We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another terrific vacation at Great Wolf Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Great Wolf Lodge to your Saves list
Great Wolf Lodge
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Great Wolf Drive, Scotrun, PA 18355   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scotrun
Uncasville, Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Another terrific vacation at Great Wolf Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Another terrific trip to the Great Wolf Lodge. We spent 4 nights this time, which I worried would be too long for my 9 year old, but we could barely peel him away the last day. This time, we rented a standard family room with a fireplace. With 2 queen beds and a comfortable pull out couch, it was a great option. Last time, we stayed in one of the special kids' rooms, but the bunk beds weren't comfortable for my tall son. Just a hint, the poolside rooms are really pretty in the summer. With only one exception, the staff were extremely courteous and helpful, and the one exception wasn't even that bad (just glaring when compared to her more congenial colleagues). My favorite moment was when we rented one of the poolside cabananas on an especially gorgeous Saturday. When I got up to get a drink at the nearby bar, the waitress ran over to take my order, telling me, "your job is to relax, mine is to get you anything you need." NIRVANA :-) We never left the lodge. My husband greatly enjoyed the buffet, and my son devoured pizza whenever he could. In comparison to other waterpark resorts, we found the food to be very reasonably priced. Overall, we found the place to be clean, and the waterpark and pool lifeguards to be very vigilant. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend pool-side rooms, especially in the warmer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    734
    366
    173
    126
See reviews for
1,368
14
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The lodge is really nice with fun things to do for small children. The water park is great for them to run around the whole day. They have fun family water rides that you can do together, but it gets boring for adults and older kids after a couple of rounds. The rooms are nice even if they have a slightly older feel, but beds were fine to sleep in and the fridge and microwave worked just fine. All in all its fun for a day or two, but wouldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Great Wolf Lodge is always great and never a disappointment. About to go for the 3rd time in a few days! Water park is a great place to visit. The activities are nearly endless. The breakfast buffet is just amazing. Be sure to get there early,or it will be very stuffed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We just came back from GWL and it was enjoyable. We spent 2 full days at the park and the kids did all the rides dozens of times. The room was ok a little old looking( time to upgrade). The earwigs were the biggest problem as this freaked out my wife. The beds were comfortable and fridge kept things cold.

We only ate at the GWL for lunch as the rest of the time we seeked out some local places.

One thing I would recommend to GWL is put some signs up going north on 611 as you are on top of the driveway before you know it without warning.

Would we go back? Of course....I just wish the pricing would be a tad lower.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Ewen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Visited Great Wolf for the second time. We love the family atmosphere, shows, waterpark and service at the lodge. Although it is extremely pricey, it is a safe place for kids to have fun and for parents to relax. We visited with a 13 year old girl, twelve year old girl and a 8 year old girl. They loved it, however we did not do all the "extras" such as the spa, and quest because it was way to expensive.

Room Tip: We had a standard room which was great and had just enough privacy for the kids to enjoy themselves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I've put off going to the "Wolf" thinking it was pricey, but a last minute decision for a Pocono overnight getaway changed my mind. Yes, the nightly rate is high, but when you take into consideration you get almost two full days of water park rides it was a better value than I realized. After check-out you can stay and use the waterpark as there's clean changing rooms available (and lockers to rent if needed). I just put the wet suits in a plastic sealed bag. My kids are older (11 & 15) and I worried there wouldn't be enough for them to do or the hotel was geared more for younger kids, but they had a blast. The water park was a hit with all of us (even grand mom enjoyed the lazy river) and we all enjoyed the hotel theme and watching kids do the wand quests. We stayed at the hotel and ate lunch at one of the restaurants even though I could have found less expensive restaurants down the road - the prices weren't that much higher; portion sizes were large enough that entrees could have been split and it was convenient. There's a microwave and mini frig in the rooms, so you can bring items to save even more. We'll definitely be back with a few friends and family members next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have heard of GWL from friends and family so many times, that we finally decided to visit for ourselves. Very pleasantly surprised by the infrastructure and facilities here. The indoor water park (and outdoor pool) is just great. Our boys couldn't get enough of it! Yes, it does get crowded and it is always recommended to grab a table/chairs early, but you can always find empty chairs by the wave pool.

The food is average, we had breakfast buffet and dinner buffet here - but one doesn't come here for the food. Tip for families - it's a good idea to pre-pay for breakfast when making your hotel reservation. We paid $130 total for 3 days (family of 4). Each breakfast buffet would have cost us $60 per day, so we ended up saving some money here. Of course, unless you want to make a breakfast run and grab something from outside (there's a Dunkin Donuts 5 miles out).

There is plenty to do for kids here. The Magic Quest was a fun activity when the kids weren't in the pool. We also did miniature golf and bowling. Didn't opt for their pre-paid Paw packages, and we figured we ended up saving money there as well. Most of the time is spent in the water park, so you're better off just paying for each activity that kids partake in.

Check-in lines can be long specially around 3pm or so. It's perhaps better to get in at say 1pm, check-in without lines, carry a bag with swimwear, and get into the waterpark while your room is prepared. The restrooms by the waterpark have changing rooms as well. Check-out is a breeze, they check you out automatically so no waiting in lines. Don't think about extending check-out time, this place seems to be pretty packed through the year, so they normally don't extend times for guests.

All in all, a little cheesy and a little crowded, but we had a great time with the activities here, and will definitely be coming back. Works out so much cheaper than flying anywhere!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Address: 1 Great Wolf Drive, Scotrun, PA 18355
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Scotrun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scotrun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 401
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Scotrun
Great Wolf Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Wolf Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.