We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gatehouse Country Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shawnee on Delaware
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Gatehouse Country Inn Bed and Breakfast
602 River Road, P.O. Box 264, Shawnee on Delaware, PA 18356   |  
Hotel amenities
Miami
1 review
“New Year's Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

Loved it!!! Beautiful bed and breakfast all around. Cindy and Gordon are adorable. We had an amazing breakfast every morning. We definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

My boyfriend and I spent two wonderful nights at the Gatehouse a couple of weeks ago. Cindy and Gordon were lovely, the house is amazing and the foliage was breathtaking. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We booked a last minute stay at the B&B which resulted in having to change rooms mid stay. This was not a problem, especially since we were told before the actual booking. The first night we were in the suite which was huge. The room was comfortable but the bathroom was a bit cramped and dated. Although a bit smaller, the second room had much more character and was more appealing. This room's bathroom was somewhat larger although a bit "fatigued" as well. We adored the period billiard room and history of the building as well as the ice-house antique store. Breakfast was delicious and the hospitality was warm. This place makes for a nice weekend getaway.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

My husband and I were looking for a little get away to celebrate our 5 year wedding anniversary. We found The Gatehouse Country Inn Bed & Breakfast. It exceeded our expectations. The accommodations are comfy and cozy. The innkeepers Cindy and Gordon was very friendly and make you feel very welcome. Lastly, the great room where you have breakfast overlooks their courtyard and historic icehouse which is a nice touch. The breakfast was really good as well. I highly recommend this B&B if you want a lovely gateway. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

We stayed at the Gatehouse Country Inn Bed and Breakfast with Cindy and Gordon over the Labor Day weekend. I had never been to the Poconos before and this was a marvellous introduction to the region. Cindy and Gordon brought the Pocono experience to life for me and my husband,
We were indulged by our hosts for three whole days. Breakfast in the Gatehouse Great Room was a memorable experience looking out onto the courtyard and the Inn's Ice House. Cindy's cooking and Gordon's coffee are not to be missed. Our hosts were able to give us some real inside tips on what to do with our long weekend as well as providing an abundance of knowledge on the history of the area. The house itself is an elegant home from home. Cindy and Gordon have infused a real sense of family and tradition into the house which flows naturally from the past into the present day, Some places stay in your memory, when you travel , this is most definitely one of them. We have already booked our second trip to Gatehouse Country Inn.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

Before making any reservations, I did some extensive research on B&Bs in the area. This one seemed to get the best reviews, great rates, and looked so adorable. My housband and I agree it's one of the best B&Bs we've ever visited. We were looking for a 1 night babymoon that was close to hiking trails..and this was perfect! We are considering buying gift certificates for our family to stay at the Gatehouse..

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

We spent a relaxing evening at Gatehouse Country Inn. Cindy and Gordon Way, the owners/innkeepers, are two of the friendliest people you will ever meet. Upon arrival, we received a warm welcome into their historic home which we feel is of utmost importance when running an inn. Cindy immediately went to work to answer any questions we had about the area and to provide information on things to do. Gordon showed us to our room and showed us around. The Great Room is huge and filled with antiques and decorative items from their many travels. They have a lovely patio out back by the old icehouse that is great for spending a quiet evening relaxing and enjoying a drink.

We took a nice walk along the Delaware River and had a delicious meal at Sam Snead's Tavern which is within walking distance. There is also a well-stocked general store and Art Gallery that one can walk to. Since we only spent one night, we couldn't do a lot but this area certainly has many things to offer, especially if you are an outdoor enthusiast. The inn is right near The Shawnee Playhouse which is convenient if you wanted to see a play.

Our room was upstairs and decorated with lovely antiques. It was cozy and comfortable. Be sure to read the history of this inn to fully appreciate it. Breakfast the next morning was served in the Great Room overlooking the patio and backyard. It was very nicely presented and very tasty. Cindy even offered seconds for anyone who wanted them. Coffee or tea was available in the morning before breakfast was served.

I would recomment this inn to anyone looking for a quiet respite with friendly, outgoing hosts. And their three mini-dachsunds (Brandy, Rummy, and Porty) are very sweet and entertaining as well.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Gatehouse Country Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gatehouse Country Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 602 River Road, P.O. Box 264, Shawnee on Delaware, PA 18356
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Shawnee on Delaware
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shawnee on Delaware
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gatehouse Country Bed and Breakfast, located in the historic village of Shawnee on Delaware, Pa., is a 1900's carriage house converted into an elegant home by the famous musician and bandleader, Fred Waring. Featuring 5 unique guest rooms, each with private bath, you can relax and enjoy the quiet atmosphere and gorgeous countryside in this full four season retreat. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Inn Shawnee On Delaware
Shawnee On Delaware Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gatehouse Country Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Gatehouse Country Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list