We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Not Return ” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sewickley Speakeasy

Sewickley Speakeasy
17 Ohio River Blvd, Sewickley, PA 15143-2101
412-741-1918
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 41 Restaurants in Sewickley
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Will Not Return ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Ordered the Oysters Russian that had caviar. The caviar was bad. Ordered the artichoke dip and pretty sure it was made with Campbell's Cream if Chicken soup. Service was also horrible. Left after appetizers.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    10
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“One of our favorites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We go to the Speakeasy often. We like to eat at the Bar especially when a sports event is on. The service is excellent. Owner, Deb has a great wine cellar with many excellent wines. We went more frequently when we lived closer but still go as often as we can. The prices are reasonable and always cooked to order the chef Jan has had experience in many fine restaurants around Pittsburgh. Favorites: lamb chops, oysters done Cajun and Russian, lobster tails. Nice patio in season. Clambake at end of summer with tons of different wines included!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Poor quality for an overpriced meal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Don't delude yourself into thinking this is fine dining at its glorious best - or anywhere in the same zip code. For both food and ambiance, this place is about as overrated as the Titanic's unsinkability.

The positives: the "speakeasy" decor is pleasing and somehow comforting. It could probably use some better accent lighting to really develop the mood and highlight some of the wall art - but overall it's nice when you can see it in the ambient daylight.

Also, the window seats afford a nice vantage point over the Ohio River (woo...), except the trains going by below actually interfere with conversation (unless you enjoy talking over locomotives in a restaurant... LOL!). Thicker drywall and better windows would really improve the mood.

So, dinner started off with Oysters on the Half Shell ($8.95) - one of my favorite appetizers when it's done right. (Yes, raw oysters are delish!) Except, you know that taste that oysters have when they're just on the edge of turning? That was about half of them here. Obviously not fresh - something I expect unequivocally not just at a fancy place like this but ANY place that dares to offer raw oysters for consumption. For me this is a BIG NEGATIVE since it doesn't require any cooking - it speaks only to the quality of the kitchen!

Three of us ordered off the light fare (price fixe) menu ($16.95) while I ordered from the regular dinner choices.

The Haluska appetizer as part of the price fixe menu was tasty, but the portion size was barely enough to fill a petri dish.

One of us had the Frog - feedback was that it was decent. "Tastes like chicken," was the comment, just as expected...

Another had the Chicken Romano - feedback was that it nothing spectacular and lacked seasoning.

A third had the Pot Pie - same feedback as above. Biggest complaint was that the chicken pieces were chewy (overcooked) and the actual comment given to me was that, "Giant Eagle makes better pot pies."

As for me, I had their Alfredo ($16.95) - a dish simple enough. Unfortunately, the pasta had way, way, way too much cream, not enough cheese, and not enough flavor.

Sorry, some may feel this place is the fancy or sheik place to go for this area but when I think of Sewickley Speakeasy I hear that big "you-overpaid-horn" from Price is Right and Drew Carey telling me I can't have the new set of lawn furniture from Blammo. For the prices asked and the level of culinary prowess they try to portray, the experience just isn't worth the money.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not impressed!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

1st visit and last!! Food was terrible! When we complained that our steak was very undercooked the waitress does absolutely nothing about it!! Would have to flag her down just to get drink refills, and not because they were busy!! Non the less, she was not a pleasant person. 20% tip is also calculated in!! If not she would have received nothing.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle,Pa.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really good food served in rustic surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Food and service is very good. Nice variety on menu including "Lite Fare" 5 courses of smaller portions, all great entries.Lovely outdoor patio to enjoy in nicer weather.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sewickley Speakeasy also viewed

 
Sewickley, PA
 

Been to Sewickley Speakeasy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sewickley Speakeasy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.