We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids loved it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Great Wolf Lodge to your Saves list
Great Wolf Lodge
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Great Wolf Drive, Scotrun, PA 18355   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scotrun
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Kids loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My children loved this place. This was a great place to go a weekend during the winter. We went during February and the kids loved going ion the water riders while snow was on the ground outside. The park was cleaned the food good but nothing to rave about. We stayed in the Wolf Den and the kids enjoyed the decor. As a parent, I am glad my children enjoyed themselves but there is no reason to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    716
    347
    168
    119
See reviews for
1,317
14
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We have now gone to Great Wolf twice. (yes we're in the poor house but our son is happy) Seriously though for the price of the hotel stay and the quality of the rooms, it should be a bit cheaper. I do realize that this price includes park admission as well, though it still doesn't justify the cost. The electronics in room aren't updated. One small swivel television for a family suite isn't exactly adequate, it should be a larger more updated television.

The pizza meal is an okay value $23.99 for a pie, knots, salad and soda, however they should offer room delivery. As it is one of the only very few options for dinner that is affordable while staying the line is ridiculously LONG! A 45 minute wait for a pizza that isn't hand tossed and pre-frozen/cooked is not acceptable. This needs to be reevaluated and the buffet price is a bit much for what it is. Over $20 per person is ridiculous when it's really the only other option for an evening meal if you don't plan on leaving the hotel (with parking issues I don't recommend leaving--lol)

The Paw, Pup and Wolf Passes are fabulous and a great value though. It keeps the kids busy your entire stay with little additional out of pocket spending, other than food and the arcade if your little ones are into that sort of thing. Magi-quest seemed to be on the decline in our Summer trip compared to our Winter one, quiet a few of the game pieces weren't working, this hadn't happened on our first trip there, which was a large disappointment to my son b/c it was his 13th bday and he was so looking forward to finally completing everything he hadn't on our first adventure at Great Wolf.

The water park isn't for the super adventurous water park enthusiast though. It's a smaller scale park with fun rides that almost any little one can ride. I think there are maybe two slides that my 3 year old was unable to ride, if she had wanted to. For our family the water park is just fine as we aren't super thrill seekers by way of water parks. If you are you'll probably be disappointed in what Great Wolf has to offer by way of splash factor.

There is no shortage of alcohol though if that's your thing. We aren't drinkers, especially around our kids but watching the drunks can prove to be entertaining especially when they don't see their child standing next to them.

All in all it's a great family place. You can feel comfortable allowing your child to play the day away knowing they will go to bed exhausted and iPods and laptops won't be touched and television watching is nearly non-existent if they're anything like ours on the go go go. There are enough activities for those I'd say 13 and younger but any older and I think you'd be fighting to keep them entertained.

I also highly recommend getting the breakfast, it's fabulous and with the limited food options probably the best meal you will get all day everyday during your stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Lakes, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I expect to hate it but it really was a nice experience with the kids. service was better then I expected and they really seem set up for parents aswell as kids. room was great and service was very good. Well thought out and executed concept.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyckoff, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We checked into a wolf den room with my niece and her friend for a birthday weekend. It was disgusting and many broken items from a sink drain that doesn't close, an ac unit that is so loud sleep is not possible to a broken bed and blankets with holes the size of my fist. I though 'ok lets try the water park..after all it is about the kids... Another disappointment. My niece hurt her foot jumping in the pool and none of the zombie like life guards lifted a finger to assist us. Other kids had to help the limping girl over to where we were sitting. Everything around the resort is also either out of order or out of stock. No fruit deliveries.... Broken concession machines. In short, I wouldn't waste your money. The water park at our local beach community is better equipped and well run and doesn't cost us $400++ a night for run down accommodations and a lack of service and attention to detail that leaves me wondering how long this place will actually stay in business

Room Tip: Do not stay on second floor where restaurants are. The rooms and halls constantly smelled of bad foo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncasville, Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Another terrific trip to the Great Wolf Lodge. We spent 4 nights this time, which I worried would be too long for my 9 year old, but we could barely peel him away the last day. This time, we rented a standard family room with a fireplace. With 2 queen beds and a comfortable pull out couch, it was a great option. Last time, we stayed in one of the special kids' rooms, but the bunk beds weren't comfortable for my tall son. Just a hint, the poolside rooms are really pretty in the summer. With only one exception, the staff were extremely courteous and helpful, and the one exception wasn't even that bad (just glaring when compared to her more congenial colleagues). My favorite moment was when we rented one of the poolside cabananas on an especially gorgeous Saturday. When I got up to get a drink at the nearby bar, the waitress ran over to take my order, telling me, "your job is to relax, mine is to get you anything you need." NIRVANA :-) We never left the lodge. My husband greatly enjoyed the buffet, and my son devoured pizza whenever he could. In comparison to other waterpark resorts, we found the food to be very reasonably priced. Overall, we found the place to be clean, and the waterpark and pool lifeguards to be very vigilant. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend pool-side rooms, especially in the warmer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The lodge is really nice with fun things to do for small children. The water park is great for them to run around the whole day. They have fun family water rides that you can do together, but it gets boring for adults and older kids after a couple of rounds. The rooms are nice even if they have a slightly older feel, but beds were fine to sleep in and the fridge and microwave worked just fine. All in all its fun for a day or two, but wouldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Great Wolf Lodge is always great and never a disappointment. About to go for the 3rd time in a few days! Water park is a great place to visit. The activities are nearly endless. The breakfast buffet is just amazing. Be sure to get there early,or it will be very stuffed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Address: 1 Great Wolf Drive, Scotrun, PA 18355
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Scotrun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scotrun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 401
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Scotrun
Great Wolf Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Wolf Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.