've ever watched the move "The Shining" the front porch has that feel. The hotel was actually in the running for the movie. Not that it's scary just a real neat place. Would recommend to anyone. I wouldn't say it's cheap but worth the spending with the atmosphere it gives. ENJOY if you choose. We do.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
I am glad you found the Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort perfect for your ski getway. Our expansive veranda is not only a guest favorite, but a very unique feature to our historic resort. Sitting by the fire in the lobby or walking the grounds hand in hand is very romantic. Singing around the campfire or taking a hayride really is fun for the whole family. I hope you will find time to visit us again for either occasion (romance or family).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Shore, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort for two nights during the winter. It had exceeded my expectations. The place was clean, close to the mountain and the staff was very friendly. I would definitely recommend this resort!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Joann - Thank you for staying with us. We are so pleased that we could exceed your expectations and look forward to continuing that tradition many times in the future. Our location to Shawnee Mountain is a great asset and we find that couples and families enjoy the closeness of our resort and the little extras we provide including campfires and hayrides to fill out their getaway. We hope you will visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort

Address: 100 Shawnee Inn Drive, P.O. Box 67, Shawnee on Delaware, PA 18356
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Shawnee on Delaware
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Shawnee on Delaware
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort in the Pocono Mountains - Discover the historic Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, a unique destination for golf, skiing, vacations and meetings. Located only 75 miles from New York City in the Pocono Mountains of Pennsylvania, the resort is set amidst the splendor of the Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area. Championship golf, breathtaking views, and some of the finest dining in the Pocono Mountains are only a small part of the Shawnee experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shawnee Inn And Golf Resort
Shawnee Inn & Golf Hotel Shawnee On Delaware
Shawnee Hotel On Delaware

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.