We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ANOTHER GREAT STAY” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge & Suites to your Saves list
Econo Lodge & Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3249 North Susquehanna Trail, Shamokin Dam, PA 17876 (Formerly Quality Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Shamokin Dam
Beaver Springs
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“ANOTHER GREAT STAY”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Room was clean and comfortable, heats work great. Rooms are very reasonable compared to others on the strip. Short drive to shopping and eating in the area. Front desk was friendly and quick getting us checked in and out. Would stay again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoLodgeSD, Manager at Econo Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to write the nice review of your stay with us. We agree it is nice to be able to make a short trip and grab a bite to eat or enjoy some shopping and then come back to a nice cozy warm room. I will pass along the compliments to our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    19
    13
    7
    8
See reviews for
23
14
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shillington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I've stayed there twice, and both times was surprised at how nice it was. I had lower expectations for an Econo Lodge. It had been recently renovated--design was tasteful, bed was fantastic! Had the best sleep ever. Service was polite and helpful. The only downside was the "included continental breakfast." We walked into the place, and it was dark, dank, dirty and empty. The food selections (one flavor of cereal, maybe two, and danishes that looked like they came from a wrapped package in a convenience store a week ago.) The "hostess" was also dirty looking and wore a stained shirt. We decided to get breakfast elsewhere. This aspect of the experience is what made my rating a 4 instead of a 5. On my second stay, I simply turned down the breakfast passes.

Room Tip: Room 163 has an incredibly comfortable king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoLodgeSD, Manager at Econo Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank You for your recent review of your stay. Am delighted that you were happy with your accommodations and had a great nights sleep. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the continental breakfast supplied by the in house restaurant and their staff. Thank You
Again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I usually do not stay in Choice Hotels but based on online reviews, I decided to give it a try. The room was very clean and looked at though it was remodeled in the last year. I can pick a room apart easily and only found a couple minor issues. After informing the front desk (Sharon) I extended my stay another night and returned to find the issues taken care of. The bathroom is on the small size but not a concern to me as a business traveler. The shower pressure was strong, the internet was much faster then most hotels I stay at, and even in room coffee maker made a decent cup. I will return for sure.

Room Tip: There is no elevator that I know of that would help you get to the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoLodgeSD, Manager at Econo Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank You for posting a nice review of your recent stay. We appreciate when a guests informs the front desk of any issues so that we can correct the problem immediately. I will pass along the comments to the housekeeping staff . Look forward to your return visit. Thank You again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shamokin Dam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I prefer to have real cream with breakfast coffee instead of the Coffee Mate
that you use. Your single-handle shower which rotates less than 180 degrees is the best one I've ever seen. Overall very satisfactory.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoLodgeSD, Manager at Econo Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a nice review of your recent stay. Will be looking forward to your next visit to Shamokin Dam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware, United States
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were traveling and arrived at 3 am. The hotels in the area were all booked for a special event weekend. This hotel had 3 rooms left and were going to charge $140 a night. The front desk gave me the room at $89 since it was so late. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. There is a breakfast but we did not wake up in time. overall, I would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoLodgeSD, Manager at Econo Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a nice clean and comfortable room. Hope to see you on your next trip. Thank You again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed while traveling across Pa. Clean comfy room, friendly and helpful staff, food on site and within walking distance ( choice is good). Reservations were spot on correct. Price is good for the area. right on US11

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoLodgeSD, General Manager at Econo Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to fill out a great review! We are happy that you chose us to be part of your trip across Pennsylvania. Having a in house restaurant and many others near by make it so convenient for our guests. Will be looking for you on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here for a solid month while working near by in Milton Pa. Contractors will need to speak to Sharon. She will see that you are taken care of. Rooms are clean. The first week we had an issue with the air conditioner in our room. We requested to change rooms and Sharon immediately (and I do mean immediately) switched us to another room. Have to be at work at 6am? No problem, front desk will make a pot of coffee at 4 am. Yes, there are small pots in the room, but that isn't enough for my husband an I. ALL of the staff was polite and friendly, including the housekeeping staff. Security cameras, beautiful pool area, with a work out room. Too tired to wash your clothes ? Ask Sharon about the arrangement they have with a nearby cleaner to pick up your clothes. Restaurants ,mall, movie theater, skating rink, gas stations, etc. all close by. They are pet friendly but don't gauge you by making you pay per pet. I couldn't ask for better service ! Well worth the money.

Room Tip: We have stayed on the first and second floor. All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoLodgeSD, Manager at Econo Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank You for the wonderful review of our hotel. Here at the Econo Lodge we strife to give the guest the best customer experience possible. I will be sure to pass the comments on to the staff. Thank You again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge & Suites

Address: 3249 North Susquehanna Trail, Shamokin Dam, PA 17876 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Shamokin Dam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Shamokin Dam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge And Suites
Econo Hotel Shamokin Dam
Econo Lodge Shamokin Dam
Shamokin Dam Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.