We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy old Hotel, First Class Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort to your Saves list
The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Shawnee Inn Drive, P.O. Box 67, Shawnee on Delaware, PA 18356   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersBronze level
upstate NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Classy old Hotel, First Class Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I'm giving the Shawnee 4 stars, not because it's perfect (there are shabby areas of carpet, some walls and woodwork need painting, the hot tub needs attention, stuff like that) but because our overall experience during our two-night stay was more than satisfactory and worthy of note, First, we got a great rate through SniqueAway. The buildings are beautiful, the grounds peaceful, the view of the river soothing, the history of the place a revelation. We arrived the Sunday of hurricane Sandy to an almost empty hotel, had a great lunch at the tavern near the grounds entrance (really good beer, too, made onsite) were greeted by a most-gracious desk staff, and had a gorgeous room. When the storm hit on Monday, we were on the wrap around porch in rockers, wrapped in rain gear, sipping Grand Marnier, and watching the rain sheet across the river. Went for a swim (wait until you see the pool! It's huge--10 ft. deep and indoors!) and before you know it.....power failures. Most notably in the elevator. The staff was so solicitous; the manager rode up with us, offered us a 1st floor room, and when we declined, provided flashlights and said to call the desk if we needed an escort down the stairs. We planned to eat in the hotel restaurant, but then the lights blew for good during cocktails in the bar. Everyone was calm, knew just what to do, professional. In short order, someone from the kitchen apologetically offered guests a sandwich/salad meal (actually quite good) , which arrived with linens, silverware, the good glasses and a courteous waiter. We ate in the bar, other guests ate around the lobby fireplace.No need to apologize for that in my opinion. We had a lovely, if dark evening, and were actually sad to leave on Tuesday morning. Nice place, really nice folks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. Our resort is over 100 years old and is in need of constant attention. We are proud of that history and we appreciate that you noticed our emphasis on this. Sandy was (and still is) a difficult time for many and we were very fortunate. Your patience and the patience of other guests is greatly appreciated and went along way to make for a smooth experience. The safety and comfort of our guest is our priority and we hope you will return in the future to experience some more Shawnee hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    162
    75
    44
    47
See reviews for
202
195
21
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We booked a two night stay through Snique Away in a standard king room. While checking in we asked if they could upgrade us to a River View as the parking lot was almost empty. While they did do this, they neglected to tell us they were putting us into the smallest room I have every had in any hotel anywhere, with a queen bed. I would have preferred a larger king room without a view. They were unable to change the room a little later and we were stuck for two nights, very very uncomfortable. The bed almost touched the walls on all sides and there was no addition seating. The bath room was also small and cramped.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for writing about your experience. Due to the historic nature of the resort, our rooms vary in size. We have made every attempt to make the guest rooms comfortable with well appointed bed linen, unique amenites (pillow menu, sleep menu, pet plant, etc...), and all natural bathroom products. We put an emphasis on the outdoors and relaxing public spaces for the guests to enjoy. I apologize for your experience and hope that you will give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I were so glad to find this gem. We were on a trip to celebrate our anniversary and found this through hotwire. It was an amazing place for an amazing price. The history of the hotel, the friendliness of the staff, the setting all were perfect for our Autumn Trip. Lots to do in the area and alot of nice little restaurants close by. Highly recommend

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Was here for one night this past weekend for my cousin's wedding. The resort had only gotten power back from the storm at 10pm the night before, but everything seemed up and running properly to me. We were even given a better price than I found online because they had a "Hurricane Package" that included the room and breakfast the next day. Details: Room - King bed room, a bit small, but it's an older hotel, so I wouldn't expect much bigger. The bed was comfortable. The details are older (window panes, light switches, bathroom fixtures) but I found it kind of charming. Could use an update, but was comfortable and adequate. The free breakfast was very good- had an omlette made to order and the rest was buffet, but was fine. I really liked the old feel to the hotel, and actually wish we had more time to explore.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Even Hurricane Sandy, no power and no phones, trees and power lines down everywhere, but Mark, Jordan, and Brett (I'm sure there were many others we didn't see...in the dark), were all smiles and checked us right in...no charge for the night. Bob, the manager greeted us in the dining room (he'd found a D-D and brought in coffee!) in what looked like a freshly pressed business suit! The kitchen had set up a breakfast buffet with home made granola -- that alone was worth going down for -- juices. Just nothing cooked...obviously. OK, they had to close, since no one knew for sure when power would be back on, but these guys made the whole experience memorable. Imagine what they'd be like with lights on!

Room Tip: Get a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Street, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife passed away 3 weeks ago and I needed a place to unwind from all the details involved with her death before I got burned out. As a golfer, thought the resort would be a great place to go and it turned out to be an excellent retreat. Played all 3 nine hole courses over two days and they were in great condition and the pro shop staff was very helpful. Enjoyed the food in the River Room and had excellent service. Used the hot tub to soak my body and had a great massage from Patricia. My room had a nice non river view, Got a great rate by staying Sunday through Wed. morning and even sat in on a concert on Tuesday evening next to a blazing fire. in the lounge fireplace. Everything was more than satisfactory and I met and talked with the General Manager who has won awards in 2010 and 2011 for his expertise in resort management.He is very responsive to your suggestions. It was a great choice and I could not have been more satisfied. Try it-you will like it! Dick Atherley, Willow Valley Retirement Communities, Willow St., Pa.

Room Tip: Since I was solo room size did not matter-you might enjoy a suite with a river view to go first clas...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Shawnee Inn is in a most picturesque setting. Rooms are delightful and dining is exquisite. Loved the pub and restaurant on the grounds by the gate. Manager there is super and fun! He even allowed me to bring in a home made birthday cake to celebrate a friend's birthday. A fun spot! The food was super and plentiful! All personnel at the Inn aim to please and go out of their way to make sure your time there is absolute perfection. Entertainment in Lobby every Tuesday night is free. Although I did not use the pool or spa, the pool is enormous and the spa has everything you desire to pamper yourself. Parking is great. If you wish to treat yourself to a stay in one of the greatest Inns, stay here RELAX and ENJOY! Would stay here again. Also, wonderful rooms for corporate meetings.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort

Address: 100 Shawnee Inn Drive, P.O. Box 67, Shawnee on Delaware, PA 18356
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Shawnee on Delaware
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Shawnee on Delaware
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort in the Pocono Mountains - Discover the historic Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, a unique destination for golf, skiing, vacations and meetings. Located only 75 miles from New York City in the Pocono Mountains of Pennsylvania, the resort is set amidst the splendor of the Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area. Championship golf, breathtaking views, and some of the finest dining in the Pocono Mountains are only a small part of the Shawnee experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shawnee Inn And Golf Resort
Shawnee Inn & Golf Hotel Shawnee On Delaware
Shawnee Hotel On Delaware

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.