We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hometown "have to do it".” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coney Island

Coney Island
218 East Independence Street, Shamokin, PA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in Shamokin
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Burger and hotdogs only!
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“hometown "have to do it".”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

the place is nothing to write home about, but if your looking for a hometown experience, you gotta do it. insite to local culture. folks are friendly, service is good, usually pretty clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Step back in time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012 via mobile

Enter this grill opened over 100 years ago in this very spot and you may be transported back to the 40's as you enjoy the original stools, marble countertop and hammered tin ceilings. The food is simple, hot dog - hamburger! That's it! No fries, no tatertots, just the dogs and burgers that grill in the front window next to a giant pile of steaming onions who absorb all of the cooking juices throughout the day ( and late into the night ) my favorites; 1 "down" (burger) with cheese, mustard, chili sauce and cooked onions. And 2 "up" (dogs) with mustard, chili sauce and the cooked onions. All are served on steamed buns!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monee, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best downs & ups anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Everytime I'm in Shamokin I have to have some Coneys. My friends and I will go in after the bars and order a couple of downs with cheese. Took me a while to figure out downs were burgers and ups were dogs. Nothing has changed since I was a kid. The same reciepe and the same people serving them up. I also love that they have locally brewed soda pop available. Yay for Big Ben soda.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, North Dakota
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“sorry yuck!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

This place was dirty and the food looked like it had been sitting out for days. They fry up the burgers and pile them up in the front window so people can see them, they they serve them to people at all hours of the day and night. I dont know if this is a good thing or not but i did not like the food or the cleanliness of the place. it lacked a lot.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“perfect place for hotdogs and hamburgers anyway you want them”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

This restaurant is an icon of the area. Old marble counter tops,good food . The atmosphere reminds you of an era gone by..

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coney Island also viewed

 

Been to Coney Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coney Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.